New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
-
Hamza
- Warlord

- Posts: 1908
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
- Distribution: Porteus
- Location: France
Post#1
by Hamza » 23 Apr 2011, 14:29
This is a tool for report your current configuration on the forum.
All credits go to brokenman!
Code: Select all
#!/bin/bash
ver=`cat /etc/porteus-version`
user=$(whoami)
osdrive=$(ls /mnt/live/mnt)
kernel=$(uname -r)
machine=$(uname -m)
mounted=$(df -Th | grep dev)
processor=$(uname -p)
cfg=$(cat /proc/cmdline)
ram=$(fgrep Mem /proc/meminfo)
sound=$(cat /proc/asound/cards)
network=$(ifconfig)
ns=$(cat /etc/resolv.conf)
usb=$(lsusb)
pci=$(lspci)
modules=$(ls -1 /mnt/live/memory/images)
dmes=$(dmesg | tail )
logs=$(cat /var/log/messages | tail)
soundriver=$(cat /proc/asound/version)
screen=$(xrandr | grep Screen)
get_config() {
echo '=== Version of Porteus ==' >> $config
echo $ver >> $config
echo '=== Current User ===' >> $config
echo $user >> $config
echo '=== Screen info ===' >> $config
echo $screen >> $config
echo '=== Boot Device ===' >> $config
echo $osdrive >> $config
echo '=== Kernel Info ===' >> $config
echo $kernel >> $config
echo '=== Machine Info ===' >> $config
echo $machine >> $config
echo '=== Devices Mounted ===' >> $config
echo $mounted >> $config
echo '=== CPU Info ===' >> $config
echo $processor >> $config
echo '=== Boot Config ===' >> $config
echo $cfg >> $config
echo '=== RAM Info ===' >> $config
echo $ram >> $config
echo '=== Sound Info ===' >> $config
echo $sound >> $config
echo ' ' >> $config
echo 'Sound Driver' >> $config
echo $sounddriver >> $config
echo '=== Network Info ===' >> $config
echo $network >> $config
echo '=== DNS Local ===' >> $config
echo $ns >> $config >> $config
echo '=== USB Devices ===' >> $config
echo $usb >> $config >> $config
echo '=== PCI Devices ===' >> $config
echo $pci >> $config
echo '=== Modules Info ===' >> $config
echo $modules >> $config
echo '==== SysLog ====' >> $config
echo 'DMesg file :' >> $config
echo ' ' >> $config
echo $dmes >> $config
echo ' ' >> $config
echo 'Messages file' >> $config
echo $logs >> $config
}
if [ "$1" = "-info" ]; then
echo " "
echo "USAGE : Run $0 without any arguments"
echo "Written for Porteus OS"
echo " "
echo "Porteus Diag Tool"
echo "Version 0.1alpha"
echo "All credits go to Brokenman"
exit
else
echo " "
echo "USAGE : Run $0 without any arguments"
echo "Written for Porteus OS"
echo " "
exit
fi
if [ "$1" = "-version" ]; then
echo " "
echo "Porteus Diag Tool"
echo "Version 0.1alpha"
echo "Written for The Porteus Community"
echo "All credits is for Brokenman"
exit
fi
echo "Where do you want to save the output of this script?"
echo "You must type the full path."
read config
if [ -d $config ]; then
clear
echo "I cannot save your config file in $config"
echo "Exiting..."
else
echo "Good ,You have selected an empty for save your config file."
get_config
fi
Any suggestions are welcome!
NjVFQzY2Rg==
Hamza
-
Quax
- Full of knowledge

- Posts: 21
- Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 21:28
- Distribution: FluxFlux (ARM + x86), Slax7
- Location: Muelheim an der Ruhr, Germany
-
Contact:
Post#2
by Quax » 23 Apr 2011, 18:46
board=$(dmidecode | grep -A2 "Base Board")
Quax
Erfahrung bedeutet gar nichts - man kann Dinge auch 15 Jahre lang falsch machen...
Experience means nothing - one could have done things wrong for the last 15 years...
Quax
-
82issa
- DOC Team

- Posts: 127
- Joined: 13 Apr 2011, 17:24
- Location: USA, NC
Post#3
by 82issa » 23 Apr 2011, 18:47
Need to add md5sums on xzm's so they can be identified corrupt or out dated.
82issa
-
Hamza
- Warlord

- Posts: 1908
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
- Distribution: Porteus
- Location: France
Post#4
by Hamza » 23 Apr 2011, 18:57
board=$(dmidecode | grep -A2 "Base Board")
You can post your version.
Thanks for suggestion !
Posted after 1 minute 36 seconds:
Need to add md5sums on xzm's so they can be identified corrupt or out dated.
Can't add it.
NjVFQzY2Rg==
Hamza
-
fanthom
- Moderator Team

- Posts: 5667
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
- Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
- Location: Poland
-
Contact:
Post#5
by fanthom » 24 Apr 2011, 22:52
@82issa
"Need to add md5sums on xzm's so they can be identified corrupt or out dated."
have a look on /usr/bin/chkbase.sh script
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.
fanthom
-
brokenman
- Site Admin

- Posts: 6105
- Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
- Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
- Location: Brazil
Post#6
by brokenman » 02 May 2011, 13:44
psinfo (Porteus system info) is already included in Porteus. Hamza if you can use the psinfo script to make something better please do so. Keep it as CLI though and the result should be a text file on the users desktop.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
brokenman
-
Hamza
- Warlord

- Posts: 1908
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
- Distribution: Porteus
- Location: France
Post#7
by Hamza » 02 May 2011, 14:12
I can include the Dialog Box , but must know what are the only desktops included in Porteus.
Will add a function for looks if it's KDE/LXDE Desktop.
Thanks Brokenman!
NjVFQzY2Rg==
Hamza
-
brokenman
- Site Admin

- Posts: 6105
- Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
- Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
- Location: Brazil
Post#8
by brokenman » 02 May 2011, 23:01
I can include the Dialog Box
Probably better if it doesn't have a dialog box. One reason someone might be using the script is because of a problem getting into an X session, or botting porteus. In this case they won't have the opportunity to see a dialog box. This is why i left psinfo as CLI.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
brokenman