Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4906
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#16 by fanthom » 29 Nov 2014, 10:05

i can bet that you did not preserve correct path. your file should be saved in:
/mnt/sda3/porteus/etc/modprobe.d/broadcom_blacklist.conf
and then you could use:

Code: Select all

'rootcopy=/porteus'
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4254
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#17 by Ed_P » 29 Nov 2014, 16:09

fanthom wrote:/mnt/sda3/porteus/etc/modprobe.d/broadcom_blacklist.conf
:shock:

No, I did not store it in a preserved path. I will try that. Thank you fanthom. :)
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4254
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#18 by Ed_P » 30 Nov 2014, 02:11

fanthom wrote:your file should be saved in:
/mnt/sda3/porteus/etc/modprobe.d/broadcom_blacklist.conf
and then you could use:

Code: Select all

'rootcopy=/porteus'
Done. Didn't help. Still no networks showing. :(
Ed

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4906
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#19 by fanthom » 30 Nov 2014, 09:41

psinfo please.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 633
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#20 by tome » 30 Nov 2014, 11:35

Done. Didn't help. Still no networks showing.
Maybe this setting doesn't work if is copied from fat/ntfs filesystem (wrong permissions).
No intelligence, no life and no information can exist without prior intelligence, life or information (in place where things change and time is running).

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4254
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#21 by Ed_P » 01 Dec 2014, 18:41

fanthom wrote:psinfo please.
http://pastebin.com/ChdjWYsj

plus:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ psinfo
Please enter root's password below
Password: 

All gathered information are stored in /home/guest/Desktop/psinfo.txt
If you want the Team Porteus to trouble shooting a problem then please upload
this file to pastebin.com and post a link in our forums.

guest@porteus:~$ ./bootmode.sh
/mnt/sda3
Porteus-v3.0.1
quiet from=/ISOs/Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0.1-i486.iso rootcopy=/porteus changes=EXIT:/porteus/changes/porteussave.dat extramod=/porteus/Modules volume=40 

guest@porteus:~$ ls /porteus
/bin/ls: cannot access /porteus: No such file or directory

guest@porteus:~$ ls /mnt/sda3/porteus/
Guest/  Modules/  changes/  debug.txt*  etc/  modsavedat/

guest@porteus:~$ ls /mnt/sda3/porteus/etc/
modprobe.d/

guest@porteus:~$ ls /mnt/sda3/porteus/etc/modprobe.d
broadcom_blacklist.conf*

guest@porteus:~$ cat /mnt/sda3/porteus/etc/modprobe.d/broadcom_blacklist.conf
# Default driver for supporting broadcom wifi chipsets is proprietary broadcom-sta (wl.ko).
# Please refer to 'Broadcom wifi under Porteus' HOWTO
# in case when you want to use the opensource drivers (b43/brcmsmac):
# http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=39&t=1099
#
# Blacklist opensource drivers they wont interfere with wl.ko:

blacklist ssb
blacklist bcma
blacklist b43
blacklist brcmsmac
blacklist wl

guest@porteus:~$
tome wrote:Maybe this setting doesn't work if is copied from fat/ntfs filesystem (wrong permissions).
An interesting, and troubling, thought. I hope you're wrong.


BTW The laptop does connect to the Internet if cabled in.
Ed

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4906
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#22 by fanthom » 01 Dec 2014, 18:52

wl is still not blacklisted and i'm sure we were going through this before:
please use UNIQUE name for your rootcopy folder
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4254
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#23 by Ed_P » 01 Dec 2014, 19:07

fanthom wrote:please use UNIQUE name for your rootcopy folder
Ok. But...
fanthom wrote: your file should be saved in:
/mnt/sda3/porteus/etc/modprobe.d/broadcom_blacklist.conf
and then you could use:

Code: Select all

'rootcopy=/porteus'
Just doing what I am told. :)


-- update --

Code: Select all

/mnt/sda3/porteus/Etc/modprobe.d/broadcom_blacklist.conf

Code: Select all

rootcopy=/porteus/Etc
Still no networks.
Ed

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4906
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#24 by fanthom » 01 Dec 2014, 19:54

debugging is quite simple:
you have to make sure that modified file from rootcopy lands in the /etc/modprobe.d folder. if it's not there then you are doing something wrong.

tip: currently your file is saved as /modprobe.d/broadcom_blacklist.conf in union (/etc is missing).
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4254
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#25 by Ed_P » 01 Dec 2014, 23:21

fanthom wrote:debugging is quite simple:
If you have a clue as to what you are doing.

If I change 'rootcopy=/porteus/Etc' back to 'rootcopy=/porteus' then won't the file will be saved as Etc/modprobe.d/broadcom_blacklist.conf which does not match etc/modprobe.d/broadcom_blacklist.conf and I'm back to where I started.

If I change /mnt/sda3/porteus/Etc/modprobe.d/broadcom_blacklist.conf to be
/mnt/sda3/porteus/Rootcopy/etc/modprobe.d/broadcom_blacklist.conf then change 'rootcopy=/porteus/Etc' to 'rootcopy=/porteus/Rootcopy' then the union will be right?

I can't have /mnt/sda3/porteus/etc/modprobe.d/broadcom_blacklist.conf and 'rootcopy=/porteus' because the name isn't unique. Can I just rename broadcom_blacklist.conf to broadcom_blacklist2.conf or Broadcom_Blacklist.conf?
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5994
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#26 by brokenman » 01 Dec 2014, 23:32

Back up a few steps. Your problem is that you boot from an ISO. Therefore you want to use a folder somewhere on your system as a rootcopy folder. This is from the cheatcodes.txt

rootcopy=/path/to_folder/with_files

... Copy files from specified directory directly to the live
filesystem. This directory will be used instead of the
traditional /porteus/rootcopy.
Example: 'rootcopy=/mnt/sda5/porteus-files'

So .... make a folder called 'porteus-files' somewhere on your hard drive. /mnt/sda5/porteus-files
Inside this folder create the heirarchy: etc/modprobe.d/
Your complete path to your blacklist file will be: /mnt/sda5/porteus-files/etc/modprobe.d/broadcom_blacklist.conf
Now make your cheatcode: rootcopy=/mnt/sda5/porteus-files

All files below /mnt/sda5/porteus-files/ will be copied into the live files system when you reboot. Done.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4254
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#27 by Ed_P » 01 Dec 2014, 23:45

This didn't work either.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ psinfo
Please enter root's password below
Password: 

All gathered information are stored in /home/guest/Desktop/psinfo.txt
If you want the Team Porteus to trouble shooting a problem then please upload
this file to pastebin.com and post a link in our forums.

guest@porteus:~$ ls /mnt/sda3/porteus/
Guest/  Modules/  Rootcopy/  changes/  debug.txt*  modsavedat/
guest@porteus:~$ ls /mnt/sda3/porteus/Rootcopy/
etc/
guest@porteus:~$ ls /mnt/sda3/porteus/Rootcopy/etc/
modprobe.d/
guest@porteus:~$ ls /mnt/sda3/porteus/Rootcopy/etc/modprobe.d
broadcom_blacklist.conf*
guest@porteus:~$ ./bootmode.sh
/mnt/sda3
Porteus-v3.0.1
quiet from=/ISOs/Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0.1-i486.iso rootcopy=/porteus/Rootcopy changes=EXIT:/porteus/changes/porteussave.dat extramod=/porteus/Modules volume=40 
guest@porteus:~$ 
http://pastebin.com/DhTuEybY
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4254
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#28 by Ed_P » 01 Dec 2014, 23:49

brokenman wrote:Now make your cheatcode: rootcopy=/mnt/sda5/porteus-files

All files below /mnt/sda5/porteus-files/ will be copied into the live files system when you reboot. Done.
Thanks brokenman. I will try this.

Do note that my cheatcode for extramod= is extramod=/porteus/Modules without the /mnt/sda3/ part.



== update==

That didn't work either.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ ./bootmode.sh
/mnt/sda3
Porteus-v3.0.1
quiet from=/ISOs/Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0.1-i486.iso rootcopy=/mnt/sda3/porteus/Rootcopy changes=EXIT:/porteus/changes/porteussave.dat extramod=/porteus/Modules volume=40 
guest@porteus:~$ 
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5994
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#29 by brokenman » 02 Dec 2014, 00:47

Please try it exactly like I've put it, except change the sda5 to sda3 (or preferably a linux file system). I'm not concerned with extramod right now since the goal is to get rootcopy working is it not?
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4254
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#30 by Ed_P » 02 Dec 2014, 21:08

Didn't work. :(

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ psinfo
Please enter root's password below
Password: 

All gathered information are stored in /home/guest/Desktop/psinfo.txt
If you want the Team Porteus to trouble shooting a problem then please upload
this file to pastebin.com and post a link in our forums.

guest@porteus:~$ ls -R /mnt/sda3/porteus-files
/mnt/sda3/porteus-files:
etc/

/mnt/sda3/porteus-files/etc:
modprobe.d/

/mnt/sda3/porteus-files/etc/modprobe.d:
broadcom_blacklist.conf*

guest@porteus:~$ ./bootmode.sh
/mnt/sda3
Porteus-v3.0.1
quiet from=/ISOs/Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0.1-i486.iso rootcopy=/mnt/sda3/porteus-files changes=EXIT:/porteus/changes/porteussave.dat extramod=/porteus/Modules volume=40 
guest@porteus:~$ 
http://pastebin.com/QDTfbZUb
Ed

Post Reply