Technical issues/questions of an intermediate or advanced nature.
-
Bogomips
- Full of knowledge

- Posts: 2564
- Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
- Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
- Location: London
Post#1
by Bogomips » 13 Oct 2016, 11:59
Getting Subshell Status reflected in Terminal Prompt.
At the moment the only way of telling this is thru Process Id of Current Shell:
Code: Select all
guest@porteus:~$ echo PID of Shell: $$
PID of Shell: 2484
guest@porteus:~$ sh
guest@porteus:~$ echo PID of Shell: $$
PID of Shell: 2506
guest@porteus:~$ bash
guest@porteus:~$ echo PID of Shell: $$
PID of Shell: 2516
guest@porteus:~$ exit
guest@porteus:~$ echo PID of Shell: $$
PID of Shell: 2506
guest@porteus:~$ exit
guest@porteus:~$ echo PID of Shell: $$
PID of Shell: 2484
While back in 3.1
Code: Select all
guest@porteus:~/pk01$ sh
sh-4.2$ . ../p10/Por/Komodo/funcs.sh
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB
Bogomips
-
port
- Samurai

- Posts: 137
- Joined: 18 Feb 2016, 09:25
- Distribution: Linux porteus 3.2.2 KDE
- Location: Spain
Post#2
by port » 18 Oct 2016, 00:07
sorry but what's the purpose your are pursuing?
port