Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports
- Ed_P
- Contributor
- Posts: 8908
- Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
- Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
- Location: Western NY, USA
Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports
maia does gsettings work in freedesktop? Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports (Post by Ed_P #78542)
Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports
@fulalas
No, it doesn't change file permissions. It mounts filesytem as read-only.
For example, I create directory /dir1 as guest user, then run:
When it works, it will print:
When it doesn't work, it won't say it's mounting /dir1 and writing will succeed.
I tried also with 5.7.9 kernel but X fails so I couldn't test.
No, it doesn't change file permissions. It mounts filesytem as read-only.
For example, I create directory /dir1 as guest user, then run:
Code: Select all
firejail --noprofile --read-only=/dir1 --debug bash -c 'mkdir /dir1/dir2'
Code: Select all
Mounting read-only /dir1
107 39 0:18 /dir1 /dir1 ro,relatime - aufs aufs rw,...
...
mkdir: cannot create directory '/dir1/dir2': Read-only filesystem
I tried also with 5.7.9 kernel but X fails so I couldn't test.
- maia
- Samurai
- Posts: 123
- Joined: 08 Aug 2019, 16:56
- Distribution: Porteus-5 64b Openbox
- Location: Brasil
Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports
Hi Ed_P,
I do not use the CINNAMON version. Would this command work for the Openbox version?
What should the syntax be?
Sorry my english is really, g##gle-tr4nsl4t0r
- Ed_P
- Contributor
- Posts: 8908
- Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
- Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
- Location: Western NY, USA
Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports
I don't know if Openbox has the command but worth a try. Try something like this:
Code: Select all
echo "Before"
gsettings get org.freedesktop.UPower lid-close-ac-action
gsettings set org.freedesktop.UPower lid-close-ac-action suspend
echo "After"
gsettings get org.freedesktop.UPower lid-close-ac-action
- ncmprhnsbl
- DEV Team
- Posts: 4253
- Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
- Distribution: v5.0-64bit
- Location: australia
- Contact:
Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports
i've found another way: use consolekit manager:
Code: Select all
dbus-send --system --print-reply --dest=org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit /org/freedesktop/ConsoleKit/Manager org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit.Manager.Suspend boolean:true
Code: Select all
subprocess.run(['dbus-send', '--system', '--print-reply', '--dest=org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit', '/org/freedesktop/ConsoleKit/Manager', 'org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit.Manager.Suspend', 'boolean:true'])
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44
Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports
So I tried Porteus 5.0 Mate RC2, and these are the issues I came across.
1. Doesn't resume from suspend thus lacking substantial power saving features, could that have to do with copy to ram?
2. When I switched to the Arc-Blue-Dark GTK theme, the popup windows (via click) eventually became empty
3. Porteus Settings Centre, Main Menu doesn't work.
4. Wireless support isn't up to par, doesn't support latest...see tails...maybe has to do with the lack of linux firmware....but you have to think netbooks man, they MUST connect otherwise your distro gets the thumbs back
Still an excellent release, but at least 3 of the above are very important and why the release is still in RC.
The difference between extensive wireless support and not, is whether people use your distro or not. Make sure you support as much wireless as Tails including the Intel wireless firmware...
1. Doesn't resume from suspend thus lacking substantial power saving features, could that have to do with copy to ram?
2. When I switched to the Arc-Blue-Dark GTK theme, the popup windows (via click) eventually became empty
3. Porteus Settings Centre, Main Menu doesn't work.
4. Wireless support isn't up to par, doesn't support latest...see tails...maybe has to do with the lack of linux firmware....but you have to think netbooks man, they MUST connect otherwise your distro gets the thumbs back
Still an excellent release, but at least 3 of the above are very important and why the release is still in RC.
The difference between extensive wireless support and not, is whether people use your distro or not. Make sure you support as much wireless as Tails including the Intel wireless firmware...
- maia
- Samurai
- Posts: 123
- Joined: 08 Aug 2019, 16:56
- Distribution: Porteus-5 64b Openbox
- Location: Brasil
Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports
Thanks Ed_P
partially worked, when leaving suspend mode a black screen appears after
Thanks ncmprhnsbl, it worked like a charm

Sorry my english is really, g##gle-tr4nsl4t0r
- Ed_P
- Contributor
- Posts: 8908
- Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
- Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
- Location: Western NY, USA
Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports
The touchpad Disable while Typing option isn't working. The Mouse and Touchpad app needs to be fixed or this needs to be done: Re: Mouse pad option (Post by brokenman #13596) 

- evergreen
- Shogun
- Posts: 201
- Joined: 27 Mar 2016, 16:58
- Distribution: Porteus x86_64
- Location: Argentine, Patagonia
- Contact:
Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports
It's is my very first time I can Suspend my laptop with Openbox. Thank you @ncmprhnsbl
I would like to report bugs but always I am modifying and making it fit to me so often I did everything work fine to me. There is something with the Power button if it's pressed my computer shutdown.. it can be fixed in acpi_handler.sh living empty
and then config the power button shortcut to execute gtk-logout.py.
I would like to report bugs but always I am modifying and making it fit to me so often I did everything work fine to me. There is something with the Power button if it's pressed my computer shutdown.. it can be fixed in acpi_handler.sh living empty
Code: Select all
case
power)
ncmprhnsbl wrote: ↑05 Sep 2020, 06:58which, for /opt/porteus-scripts/extra/gtk-logout.py line 47 translates as:which fixes the suspend option in the logout menu..Code: Select all
subprocess.run(['dbus-send', '--system', '--print-reply', '--dest=org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit', '/org/freedesktop/ConsoleKit/Manager', 'org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit.Manager.Suspend', 'boolean:true'])
AMD A8-7410, APU AMD Radeon R5 Graphics M330
-
- Shogun
- Posts: 434
- Joined: 02 May 2017, 09:51
- Distribution: v3.2.2-32 and Porteus-Artix-64
- Location: Chennai,India
Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports
In XFCE, lots of error information from memory is dumped on to the screen before shut down.
I think, this was overcome in Sam's Porteus offering. Neko's overlay-xfce too suffer from this.
Please have a look.
On choosing Network SSID, cursor is not active in the password window.
Both are not really bugs. Still, team can eliminate them.
I think, this was overcome in Sam's Porteus offering. Neko's overlay-xfce too suffer from this.
Please have a look.
On choosing Network SSID, cursor is not active in the password window.
Both are not really bugs. Still, team can eliminate them.
Linux Kernel-4.4.272 -32 bit; Linux Kernel-5.4.185 - 64 bit
Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports
Many, Many, MANY thanks for all the work with Porteus.
I am having troubles building the Virtual Box Guest Additions.
I only tried the XFCE version of Porteus.
Downloaded the Guest Additions iso and apparently the xzm module is ok, but is not activated at boot time. Also activating manually after boot, mounts the xzm file, but does not places the files available for execution.
Yes, I have downloaded the additional kernel recommended files.
As a sanity check, I made another xzm module, compiled from source and works ok.
The (bad) module is at: http://keeh.net/porteus64/020-vbox-gues ... 4-1prt.xzm
What tools do I have to further diagnose this?
I am having troubles building the Virtual Box Guest Additions.
I only tried the XFCE version of Porteus.
Downloaded the Guest Additions iso and apparently the xzm module is ok, but is not activated at boot time. Also activating manually after boot, mounts the xzm file, but does not places the files available for execution.
Yes, I have downloaded the additional kernel recommended files.
As a sanity check, I made another xzm module, compiled from source and works ok.
The (bad) module is at: http://keeh.net/porteus64/020-vbox-gues ... 4-1prt.xzm
What tools do I have to further diagnose this?
- amplatfus
- Samurai
- Posts: 153
- Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 14:55
- Distribution: MATE Porteus-v5.0rc1
- Location: Romania
Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports
Dear Porteus Dev Team,
Thank you again, this time for Porteus 5.0 RC2 update. I can say that in my case, after boot, with copy2ram requires with 40-50 mb less. Thank you so much fo make this possible.
Only one thing I have: I cannot add the Bluetooth icon to my tray in bar, near to clock. And I cannot start it.
In RC1, same 5.0, it was there. I am using same laptop and same changes read only folder.
I am talking about Mate varsion.
In RC1 I had this in rc.local:
In RC1 I can see the icon and also I am able to connect to bluetooth devices.
In RC2, ater doing rc.local commands I can see the Bluetooth Adapter and the Bluetooth Manager in the start-up menu, but I cannot start it and no icon in trey i added.
In dmesg log I can find this:
Could you please help to to find the fix? What chances do I have to make it work and add the icon in the tray?
Edit: In the meantime I did some research. I discovered this thread: [SOLVED] Problem bluetooth
I tried, below and it seems the Bluetooth is somehow there:
If you can see the root cause, please reply.
Thank you very much as always,
amplatfus
Thank you again, this time for Porteus 5.0 RC2 update. I can say that in my case, after boot, with copy2ram requires with 40-50 mb less. Thank you so much fo make this possible.
Only one thing I have: I cannot add the Bluetooth icon to my tray in bar, near to clock. And I cannot start it.
In RC1, same 5.0, it was there. I am using same laptop and same changes read only folder.
I am talking about Mate varsion.
In RC1 I had this in rc.local:
Code: Select all
chmod +x /etc/rc.d/rc.bluetooth
sleep 1
/etc/rc.d/rc.bluetooth start
In RC2, ater doing rc.local commands I can see the Bluetooth Adapter and the Bluetooth Manager in the start-up menu, but I cannot start it and no icon in trey i added.
In dmesg log I can find this:
Code: Select all
[ 38.529911] thinkpad_acpi: ThinkPad ACPI Extras v0.26
[ 38.529911] thinkpad_acpi: http://ibm-acpi.sf.net/
[ 38.529912] thinkpad_acpi: ThinkPad BIOS R06ET62W (1.36 ), EC R06HT31W
[ 38.529912] thinkpad_acpi: Lenovo ThinkPad T460, model 20FMS27L05
[ 38.530924] thinkpad_acpi: radio switch found; radios are enabled
[ 38.531003] thinkpad_acpi: This ThinkPad has standard ACPI backlight brightness control, supported by the ACPI video driver
[ 38.531026] thinkpad_acpi: Disabling thinkpad-acpi brightness events by default...
[ 38.532769] thinkpad_acpi: rfkill switch tpacpi_bluetooth_sw: radio is unblocked
[ 38.533896] acpi PNP0C14:01: duplicate WMI GUID 05901221-D566-11D1-B2F0-00A0C9062910 (first instance was on PNP0C14:00)
[ 38.533990] acpi PNP0C14:02: duplicate WMI GUID 05901221-D566-11D1-B2F0-00A0C9062910 (first instance was on PNP0C14:00)
Edit: In the meantime I did some research. I discovered this thread: [SOLVED] Problem bluetooth
I tried, below and it seems the Bluetooth is somehow there:
Code: Select all
root@porteus:~# rfkill list
0: tpacpi_bluetooth_sw: Bluetooth
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: no
1: tpacpi_wwan_sw: Wireless WAN
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: no
2: phy0: Wireless LAN
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: no
3: hci0: Bluetooth
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: no
root@porteus:~# hcitool dev
Devices:
hci0 14:AB:xx:C1:10:xx
Thank you very much as always,
amplatfus
Porteus-v5.0. rc1 MATE. Thank you all dev team and @Blaze for helping to configure it, thanks to entire Porteus community members for great topics.
Kernel: 000-kernel-5.4.8,xzm
Kernel: 000-kernel-5.4.8,xzm
- ncmprhnsbl
- DEV Team
- Posts: 4253
- Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
- Distribution: v5.0-64bit
- Location: australia
- Contact:
Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports
can you try to start blueman-manager(i think that's the right one) from a terminal and see what messages result?
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44
- amplatfus
- Samurai
- Posts: 153
- Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 14:55
- Distribution: MATE Porteus-v5.0rc1
- Location: Romania
Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports
Hi
Thank you for reply. Very good idear. It seems that we are getting close:
I discovered that pythoin3.7 files are in 001-core.xzm so I copied tsome files froms RC1 to current session. I chmod +x and run it:
Could you please advices what we should try next? From where should I obtain those files for RC2?
Thank you very much,
amplatfus
Thank you for reply. Very good idear. It seems that we are getting close:
Code: Select all
root@porteus:~# /etc/rc.d/rc.bluetooth start
Starting Bluetooth services: bluetoothd hciconfig sdptool hciattach
D-Bus setup failed: Name already in use
root@porteus:~# /etc/rc.d/rc.bluetooth stop
root@porteus:~# /etc/rc.d/rc.bluetooth start
Starting Bluetooth services: bluetoothd hciconfig sdptool hciattach
root@porteus:~# blueman-manager
bash: /usr/bin/blueman-manager: /usr/bin/python3.7: bad interpreter: No such file or directory
Code: Select all
root@porteus:~# blueman-manager
bash: /usr/bin/blueman-manager: /usr/bin/python3.7: bad interpreter: Permission denied
Thank you very much,
amplatfus
Porteus-v5.0. rc1 MATE. Thank you all dev team and @Blaze for helping to configure it, thanks to entire Porteus community members for great topics.
Kernel: 000-kernel-5.4.8,xzm
Kernel: 000-kernel-5.4.8,xzm
Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports
@paf, thanks for the feedback. 
I can confirm the issue that you reported. We're still investigating it, but in the meantime try this guest module and let us know if it works for you:
http://www.mediafire.com/file/e97g9pilp ... 4-1prt.xzm
(3.55 MB)

I can confirm the issue that you reported. We're still investigating it, but in the meantime try this guest module and let us know if it works for you:
http://www.mediafire.com/file/e97g9pilp ... 4-1prt.xzm
(3.55 MB)