Build an OFFICIAL installer
- Ahau
- King of Docs
- Posts: 1331
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
- Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
- Location: USA
Re: Build an OFFICIAL installer
As I consider the documentation I'm writing for the UAC installer, I think it might be more clear for users if we had a separate button that only re-activates UAC. So, users could select 'No' without making any changes to their system (if, for some reason they already had UAC disabled). Also, it would be more clear in the instructions (and, I think in practice) if we had them press a button to "Deactivate UAC" and then one to "Activate UAC".
What do you guys think?
What do you guys think?
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!
- Ahau
- King of Docs
- Posts: 1331
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
- Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
- Location: USA
Re: Build an OFFICIAL installer
Here's what I've written for the install guide -- I added a new step for windows installs:
Let me know if this works, or if any changes are needed. If anyone feels that using the "No" option is better, I will edit this accordingly.
Thanks!!
Code: Select all
4) If you are running the installer from Windows Vista or Windows 7 (users of Windows XP and earlier versions can skip this step), you must disable the User Account Control (UAC) program. To do this, click on the "Deactivate UAC" button on the win_start_here.hta menu, click Yes to continue, and UAC will be deactivated and your computer will reboot to apply these changes. After rebooting, open the win_start_here.hta application again, and proceed with Step 5 below. Once your installation is complete, you can run the win_start_here.hta application again, click on the "Activate UAC" button, and reboot your computer in order to reactivate UAC.
Thanks!!
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!
- fanthom
- Moderator Team
- Posts: 5667
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
- Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
- Location: Poland
- Contact:
Re: Build an OFFICIAL installer
my vote goes on "Deactivate/Activate UAC" - maybe one button instead of two?
(function must check if UAC is active or inactive)
what do you think Blaze?
(function must check if UAC is active or inactive)
what do you think Blaze?
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.
- Blaze
- DEV Team
- Posts: 3917
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
- Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
- Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
- Contact:
Re: Build an OFFICIAL installer
I think it's possible, but will need to use GUI. I tried to tweak my code again:fanthom wrote:my vote goes on "Deactivate/Activate UAC"
Code: Select all
#include <GUIConstants.au3>
Opt("TrayIconHide", 1)
$a = "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System"
$b = "ConsentPromptBehaviorAdmin"
$c = "REG_DWORD"
$d = "0"
$e = "PromptOnSecureDesktop"
$f = "EnableLUA"
$g = "5"
$h = "2"
$i = "1"
$font="Arial"
$var1 = RegRead("HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System", "ConsentPromptBehaviorAdmin")
$var2 = RegRead("HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System", "PromptOnSecureDesktop")
$var3 = RegRead("HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System", "EnableLUA")
GUICreate("Deactivate/Activate UAC", 400, 370, -1, -1)
GUISetBkColor(0xC8C8C8)
$Button1 = GUICtrlCreateButton("Deactivate UAC", 70, 300, 105, 57)
$Button2 = GUICtrlCreateButton("Activate UAC", 220, 300, 105, 57)
GUICtrlCreateLabel("This program will temporarily disable Windows User Account Control (UAC).", 0, 10, 400, 200, 0x01)
GUICtrlSetFont (-1,10, 400, 0, $font)
GUICtrlCreateLabel("This is necessary in order to modify the Master Boot Record of your flash drive, and it will temporarily put your computer at risk.", 0, 60, 400, 200, 0x01)
GUICtrlSetFont (-1,10, 400, 0, $font)
GUICtrlCreateLabel("Note!", 0, 120, 400, 200, 0x01)
GUICtrlSetFont (-1,10, 400, 0, $font)
GUICtrlCreateLabel("If you are running the installer from Windows Vista or Windows 7, you must disable the UAC. To do this, click on the “Deactivate UAC” button, and UAC will be deactivated and your computer will reboot to apply these changes.", 0, 150, 400, 200, 0x01)
GUICtrlSetFont (-1,10, 400, 0, $font)
GUICtrlCreateLabel("When you are done installing Porteus on your flash drive, you can reactive UAC by running this program again, pressing the “Activate UAC” button, and your computer will reboot.", 0, 230, 400, 200, 0x01)
GUICtrlSetFont (-1,10, 400, 0, $font)
GUISetState(@SW_SHOW)
While 1
$nMsg = GUIGetMsg()
Switch $nMsg
Case $GUI_EVENT_CLOSE
ExitLoop
Case $Button1
If $var1 = 5 Then
FileWrite (@CommonFilesDir & "\System\en-US\mui\log.txt","Text")
RegWrite($a, $b, $c, $d)
EndIf
If $var2 = 1 Then
FileWrite (@CommonFilesDir & "\System\en-US\mui\log.txt","Text")
RegWrite($a, $e, $c, $d)
EndIf
If $var1 = 2 Then
FileWrite (@CommonFilesDir & "\System\en-US\mui\log.txt","Text")
RegWrite($a, $b, $c, $d)
EndIf
If $var3 = 1 Then
FileWrite (@CommonFilesDir & "\System\en-US\mui\log.txt","Text")
RegWrite($a, $f, $c, $d)
SplashTextOn("Warning", 'UAC has been disabled.' & @CR & 'Your OS will now reboot.' & @CR & '' & @CR & 'After your system reboots, follow these steps:' & @CR & '' & @CR & '1. Run win_start_here.hta' & @CR & '2. Press the “Install Porteus” button' & @CR & '3. Follow the instructions given by bootinst.bat', 400, 320, -1, -1, "", "", 18)
Sleep(15000)
Shutdown(2)
Exit
EndIf
Case $Button2
If $var1 = 0 Then
FileWrite (@CommonFilesDir & "\System\en-US\mui\log.txt","Text")
RegWrite($a, $b, $c, $h)
EndIf
If $var2 = 0 Then
FileWrite (@CommonFilesDir & "\System\en-US\mui\log.txt","Text")
RegWrite($a, $e, $c, $i)
EndIf
If $var3 = 0 Then
FileWrite (@CommonFilesDir & "\System\en-US\mui\log.txt","Text")
RegWrite($a, $f, $c, $i)
Shutdown(2)
Exit
EndIf
EndSwitch
WEnd
Please test this UAC.exe and report me about it.
Linux 6.6.11-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT_DYNAMIC Sun Jan 14 12:07:37 MSK 2024 x86_64 Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1270 v6 @ 3.80GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16
- brokenman
- Site Admin
- Posts: 6105
- Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
- Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
- Location: Brazil
Re: Build an OFFICIAL installer
If i ever get time i will write an installer for windows that is separate from the ISO. This way users can just download the ISO and the installer and get to it.
@Blaze ... there is a bug in the UAC.exe GUI. The buttons don't appear when i start it. If i run my mouse over where the buttons should be ... they then appear.
Rather than disabling the UAC ... wouldn't a more elegant solution be to elevate privileges so the UAC is no longer a problem? The only down side to this is that explorer would need to be killed, but a quick warning about this would be OK.
http://4sysops.com/archives/temporarily ... ut-reboot/
I don't think remaining with elevated rights will be a problem because one would assume that if you are installing, the next step will be to reboot and try to boot porteus.
@Blaze ... there is a bug in the UAC.exe GUI. The buttons don't appear when i start it. If i run my mouse over where the buttons should be ... they then appear.
Rather than disabling the UAC ... wouldn't a more elegant solution be to elevate privileges so the UAC is no longer a problem? The only down side to this is that explorer would need to be killed, but a quick warning about this would be OK.
http://4sysops.com/archives/temporarily ... ut-reboot/
I don't think remaining with elevated rights will be a problem because one would assume that if you are installing, the next step will be to reboot and try to boot porteus.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
- Blaze
- DEV Team
- Posts: 3917
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
- Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
- Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
- Contact:
Re: Build an OFFICIAL installer
I think we can use this tool TweakUAC - it's better way (small size of unpacked TweakUAC.exe ~85 kb, + quiet mode)
Linux 6.6.11-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT_DYNAMIC Sun Jan 14 12:07:37 MSK 2024 x86_64 Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1270 v6 @ 3.80GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16
- fanthom
- Moderator Team
- Posts: 5667
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
- Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
- Location: Poland
- Contact:
Re: Build an OFFICIAL installer
can't help much here - dont have Win7
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.
- Blaze
- DEV Team
- Posts: 3917
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
- Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
- Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
- Contact:
Re: Build an OFFICIAL installer
fanthom,
I tested all modes of TweakUAC in Win 7 - it work fine for me.
I tested all modes of TweakUAC in Win 7 - it work fine for me.
Linux 6.6.11-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT_DYNAMIC Sun Jan 14 12:07:37 MSK 2024 x86_64 Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1270 v6 @ 3.80GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16
- brokenman
- Site Admin
- Posts: 6105
- Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
- Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
- Location: Brazil
Re: Build an OFFICIAL installer
I have used TweakUAC before (vista). It works well and silent mode is what i meant with my last comment. It is around 300Kb so should do fine.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
- Blaze
- DEV Team
- Posts: 3917
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
- Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
- Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
- Contact:
Re: Build an OFFICIAL installer
Hamza, Are you mean a version of Windows or installer?
Windows 7 x86, this installer.
brokenman,
The installer of TweakUAC with ~300Kb does not need.
Windows 7 x86, this installer.
brokenman,
unpacked TweakUAC.exe ~85 kbIt is around 300Kb
The installer of TweakUAC with ~300Kb does not need.
Linux 6.6.11-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT_DYNAMIC Sun Jan 14 12:07:37 MSK 2024 x86_64 Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1270 v6 @ 3.80GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16
- Ahau
- King of Docs
- Posts: 1331
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
- Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
- Location: USA
Re: Build an OFFICIAL installer
Are we moving forward with TweakUAC, or staying with the UAC.exe?
I'm in no position to make decisions, but we need to get this issue settled out if we're going to release V1.0 final...I just want to finish the install guide
I'm in no position to make decisions, but we need to get this issue settled out if we're going to release V1.0 final...I just want to finish the install guide
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!
- Blaze
- DEV Team
- Posts: 3917
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
- Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
- Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
- Contact:
Re: Build an OFFICIAL installer
I vote for TweakUAC.exe
Linux 6.6.11-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT_DYNAMIC Sun Jan 14 12:07:37 MSK 2024 x86_64 Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1270 v6 @ 3.80GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16