How to get the application launcher to "see" a package?

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 29 Oct 2015, 02:49
Distribution: 3.17.4
Location: USA

How to get the application launcher to "see" a package?

Post#1 by miner_tom » 29 Oct 2015, 03:03

I know that this question sounds awfully basic but I have used other download managers than USM with different results. On Porteus I downloaded a firefox package and then I uncompressed it. In a terminal, If I go down into the directory structure where the package was loaded and find the executable, I can then run it by typing ./firefox. Now, I would like to find an icon that I can click on that would accomplish the same thing in KDE. The application launcher does not see anything related to firefox. I am thinking along the lines of having to modify the PATH variable but that does not explain how to update the application launcher.

Thank You

User avatar
Posts: 3690
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: How to get the application launcher to "see" a package?

Post#2 by Ed_P » 29 Oct 2015, 03:46

You're working this too hard.

Use USM to download the "package", as a module, an .xzm file, copy it to your /porteus/modules/ folder, dbl click on it and Activate it. Wait couple of seconds and it should be in the Internet menu.

No unpacking needed.


Re: How to get the application launcher to "see" a package?

Post#3 by aus9 » 29 Oct 2015, 05:06


Its possible OP means a download of a more recent firefox outside the USM package system?

if so, I use such a method, it breaks the modular design of Porteus so be aware I am naughty. :oops:

however your icon entry would be if firefox is unpacked at /home/guest (AND) the excutable pathway
Exec=/home/guest/firefox/firefox %u

Posts: 583
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland

Re: How to get the application launcher to "see" a package?

Post#4 by tome » 29 Oct 2015, 16:26

Create new "my-firefox-launcher.desktop" file. Open it with text editor and paste:

Code: Select all

[Desktop Entry]
Name=My Firefox
GenericName=Web Browser
and edit Exec= and Icon= lines.

User avatar
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5773
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil

Re: How to get the application launcher to "see" a package?

Post#5 by brokenman » 29 Oct 2015, 23:29

If you want it to appear in your 'menu' then put tome's file in /usr/share/applciations
If you want it to appear on the toolbar then name it browser.desktop and place it in /usr/share/applications
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Post Reply