Bash bug
Re: Bash bug
For the time being you could try the zsh shell, which has been kept up to date & has improvements over bash:
http://zsh.sourceforge.net/
http://zsh.sourceforge.net/
- snake
- White ninja
- Posts: 14
- Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 10:02
- Distribution: Porteus-v3.1 64bit KDE
- Location: Finland
Re: Bash bug
Yep, that bug works on Porteus too, so if you are using Porteus as webserver, sshd server, etc. fix it right now.
Test with:
Fix:
http://mirrors.slackware.com/slackware/ ... ck14.1.txz
BTW, I tried to install it with usm, however did not succeed. show slackwarepatch repository:
However with get
show only the first one and not patch repository. My USM should be latest 3.1.6. with recent -u all. Do you get same problem?
You can manually install fix by (as a root):
Test with:
Code: Select all
env x='() { :;}; echo vulnerable' bash -c 'echo hello'
http://mirrors.slackware.com/slackware/ ... ck14.1.txz
BTW, I tried to install it with usm, however did not succeed.
Code: Select all
usm -s bash
Code: Select all
bash-4.2.045-x86_64-1.txz was found in slackware
bash-4.2.048-x86_64-1_slack14.1.txz was found in slackwarepatches
Packages found: 2
Code: Select all
usm -g bash
You can manually install fix by (as a root):
Code: Select all
wget http://mirrors.slackware.com/slackware/slackware64-14.1/patches/packages/bash-4.2.048-x86_64-1_slack14.1.txz
txz2xzm bash-4.2.*
activate bash-4.2*xzm
Re: Bash bug
Or there is fish, pre-compiled for various distros & also works for Mac:
http://fishshell.com/
http://fishshell.com/
- francois
- Contributor
- Posts: 6315
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
- Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
- Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.
Re: Bash bug
@snake:
So I can conclude that if I am using bash only for internal manipulations, that is that I stay within my linux box, there is no threat?
So I can conclude that if I am using bash only for internal manipulations, that is that I stay within my linux box, there is no threat?

Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.
- Ed_P
- Contributor
- Posts: 7677
- Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
- Distribution: Cinnamon 5.0 ISO
- Location: Western NY, USA
Re: Bash bug
Thanks snake.snake wrote: You can manually install fix by (as a root):Code: Select all
wget http://mirrors.slackware.com/slackware/slackware64-14.1/patches/packages/bash-4.2.048-x86_64-1_slack14.1.txz txz2xzm bash-4.2.* activate bash-4.2*xzm
Interesting articles guys.
Ed
- Ed_P
- Contributor
- Posts: 7677
- Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
- Distribution: Cinnamon 5.0 ISO
- Location: Western NY, USA
Re: Bash bug
Oh oh, didn't work.
=update=
File needs to be bash-4.2.048-x86_64-2_slack14.1.txz not bash-4.2.048-x86_64-1_slack14.1.txz. It can be found here also: ftp://ftp.slackware.com/pub/slackware/s ... /packages/
Code: Select all
--2014-09-25 19:47:13-- http://mirrors.slackware.com/slackware/slackware64-14.1/patches/packages/bash-4.2.048-x86_64-1_slack14.1.txz
Resolving mirrors.slackware.com (mirrors.slackware.com)... 207.223.116.213
Connecting to mirrors.slackware.com (mirrors.slackware.com)|207.223.116.213|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 404 Not Found
2014-09-25 19:47:14 ERROR 404: Not Found.
File needs to be bash-4.2.048-x86_64-2_slack14.1.txz not bash-4.2.048-x86_64-1_slack14.1.txz. It can be found here also: ftp://ftp.slackware.com/pub/slackware/s ... /packages/
Ed
- snake
- White ninja
- Posts: 14
- Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 10:02
- Distribution: Porteus-v3.1 64bit KDE
- Location: Finland
Re: Bash bug
Yes, the first update link that was available ( and I sent) was not fully fixing the issue therefore now removed. Correct one is that http://mirrors.slackware.com/slackware/ ... ck14.1.txzEd_P wrote:Oh oh, didn't work.
=update=Code: Select all
--2014-09-25 19:47:13-- http://mirrors.slackware.com/slackware/slackware64-14.1/patches/packages/bash-4.2.048-x86_64-1_slack14.1.txz Resolving mirrors.slackware.com (mirrors.slackware.com)... 207.223.116.213 Connecting to mirrors.slackware.com (mirrors.slackware.com)|207.223.116.213|:80... connected. HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 404 Not Found 2014-09-25 19:47:14 ERROR 404: Not Found.
File needs to be bash-4.2.048-x86_64-2_slack14.1.txz not bash-4.2.048-x86_64-1_slack14.1.txz. It can be found here also: ftp://ftp.slackware.com/pub/slackware/s ... /packages/
- snake
- White ninja
- Posts: 14
- Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 10:02
- Distribution: Porteus-v3.1 64bit KDE
- Location: Finland
Re: Bash bug
Well maybe yes, however I suggest to update bash as it might be possible to do nasty tricks with this one. For example:francois wrote:@snake:
So I can conclude that if I am using bash only for internal manipulations, that is that I stay within my linux box, there is no threat?
https://www.trustedsec.com/september-20 ... f-concept/ where DHCP server gives bad code to clients that happily run given script as a root. For example, if your router with dhcpd is compromised, it can give nasty scripts to all the machines asking for local network address from them. Many of routers, wlan accesspoints, "smart" tv:s has nowdays linux and some kind of webserver as frontend so that might be even bigger issue for those (mainly because those are updated rarely or there is no update available at all anymore). There is a nice discussion of other possible threads in https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=8369443 comments. In practice it is related to anything that uses scripts and bash for doing things. Especially those scripts that run as root, and there are several of those in Linux and OSX devices. I don't know details if this works with other *sh:s.
- brokenman
- Site Admin
- Posts: 6104
- Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
- Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
- Location: Brazil
- Contact:
Re: Bash bug
Thanks snake. This is quite a low level core vulnerability and the attack vectors are very wide. Just another damn good reason why people shouldn't run as root.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
-
- Samurai
- Posts: 116
- Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 12:02
- Distribution: LXDE3.5Manjaro, LXDE3.01-32bit
- Location: Sweden
Re: Bash bug
Hi Brokenman,
when will it be possible to do an USM-update?
And, Thank you Snake.
when will it be possible to do an USM-update?
And, Thank you Snake.
- brokenman
- Site Admin
- Posts: 6104
- Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
- Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
- Location: Brazil
- Contact:
Re: Bash bug
I haven't done much on USM since the beginning of this month. Been busy with next release. You can now update the database to get this patch if you wish.
Code: Select all
usm -u slackwarepatches
usm -g bash
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
-
- DEV Team
- Posts: 2082
- Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
- Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
- Location: japan
Re: Bash bug
For 32 bit, version 3.0.1
001-core.xzm was updated to 001-core2.xzm.
http://www.mediafire.com/download/kcp5z ... -core2.xzm
md5sum: 13cb1f8dec29da0839bfcefe61908fd2 001-core2.xzm
'bash', the content of 001-core.xzm, was updated to fix the "Shellshock" problem.
Please refer
http://www.thegeekstuff.com/2014/09/bas ... 2014-7169/
001-core.xzm was updated to 001-core2.xzm.
http://www.mediafire.com/download/kcp5z ... -core2.xzm
md5sum: 13cb1f8dec29da0839bfcefe61908fd2 001-core2.xzm
'bash', the content of 001-core.xzm, was updated to fix the "Shellshock" problem.
Please refer
http://www.thegeekstuff.com/2014/09/bas ... 2014-7169/
-
- Samurai
- Posts: 170
- Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 08:10
- Distribution: porteus v5.0-xfce K5.19.7
- Location: France
Re: Bash bug
@neko
hello, with your module I get the error:
/bin/bash missing share library libtinfo.so.5
@brokenman
all's ok with creating the corrective with usm
hello, with your module I get the error:
/bin/bash missing share library libtinfo.so.5
@brokenman
all's ok with creating the corrective with usm