[How to] manually upgrade 3.5 base modules

Nemesis related tutorials and docs
Forum rules
Please only post tutorials and HOWTOs in here. It should not be a discussion area.
Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1455
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 4.0rc4 My Mate 64 bit
Location: USA

[How to] manually upgrade 3.5 base modules

Post#31 by Jack » 30 Nov 2017, 02:18

The files I have so far is these.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~/Downloads/nemesis_build_2017-11-30$ ls -l
total 543920
-rw-r--r-- 1 guest users  53641216 Nov 29 21:06 000-kernel-4.13.3.xzm
-rw-r--r-- 1 guest users 158277632 Nov 29 19:44 001-core-20.xzm
-rw-r--r-- 1 guest users  48140288 Nov 29 19:46 002-gui-14.xzm
-rw-r--r-- 1 guest users  32505856 Nov 29 19:47 002-xtra-15.xzm
-rw-r--r-- 1 guest users 260876288 Nov 29 19:52 porteus-nemesis-v3.5-lxde-x86_64.iso
-rw-r--r-- 1 guest users   3515152 Nov 29 21:06 vmlinuz
guest@porteus:~/Downloads/nemesis_build_2017-11-30$
I'm using a 16gb thumb drive with a 33mb FAT32 boot, 5gb porteus system and 10gb for downloads and dose anything need changed with that? And I have nemesis 3.5 bootable just need to upgrade it with the files I just downloaded.

What Desktop are you using? I might need help setting one up. One thing what is the 20, 14 and 15 mean in your files?

I just need something to do.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1180
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

[How to] manually upgrade 3.5 base modules

Post#32 by ncmprhnsbl » 30 Nov 2017, 02:55

Jack wrote:
30 Nov 2017, 02:18
I'm using a 16gb thumb drive with a 33mb FAT32 boot, 5gb porteus system and 10gb for downloads and dose anything need changed with that?
i presume you´re using EFI? i have no experience with that, but what you have looks about right..
Jack wrote:
30 Nov 2017, 02:18
What Desktop are you using? I might need help setting one up.
i´m using openbox with a few additions(spacefm, conky etc)
if you boot up with the 3 base modules(and maybe startx?) you will have openbox with an xterm(black screen with xterm in the middle) rightclick on the black for a basic menu.. use nmtui if you need wifi connection
then try pman -S mate (or something else) and see what happens(no guarantees)
Jack wrote:
30 Nov 2017, 02:18
One thing what is the 20, 14 and 15 mean in your files?
that´s the number of times they´ve been updated. reference for me, mainly..
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1455
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 4.0rc4 My Mate 64 bit
Location: USA

[How to] manually upgrade 3.5 base modules

Post#33 by Jack » 30 Nov 2017, 03:12

Why I did what I did with the 16gb thumb drive is, so I could boot my Dell and use the EFI for my Acer for both Laptop's. It been over or about 2 year since I use nemesis.

Do I need to right down anything to use nmtui? I hope it easy to setup. When I get up I will try pman -S mate (or something else) if I can do it.

When I boot up should it be Text mode or Graphics mode when I run nmtui and pman? I did xzm2dir on 003-*.xzm and took out the package list out of all 3 of the 003-*.xzm and I am going to try and upgrade them or downloand them.

Well I have updated 001-core, 002-gui, 002-xtra and kernel and everything boot's up just find.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1180
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

[How to] manually upgrade 3.5 base modules

Post#34 by ncmprhnsbl » 30 Nov 2017, 04:38

Jack wrote:
30 Nov 2017, 03:12
Do I need to right down anything to use nmtui?
it´s pretty straightfoward (ncurses interface) navigate with arrow keys..
Jack wrote:
30 Nov 2017, 03:12
When I boot up should it be Text mode or Graphics mode when I run nmtui and pman?
doesn´t matter, either way
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1455
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 4.0rc4 My Mate 64 bit
Location: USA

[How to] manually upgrade 3.5 base modules

Post#35 by Jack » 30 Nov 2017, 05:49

Do you have WiFi setup? If so what files do I need to set it up? Do you have a list of the files I might need?
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1180
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

[How to] manually upgrade 3.5 base modules

Post#36 by ncmprhnsbl » 30 Nov 2017, 06:10

yes, i use wifi, no special files needed ..
just nmtui > activate a connection> choose a network > enter >password>enter> then back > quit
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5291
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Y fait frette et on gèle

[How to] manually upgrade 3.5 base modules

Post#37 by francois » 15 Dec 2017, 22:23

@nm...:
Is it possible to include mlocate xorg-xkill in base modues?

Shouldn't guest be in the sudoers?
/etc/sudoers

Code: Select all

## User privilege specification
##
root ALL=(ALL) ALL
guest ALL=(ALL) ALL   #added by fl
Thanks.
Carpe diem.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1180
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

[How to] manually upgrade 3.5 base modules

Post#38 by ncmprhnsbl » 16 Dec 2017, 23:03

francois wrote:
15 Dec 2017, 22:23
Is it possible to include mlocate xorg-xkill in base modues?
probably.. i'll look in to it, next update..
francois wrote:
15 Dec 2017, 22:23
Shouldn't guest be in the sudoers?
not necessary, because guest is in the 'wheel' group and these lines cover that:

Code: Select all

%wheel ALL=(ALL) ALL
%wheel ALL=(ALL) NOPASSWD: /usr/bin/poweroff,/usr/bin/halt,/usr/bin/reboot,/usr/bin/shutdown
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1455
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 4.0rc4 My Mate 64 bit
Location: USA

[How to] manually upgrade 3.5 base modules

Post#39 by Jack » 17 Dec 2017, 07:34

@ncmprhnsbl,

I did a dumb thing I delete or I can't fine my USB with Nemesis on it. I found your files and I have porteus-nemesis-v3.5-lxde-x86_64.iso but what I need to do upgrade the kernel. I have look and search but I can't find it. Can you help me?

Jack
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1180
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

[How to] manually upgrade 3.5 base modules

Post#40 by ncmprhnsbl » 17 Dec 2017, 13:17

Jack wrote:
17 Dec 2017, 07:34
I need to do upgrade the kernel.
[How to] upgrade 3.5 nemesis 000-kernel.xzm with porteus 3.2 kernel and vmlinuz links are there
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1455
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 4.0rc4 My Mate 64 bit
Location: USA

[How to] manually upgrade 3.5 base modules

Post#41 by Jack » 17 Dec 2017, 14:32

Thanks, Next year I will have something to do with Nemesis.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1455
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 4.0rc4 My Mate 64 bit
Location: USA

[How to] manually upgrade 3.5 base modules

Post#42 by Jack » 18 Dec 2017, 04:38

I installed Nemesis 3.5, your files and upgraded the kernel on a 4gb USB today. First is the 4gb USB a good starter to learn? If I seem to know what I am doing I move to a 16gb USB or maybe larger USB.

How soon will you upgrade your files? And will the kernel get upgraded again soon?

What I need to do next to get started?
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1180
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

[How to] manually upgrade 3.5 base modules

Post#43 by ncmprhnsbl » 18 Dec 2017, 06:05

Jack wrote:
18 Dec 2017, 04:38
First is the 4gb USB a good starter to learn?
i don't see why not
Jack wrote:
18 Dec 2017, 04:38
How soon will you upgrade your files?
i've been doing it once a month, so probably around the end of this month.
Jack wrote:
18 Dec 2017, 04:38
And will the kernel get upgraded again soon?
maybe
Jack wrote:
18 Dec 2017, 04:38
What I need to do next to get started?
some of this is still relevent How to get it. [README FIRST] and discussion
see ### I've booted so now what?
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5291
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Y fait frette et on gèle

[How to] manually upgrade 3.5 base modules

Post#44 by francois » 18 Dec 2017, 11:47

Hello jack. You can work with ncmprhnsbl's base module from now on. Changing the base module once you are installed is a possibility and will not break your system, usually will just more make it more performant. Same thing for changing for a new kernel. In any cases, it is very easy to revert to older kernel or base modules from a regular porteus installation. Are you working from a linux file system?
Carpe diem.

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1455
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 4.0rc4 My Mate 64 bit
Location: USA

[How to] manually upgrade 3.5 base modules

Post#45 by Jack » 18 Dec 2017, 13:17

francois wrote:
18 Dec 2017, 11:47
Are you working from a linux file system?
Yes, I am using ext4.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

Post Reply