Incorrect characters are being substituted into my URL?

Post bug reports related to either the kiosk ISO or the kiosk wizard here.
Forum rules
Porteus Kiosk section of the forum is unmaintained now. Its kept in a 'read only' mode for archival purposes.
Please use the kiosk contact page for directing your queries: https://porteus-kiosk.org/contact.html
Mr Davo
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 28 Jul 2015, 05:31
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk 3.4
Location: Australia

Incorrect characters are being substituted into my URL?

Post#1 by Mr Davo » 29 Jul 2015, 05:46

Hi All,

I have had really good success with setting up one computer, using an Ethernet connection, so that Porteus Kiosk loads only one specific web page (in Firefox).

However I am now trying to setup a second computer using a Wi-Fi connection and I am running into a strange challenge. The Porteus Kiosk installation goes fine, however when the computer loads and presents Firefox it shows the message 'Access Denied'. I have installed Porteus Kiosk twice on this computer and in each instance the same behaviour is presented...

During setup I enter the following URL into both the Home Page, and White List sections -

https://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm= ... 1GGw%3d%3d

However when Porteus Kiosk loads, and presents Firefox it shows the following URL in the address bar!

https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/?sm=m4XP7PRbwDnC6oRmia1GGw%3d%3d

It looks like r/ is replacing s.aspx in the URL but as I mentioned earlier this only appears to be happening when I try to use the Wi-Fi configuration.

If anybody has any suggestions on how remedy this issue can you please share?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards,

Davo

User avatar
fanthom
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5667
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Incorrect characters are being substituted into my URL?

Post#2 by fanthom » 29 Jul 2015, 07:07

I'm 99% sure that wifi has nothing to do with changing the homepage URL.
perhaps you have made a typo during installation?

please double check

btw: i have moved your thread to kiosk section of the forum
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
sunnysideofthesun
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 62
Joined: 24 Apr 2015, 22:16
Distribution: other
Location: check the logs

Re: Incorrect characters are being substituted into my URL?

Post#3 by sunnysideofthesun » 29 Jul 2015, 13:50

I'm not ASP.NET programmer, but after quick glance I came to conclusion it is normal behavior for browsers to resolve absolute paths for websites when processing .aspx scripts.
As example: http://www.codeproject.com/Articles/142 ... et-beginne
If you have direct access to surveymonkey.com server and site then you could look into s.aspx code.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8364
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Incorrect characters are being substituted into my URL?

Post#4 by Ed_P » 29 Jul 2015, 14:22

Mr Davo wrote: https://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm= ... 1GGw%3d%3d

However when Porteus Kiosk loads, and presents Firefox it shows the following URL in the address bar!

https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/?sm=m4XP7PRbwDnC6oRmia1GGw%3d%3d
Not sure what the problem is, both links work for me using Firefox and a WiFi connection.

https://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm= ... 1GGw%3d%3d

https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/?sm=m4XP ... 1GGw%3d%3d
Ed

Locked