How to get it. [README FIRST] and discussion
Moderator: M. Eerie
- francois
- Contributor
- Posts: 6499
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
- Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
- Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.
Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]
Whether in always fresh or changes= mode I get:
echo $BOOTDEV:
/mnt/sda1
ls /etc/systemd/system/multi-user.target.wants
ls: cannot access ... : No such file or directory
ls /mnt/sda1/64bit_v31_nemesis
boot changes porteus
echo $BOOTDEV:
/mnt/sda1
ls /etc/systemd/system/multi-user.target.wants
ls: cannot access ... : No such file or directory
ls /mnt/sda1/64bit_v31_nemesis
boot changes porteus
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.
- brokenman
- Site Admin
- Posts: 6105
- Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
- Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
- Location: Brazil
Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]
Something wrong.
ls /mnt/sda1/64bit_v31_nemesis should show:
boot config EFI porteus USB_INSTALLATION.txt
Also /etc/systemd/system/multi-user.target.wants should contain some links such as: systemd-networkd.service and machines.target
Did you use the build script and then generate an ISO?
EDIT:
I will need to make a change to have some scripts working from a subfolder. Thanks for catching that early.
Francois I've updated the scripts for installation to a subfolder. I will write a quick howto for git now.
ls /mnt/sda1/64bit_v31_nemesis should show:
boot config EFI porteus USB_INSTALLATION.txt
Also /etc/systemd/system/multi-user.target.wants should contain some links such as: systemd-networkd.service and machines.target
Did you use the build script and then generate an ISO?
EDIT:
I will need to make a change to have some scripts working from a subfolder. Thanks for catching that early.
Francois I've updated the scripts for installation to a subfolder. I will write a quick howto for git now.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
- ncmprhnsbl
- DEV Team
- Posts: 4253
- Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
- Distribution: v5.0-64bit
- Location: australia
- Contact:
Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]
yaourt is one way and stifiling has makexzm that does this...brokenman wrote: I will probably have to write a wrapper for yaourt to do the same.
these wrappers main function is to search AUR,download snapshot and makepkg does the rest:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ar ... he_package
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44
- Blaze
- DEV Team
- Posts: 3994
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
- Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
- Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
- Contact:
Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]
and find your iso file here /tmp/nemesis-v3.1-x86_64.isobrokenman wrote:Follow the prompts and create the ISO at the end or via the script in git/x86_64/iso/porteus/make_iso.sh
Guys i run Nemesis in text mode

but how to test it?
Linux 6.6.11-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT_DYNAMIC Sun Jan 14 12:07:37 MSK 2024 x86_64 Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1270 v6 @ 3.80GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16
- francois
- Contributor
- Posts: 6499
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
- Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
- Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.
Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]
Hello blaze:
Now use pman:
Then install xorg with pman:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xorg
Then install xfce4 and xfce4 goodies:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xfce
To start xfce4:
Install other packages thru pman or pacman, if you want them module converted or not. Install webbrower and see if video and sounds works fine.
pman stores modules of packages into /tmp. Move these modules into the /porteus/modules (nemesis instead of porteus) folder to have them at next reboot. The poweroff.
Brokenman:
viewtopic.php?f=137&t=5066
I am interested in 001-core.xzm right now. Any improvements or additions that you think would be good. I plan on implementing a firstrun wizard where users can choose keyboard layout, locales etc.
The current scripts are in /usr/local
Brokenman will come with specific requests. But he will need some translators for the different languages.
Now use pman:
Code: Select all
setup-pman
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xorg
Then install xfce4 and xfce4 goodies:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xfce
To start xfce4:
Code: Select all
startxfc34
pman stores modules of packages into /tmp. Move these modules into the /porteus/modules (nemesis instead of porteus) folder to have them at next reboot. The poweroff.
Brokenman:
viewtopic.php?f=137&t=5066
I am interested in 001-core.xzm right now. Any improvements or additions that you think would be good. I plan on implementing a firstrun wizard where users can choose keyboard layout, locales etc.
The current scripts are in /usr/local
Brokenman will come with specific requests. But he will need some translators for the different languages.
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.
- brokenman
- Site Admin
- Posts: 6105
- Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
- Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
- Location: Brazil
Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]
That should be: setup-pman
From there you can use:
pman -Si packagename (gets info on packagename)
pman -S packagename (installs packagename)
From there you can use:
pman -Si packagename (gets info on packagename)
pman -S packagename (installs packagename)
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
- francois
- Contributor
- Posts: 6499
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
- Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
- Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.
Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]
Corrected.
Good news:
Nemesis iso works under msi 340x:
Good news:
Nemesis iso works under msi 340x:
Code: Select all
[fl@msi-x340 ~]$ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Memory Controller Hub (rev 07)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 07)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 07)
00:1a.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 03)
00:1a.1 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 03)
00:1a.7 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 4 (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev 93)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation ICH9M-E LPC Interface Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 82801IBM/IEM (ICH9M/ICH9M-E) 4 port SATA Controller [AHCI mode] (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 02)
03:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation WiFi Link 5100
[fl@msi-x340 ~]$
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.
- Blaze
- DEV Team
- Posts: 3994
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
- Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
- Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
- Contact:
Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]
Hi francois.
Thanks for info, but i can't run internet
My router is uses DHCP connection
Thanks for info, but i can't run internet

Code: Select all
root@porteus:~# cat /root/nemesis/git/x86_64/iso/config/network
### Network config file.
### Options listed here will be parsed at boot.
### Options must be listed one per line without space before them.
### This option means the file will be ignored at boot.
#Ignore=yes
### This option sets a wired or wireless network card. It is used to
### name the network profile when using static details.
#Device=wired
### This option is the name of your network device. Please boot into
### the command line and issue: ip link
### This will show you the name of your network card. The wires card
### most probably starts with an 'e'. The wireless card probably starts
### with a 'w'.
#DeviceName=enp0s3
### Choose if you want DHCP to automatically receive an ip address
### from a DHCP server on the network. Home routers usually supply this.
### If this option is chosen then all following options will be ignored.
### This option allows: yes,no,ipv4,ipv6
Dhcp=yes
### Set a custom ip address. This option requires a gateway option to be
### supplied. DHCP above must be commented out or it will overwrite.
#IpAddress=10.0.2.16/24
### Set the gateway for the network. Usually it will be the router
### address on a home network.
#Gateway=10.0.2.2
### Set you DNS servers. You can set multiple servers by putting one
### on each line.
#Dns=8.8.4.4
#Dns=8.8.8.8
root@porteus:~#
Linux 6.6.11-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT_DYNAMIC Sun Jan 14 12:07:37 MSK 2024 x86_64 Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1270 v6 @ 3.80GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16
- francois
- Contributor
- Posts: 6499
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
- Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
- Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.
Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]
CONNECTING TO THE INTERNET:
1.0
OR
2.0 If it does not work use dhcpcd <link> :
The case of a wired connection: on my computer.
root@nemesis:/mnt/sda5/34bit_v31/porteus# ip link
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT
link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
2: epn3s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UP mode DEFAULT qlen 1000
link/ether e8:e0:b7:39:9d:62 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
root@nemesis:/mnt/sda5/34bit_v31/porteus#
root@nemesis:~# dhcpcd epn3s0
AND
3.0 and to have dhcpcd enp3s0 at bootup automatically, using systemd to have the connection at bootup automatically (given that you are in persistence mode, i.e. changes= ):
From the above example:
root@nemesis:~# systemctl start dhcpcd@epn3s0.service
or edit the file in iso/config/network and add your network preferences.
SYNCHRONIZING THE ARCH LINUX DATABASE:
PMAN (pman or pacman module wrapper):
1.0
Code: Select all
systemctl start dhcpcd
2.0 If it does not work use dhcpcd <link> :
The case of a wired connection: on my computer.
root@nemesis:/mnt/sda5/34bit_v31/porteus# ip link
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT
link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
2: epn3s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UP mode DEFAULT qlen 1000
link/ether e8:e0:b7:39:9d:62 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
root@nemesis:/mnt/sda5/34bit_v31/porteus#
root@nemesis:~# dhcpcd epn3s0
AND
3.0 and to have dhcpcd enp3s0 at bootup automatically, using systemd to have the connection at bootup automatically (given that you are in persistence mode, i.e. changes= ):
From the above example:
root@nemesis:~# systemctl start dhcpcd@epn3s0.service
or edit the file in iso/config/network and add your network preferences.
SYNCHRONIZING THE ARCH LINUX DATABASE:
PMAN (pman or pacman module wrapper):
Code: Select all
setup-pman
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.
- brokenman
- Site Admin
- Posts: 6105
- Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
- Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
- Location: Brazil
Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]
Also looks like an older version by the console output (archilles). Update from latest git. Also uncomment Device=wired
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
- Blaze
- DEV Team
- Posts: 3994
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
- Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
- Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
- Contact:
Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]
Donebrokenman wrote:Also looks like an older version by the console output (archilles). Update from latest git. Also uncomment Device=wired
francois, thanks.
Now i have trouble with Xorg

Linux 6.6.11-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT_DYNAMIC Sun Jan 14 12:07:37 MSK 2024 x86_64 Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1270 v6 @ 3.80GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16
- francois
- Contributor
- Posts: 6499
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
- Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
- Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.
Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]
@blaze:
For one reason or another if you use pman to build the modules for xorg, it will not work properly at reboot. Brokenman is not there yet.
I will start a thread to install xorg and xfce. But for now the modules provided by pman are not enough. You will need to use persistence mode (changes=). This will permit those who want to play with pacman and nemesis and familiarize themselves with the package manager and documentation.
For one reason or another if you use pman to build the modules for xorg, it will not work properly at reboot. Brokenman is not there yet.
I will start a thread to install xorg and xfce. But for now the modules provided by pman are not enough. You will need to use persistence mode (changes=). This will permit those who want to play with pacman and nemesis and familiarize themselves with the package manager and documentation.
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.
- francois
- Contributor
- Posts: 6499
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
- Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
- Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.
Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]
@brokenman:
root@porteus:/mnt/sda5/nemesis/git# git pull
remote: Counting objects: 62, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (61/61), done.
remote: Total 62 (delta 23), reused 0 (delta 0)
Unpacking objects: 100% (62/62), done.
From https://bitbucket.org/brokenman/nemesis
62fae22..0826b29 master -> origin/master
Updating 62fae22..0826b29
error: Your local changes to the following files would be overwritten by merge:
scripts/cleanup-arch.sh
Please, commit your changes or stash them before you can merge.
Aborting
Edited:
According to:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1574 ... you-can-me
Here is what I have done:
Thanks.
root@porteus:/mnt/sda5/nemesis/git# git pull
remote: Counting objects: 62, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (61/61), done.
remote: Total 62 (delta 23), reused 0 (delta 0)
Unpacking objects: 100% (62/62), done.
From https://bitbucket.org/brokenman/nemesis
62fae22..0826b29 master -> origin/master
Updating 62fae22..0826b29
error: Your local changes to the following files would be overwritten by merge:
scripts/cleanup-arch.sh
Please, commit your changes or stash them before you can merge.
Aborting
Edited:
According to:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1574 ... you-can-me
Here is what I have done:
Code: Select all
root@porteus:/mnt/sda5/nemesis/git# git reset --hard
HEAD is now at 62fae22 Added package information files to modules so pacman knows about them.
root@porteus:/mnt/sda5/nemesis/git# git pull
Updating 62fae22..0826b29
Fast-forward
TREE/001/usr/lib/libdialog.so.12.0.0 | 1 +
TREE/001/usr/local/bin/deactivate | 150 ++++++++++++
TREE/001/usr/local/bin/pman | 150 +++++++++---
TREE/001/usr/local/sbin/network-setup | 4 +-
.../share/porteus/porteus-functions | 21 ++
scripts/cleanup-arch.sh | 2 +-
x86_64/iso/config/modules | 14 +-
.../iso/porteus/base/000-kernel.xzm | Bin 14680064 -> 33337344 bytes
x86_64/iso/porteus/make_iso.sh | 8 +-
9 files changed, 298 insertions(+), 52 deletions(-)
create mode 120000 TREE/001/usr/lib/libdialog.so.12.0.0
create mode 100755 TREE/001/usr/local/bin/deactivate
root@porteus:/mnt/sda5/nemesis/git#
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.
- brokenman
- Site Admin
- Posts: 6105
- Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
- Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
- Location: Brazil
Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]
Yes. I recommend making a copy of the git tree if you want to make any local changes. Keep the original git tree clean so you can pull the latest updates. Tonight I will make a few changes that remove some directories in order to update from /usr/share/porteus to /usar/share/nemesis
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
- francois
- Contributor
- Posts: 6499
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
- Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
- Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.
Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]
So I don't know git much. Is the conclusion that:
is the way to go?
Then simply:
Edited this sunday after brokenman answer.
Code: Select all
git reset --hard
Then simply:
Code: Select all
pull git
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.