Hello,
I have been trying to have all the user data removed from the Browser (Firefox) when closing it without success.
eg. when logged into Gmail and then closing and re-opening the Browser the user is still logged in.
I have removed the "persistence" and the "Disable private mode" functions.
Is there something else that I could use?
Many Thanks
Lord Bless
Colin
Remove Browser Cache on closing [Solved]
Forum rules
Porteus Kiosk section of the forum is unmaintained now. Its kept in a 'read only' mode for archival purposes.
Please use the kiosk contact page for directing your queries: https://porteus-kiosk.org/contact.html
Porteus Kiosk section of the forum is unmaintained now. Its kept in a 'read only' mode for archival purposes.
Please use the kiosk contact page for directing your queries: https://porteus-kiosk.org/contact.html
-
- White ninja
- Posts: 10
- Joined: 20 Apr 2017, 16:35
- Distribution: Kiosk Thin Client
- Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Remove Browser Cache on closing [Solved]
Last edited by colingchong on 26 May 2017, 07:02, edited 1 time in total.
- fanthom
- Moderator Team
- Posts: 5667
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
- Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
- Location: Poland
- Contact:
Re: Remove Browser Cache on closing
Private mode is disabled for Cloud/ThinClient variants by default. User must logout o clear the session.
I guess your goal is to have standard kiosk but with a bottom panel?
In order to enable private mode you can use following parameter:
Thanks
I guess your goal is to have standard kiosk but with a bottom panel?
In order to enable private mode you can use following parameter:
Code: Select all
run_command=pmodec=`cat $profile/prefs.js`; echo "$pmodec" | egrep -v 'browser.cache.disk|browser.privatebrowsing' > $profile/prefs.js
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.
-
- White ninja
- Posts: 10
- Joined: 20 Apr 2017, 16:35
- Distribution: Kiosk Thin Client
- Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Re: Remove Browser Cache on closing
Thanks, I will test later today
Yes I am building a Thin Client solution for a "Homeless Hotel" many of the clients are from the streets and are not very computer savvy.
The Porteus Thin Client is a good fit for them and I am try to make their online experiences easy and safe.
Lord Bless
Colin
Yes I am building a Thin Client solution for a "Homeless Hotel" many of the clients are from the streets and are not very computer savvy.
The Porteus Thin Client is a good fit for them and I am try to make their online experiences easy and safe.
Lord Bless
Colin
-
- White ninja
- Posts: 10
- Joined: 20 Apr 2017, 16:35
- Distribution: Kiosk Thin Client
- Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Re: Remove Browser Cache on closing
I added this command to my others and it did not change anything, I am still logged into gmail after closing and reopening Firefox.
This is the Run Commands I am using. Is there a problem with my syntax?
run_command=sed -i '/remmina.desktop/d' /etc/xdg/tint2/tint2rc && sed -i 's/#su - guest/su - guest/' $scripts/gui-app && rm /etc/xdg/tint2/tint2rc-exit && pmodec=`cat $profile/prefs.js`; echo "$pmodec" | egrep -v 'browser.cache.disk|browser.privatebrowsing' > $profile/prefs.js
Thanks
Lord Bless
Colin
This is the Run Commands I am using. Is there a problem with my syntax?
run_command=sed -i '/remmina.desktop/d' /etc/xdg/tint2/tint2rc && sed -i 's/#su - guest/su - guest/' $scripts/gui-app && rm /etc/xdg/tint2/tint2rc-exit && pmodec=`cat $profile/prefs.js`; echo "$pmodec" | egrep -v 'browser.cache.disk|browser.privatebrowsing' > $profile/prefs.js
Thanks
Lord Bless
Colin
- fanthom
- Moderator Team
- Posts: 5667
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
- Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
- Location: Poland
- Contact:
Re: Remove Browser Cache on closing
This one works for me:
Thanks
Code: Select all
run_command=sed -i '/remmina.desktop/d' /etc/xdg/tint2/tint2rc; rm /etc/xdg/tint2/tint2rc-exit; sed -i 's/#su - guest/su - guest/' $scripts/gui-app; echo 'user_pref("browser.privatebrowsing.autostart", true);' >> $profile/prefs.js
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.
-
- White ninja
- Posts: 10
- Joined: 20 Apr 2017, 16:35
- Distribution: Kiosk Thin Client
- Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Re: Remove Browser Cache on closing [Solved]
Works for me to
Many Thanks
Lord Bless
Colin

Many Thanks
Lord Bless
Colin