[Solved] No network devices available
-
- Warlord
- Posts: 767
- Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
- Distribution: Porteus 5.0 x64 OpenBox
- Location: NZ
- Contact:
[Solved] No network devices available
On my new 2021 computer from Dell, Porteus 5.0rc2 x64 OpenBox ... the systray popup says "No network devices available" while Windows on the same machine works fine, the ethernet cable is plugged in and flickering. Could you please help me to trace down this issue, or maybe there is already an updated module for newer hardware?
Last edited by rych on 04 Jul 2021, 13:01, edited 3 times in total.
No network devices available
hi rych, su root lspci in terminal show us the hardware,we have to know the ethernet device first. try also ip link always in terminal,and if this command show something like eth0 or eth1.
- babam
- Warlord
- Posts: 528
- Joined: 16 Nov 2016, 10:30
- Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc3 Xfce K6.1.1
- Location: Rainy city
No network devices available
Try the latest kernel Porteus Kernel Builder (Post by Blaze #83010)
Last edited by babam on 03 Jul 2021, 12:55, edited 1 time in total.
Sorry, my English is bad.
- Ed_P
- Contributor
- Posts: 8908
- Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
- Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
- Location: Western NY, USA
No network devices available
My less new Dell uses Intel.
Code: Select all
guest@porteus:~$ su
Password:
root@porteus:/home/guest# lspci | grep Network
01:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Wireless 3165 (rev 79)
root@porteus:/home/guest#
-
- Warlord
- Posts: 767
- Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
- Distribution: Porteus 5.0 x64 OpenBox
- Location: NZ
- Contact:
No network devices available
beny,
So, Ethernet controller is there while eth0 is not? I'll now try to understand how to try the new "kernel"
Code: Select all
root@porteus:~# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Device 9b53 (rev 03)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Skylake PCIe Controller (x16) (rev 03)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Device 9bc8 (rev 03)
00:08.0 System peripheral: Intel Corporation Skylake Gaussian Mixture Model
00:12.0 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation Device 06f9
00:14.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation Device 06ed
00:14.2 RAM memory: Intel Corporation Device 06ef
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation Device 06e0
00:17.0 RAID bus controller: Intel Corporation Device 06d6
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Device 06bd (rev f0)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation Device 0687
00:1f.3 Audio device: Intel Corporation Device 06c8
00:1f.4 SMBus: Intel Corporation Device 06a3
00:1f.5 Serial bus controller [0c80]: Intel Corporation Device 06a4
00:1f.6 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation Device 0d4c
01:00.0 3D controller: NVIDIA Corporation Device 1c91 (rev a1)
02:00.0 Unassigned class [ff00]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTS525A PCI Express Card Reader (rev 01)
root@porteus:~# ip link
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
No network devices available
hi rych you have to download the new blaze kernel build and change the old one with the new,seem you have a new ethernet device and babam advice is right for,backup the files first. and if you have the porteus version 4.0 you can have issue with that changes,
-
- Warlord
- Posts: 767
- Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
- Distribution: Porteus 5.0 x64 OpenBox
- Location: NZ
- Contact:
No network devices available
beny, babam, Thanks: the new kernel solved it. Also reboots faster now. I guess that makes me a tester of the "kernel5.12.13". I didn't know where to put 64bit.config and whether I really need (what for?) the 06-crippled_sources module? Please tell me if you know, and I think this can be marked as Solved. Thanks everyone.
- ncmprhnsbl
- DEV Team
- Posts: 4253
- Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
- Distribution: v5.0-64bit
- Location: australia
- Contact:
No network devices available
64bit.config is just for reference, ie. what configs were used in the kernel compilation.
and 06-crippled_sources is for use when compiling kernel modules eg. for virtualbox or with nvidia propriety driver or some other driver.
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44