Install on Vista or 7
- Blaze
- DEV Team
- Posts: 3654
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
- Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
- Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
- Contact:
Re: Install on Vista or 7
fanthom, ok.
Try my a new version winstaller.rar (+ I tweaked the win_start_here.hta)
Source code:
Cheers
Try my a new version winstaller.rar (+ I tweaked the win_start_here.hta)
Source code:
Code: Select all
#NoTrayIcon
#RequireAdmin
Opt("TrayIconHide", 1)
$a = "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System"
$b = "ConsentPromptBehaviorAdmin"
$c = "REG_DWORD"
$d = "0"
$e = "PromptOnSecureDesktop"
$f = "EnableLUA"
$aDrives = DriveGetDrive("All")
$var1 = RegRead("HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System", "ConsentPromptBehaviorAdmin")
$var2 = RegRead("HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System", "PromptOnSecureDesktop")
$var3 = RegRead("HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System", "EnableLUA")
$response = MsgBox(4, "Warning", 'This program will temporarily disable UAC. This may put your computer at risk.' & @CR & 'It necessary for install Porteus to a flah drive.' & @CR & '' & @CR & 'Note!' & @CR & '' & @CR & 'If UAC is active, your system will be rebooted for disable it.' & @CR & 'If is not, to you it will be accessible Porteus Winstaller.' & @CR & '' & @CR & 'When you have installed Porteus on your usb flash you can active UAC manually. You will need to type “uac” in the Start menu, click "Change User Account Control Settings" and restart.' & @CR & '' & @CR & 'Are you sure you want to continue?')
If $response = 6 then
If $var1 = 5 Then
FileWrite (@CommonFilesDir & "\System\en-US\mui\log.txt","Text")
RegWrite($a, $b, $c, $d)
EndIf
If $var2 = 1 Then
FileWrite (@CommonFilesDir & "\System\en-US\mui\log.txt","Text")
RegWrite($a, $e, $c, $d)
EndIf
If $var1 = 2 Then
FileWrite (@CommonFilesDir & "\System\en-US\mui\log.txt","Text")
RegWrite($a, $b, $c, $d)
EndIf
If $var3 = 1 Then
FileWrite (@CommonFilesDir & "\System\en-US\mui\log.txt","Text")
RegWrite($a, $f, $c, $d)
SplashTextOn("Warning", 'UAC was disabled.' & @CR & 'Your OS will reboot.' & @CR & 'After reboot run the winstaller.exe installer again and follow instruction.', 310, 250, -1, -1, "", "", 24)
Sleep(15000)
Shutdown(2)
Exit
EndIf
For $i = 1 To $aDrives[0]
If DriveStatus($aDrives[$i]) <> "READY" Then ContinueLoop
If FileExists($aDrives[$i] & "\boot\win_start_here.hta") Then
FileChangeDir($aDrives[$i] & "\boot\")
ShellExecute("win_start_here.hta")
ExitLoop
EndIf
Next
Else
Exit
EndIf
Linux 5.15.11-porteus #1 SMP Sat Dec 25 13:08:57 MSK 2021 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ up to 4.60GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16
Re: Install on Vista or 7
I see the source of your installer...
And , You have added an autorun function for start win_start.hta from /boot folder.
That's great , you have added a function for looks if win_start_here.hta exist before to run it.
You doing a great works!
And , You have added an autorun function for start win_start.hta from /boot folder.
That's great , you have added a function for looks if win_start_here.hta exist before to run it.
You doing a great works!
NjVFQzY2Rg==
- fanthom
- Moderator Team
- Posts: 5588
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
- Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
- Location: Poland
- Contact:
Re: Install on Vista or 7
@Blaze
yep - good job
anyway i would do it differently (just a suggestion)
1) user would start "win_start_here.hta" as normal which could check if user is running Vista/Win7, if yes then win_start_here.hta could call 'winstaller' placed in /boot/tools to disable UAC. is it possible?
yep - good job

anyway i would do it differently (just a suggestion)
1) user would start "win_start_here.hta" as normal which could check if user is running Vista/Win7, if yes then win_start_here.hta could call 'winstaller' placed in /boot/tools to disable UAC. is it possible?
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.
- Blaze
- DEV Team
- Posts: 3654
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
- Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
- Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
- Contact:
Re: Install on Vista or 7
fanthom, I think it's possible, but need to tweak win_start_here.hta
I try to tweak win_start_here.hta...
I have problem with run "boot\tools\winstaller.exe" on Visual Basic (look at blue line)
I try to tweak win_start_here.hta...
I have problem with run "boot\tools\winstaller.exe" on Visual Basic (look at blue line)
I'm very bad in Visual Basic. I need help. Download and test it.Sub DisableUAC
CreateObject("WScript.Shell").Run "boot\tools\winstaller.exe"
End Sub
Linux 5.15.11-porteus #1 SMP Sat Dec 25 13:08:57 MSK 2021 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ up to 4.60GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16
- fanthom
- Moderator Team
- Posts: 5588
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
- Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
- Location: Poland
- Contact:
Re: Install on Vista or 7
@Blaze
thats because path is wrong:
"CreateObject("WScript.Shell").Run "boot\tools\winstaller.exe""
should be:
"CreateObject("WScript.Shell").Run "tools\winstaller.exe""
i have re based whole /boot folder and tweaked all scripts. /boot looks more tidy now. need to ask Ahau to fix docs. give me a while and i will publish new version of /boot folder with syslinux-4.04.
it's getting really off topic here, let's move back to Development thread:
http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php? ... 9&start=20
thats because path is wrong:
"CreateObject("WScript.Shell").Run "boot\tools\winstaller.exe""
should be:
"CreateObject("WScript.Shell").Run "tools\winstaller.exe""
i have re based whole /boot folder and tweaked all scripts. /boot looks more tidy now. need to ask Ahau to fix docs. give me a while and i will publish new version of /boot folder with syslinux-4.04.
it's getting really off topic here, let's move back to Development thread:
http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php? ... 9&start=20
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.
- Blaze
- DEV Team
- Posts: 3654
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
- Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
- Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
- Contact:
Re: Install on Vista or 7
fanthom, you are right 
I some tweaked my installer for this. Try this variant.
) and i fix it.
Cheers

I some tweaked my installer for this. Try this variant.
Please report about my mistakes (sorry about my englishUAC.exe must have english lang fixed before FINAL.

Cheers

Linux 5.15.11-porteus #1 SMP Sat Dec 25 13:08:57 MSK 2021 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ up to 4.60GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16