Wishlist for porteus 3.1
- fanthom
- Moderator Team
- Posts: 5588
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
- Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
- Location: Poland
- Contact:
Re: Wishlist for porteus 3.1
just checked and extramod (same for 'rootcopy=') uses 'locate' function already so it should work for all scenarios:
a) full path provided
b) /mnt/sdXY not provided (script searches all available devices and delays if not found)
c) extramod=UUID:xxxx/path
d) extramod=LABEL:xxxx/path
please try it once again.
a) full path provided
b) /mnt/sdXY not provided (script searches all available devices and delays if not found)
c) extramod=UUID:xxxx/path
d) extramod=LABEL:xxxx/path
please try it once again.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.
- Ed_P
- Contributor
- Posts: 7670
- Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
- Distribution: Cinnamon 5.0 ISO
- Location: Western NY, USA
Re: Wishlist for porteus 3.1
This code:fanthom wrote:please try it once again.
Code: Select all
title Porteus 3.0.1 changes=EXIT \n 213MB\n %ISO3%
find --set-root /ISOs/%ISO3%
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0 /ISOs/%ISO3% (0xff)
map --hook
root (0xff)
kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=/ISOs/%ISO3% changes=EXIT:/porteus/changes/porteussave.dat extramod=/porteus/modules/ volume=40
initrd /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
This code:
Code: Select all
title Porteus 3.0.1 changes=EXIT \n 213MB\n %ISO3%
find --set-root /ISOs/%ISO3%
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0 /ISOs/%ISO3% (0xff)
map --hook
root (0xff)
kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=/ISOs/%ISO3% changes=EXIT:/porteus/changes/porteussave.dat extramod=/mnt/sda5/porteus/modules/ volume=40
initrd /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
And
Code: Select all
set ISO3=Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0.1-x86_64.iso
== update ==
Views from within the booted Porteus systems:
Code: Select all
guest@porteus:~$ bootmode.sh
Porteus-v3.0.1
quiet from=/ISOs/Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0.1-x86_64.iso changes=EXIT:/porteus/changes/porteussave.dat extramod=/porteus/modules/ volume=40
guest@porteus:~$ ls /mnt/live/memory/images
000-kernel.xzm/ 002-xorg.xzm/ 04-firefox.xzm/
001-core.xzm/ 003-razor.xzm/ changes/
guest@porteus:~$
guest@porteus:~$ bootmode.sh
Porteus-v3.0.1
quiet from=/ISOs/Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0.1-x86_64.iso changes=EXIT:/porteus/changes/porteussave.dat extramod=/mnt/sda5/porteus/modules/ volume=40
guest@porteus:~$ ls /mnt/live/memory/images
000-kernel.xzm/ bash-4.2.048-x86_64-2_slack14.1.xzm/
001-core.xzm/ changes/
002-xorg.xzm/ flash-plugin-11.2.202.350-x86_64-1gv.xzm/
003-razor.xzm/ gnupg-1.4.15-x86_64-1.xzm/
04-firefox.xzm/ jre-7u67-x86_64-1.xzm/
07-printing.xzm/ keepassx-0.4.3-x86_64-2dj.xzm/
MyWines.xzm/ kpat-4.10.5-x86_64-bundle.xzm/
Wine-1.7.26-x64-GeckoMono-1.xzm/ testdisk-6.14-x86_64-2sl.xzm/
guest@porteus:~$
Code: Select all
#!/bin/sh
cat /etc/porteus-version
cat /proc/cmdline
Ed
- brokenman
- Site Admin
- Posts: 6104
- Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
- Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
- Location: Brazil
- Contact:
Re: Wishlist for porteus 3.1
Just checked: extramod=UUID:xxxx/path and it is not working for me.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
- fanthom
- Moderator Team
- Posts: 5588
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
- Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
- Location: Poland
- Contact:
Re: Wishlist for porteus 3.1
@Ed_P
give your extramod folder an UNIQUE name. /porteus/modules/ exists in yout ISO and is empty. when you do not provide a full path then script is not able to guess which folder you want and accepts first one which is found.
@brokebnman
checked and works beautifully here with LABEL (uuid was too long to type): so i guess UUID is also ok.
give your extramod folder an UNIQUE name. /porteus/modules/ exists in yout ISO and is empty. when you do not provide a full path then script is not able to guess which folder you want and accepts first one which is found.
@brokebnman
checked and works beautifully here with LABEL (uuid was too long to type): so i guess UUID is also ok.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.
- brokenman
- Site Admin
- Posts: 6104
- Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
- Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
- Location: Brazil
- Contact:
Re: Wishlist for porteus 3.1
ok, I will check it again. Thanks.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
- Ed_P
- Contributor
- Posts: 7670
- Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
- Distribution: Cinnamon 5.0 ISO
- Location: Western NY, USA
Re: Wishlist for porteus 3.1
Excellent.fanthom wrote:@Ed_P
give your extramod folder an UNIQUE name. /porteus/modules/ exists in yout ISO and is empty. when you do not provide a full path then script is not able to guess which folder you want and accepts first one which is found.

Code: Select all
guest@porteus:~$ bootmode.sh
Porteus-v3.0.1
quiet from=/ISOs/Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0.1-x86_64.iso changes=EXIT:/porteus/changes/porteussave.dat extramod=/porteus/Modules/ volume=40
guest@porteus:~$ ls /mnt/live/memory/images
000-kernel.xzm/ bash-4.2.048-x86_64-2_slack14.1.xzm/
001-core.xzm/ changes/
002-xorg.xzm/ flash-plugin-11.2.202.350-x86_64-1gv.xzm/
003-razor.xzm/ gnupg-1.4.15-x86_64-1.xzm/
04-firefox.xzm/ jre-7u67-x86_64-1.xzm/
07-printing.xzm/ keepassx-0.4.3-x86_64-2dj.xzm/
MyWines.xzm/ kpat-4.10.5-x86_64-bundle.xzm/
Wine-1.7.26-x64-GeckoMono-1.xzm/ testdisk-6.14-x86_64-2sl.xzm/
guest@porteus:~$

Ed
- brokenman
- Site Admin
- Posts: 6104
- Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
- Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
- Location: Brazil
- Contact:
Re: Wishlist for porteus 3.1
Confirmed ... working with both UUID and LABEL.
I had pointed it to a folder full of slackware packages.
I had pointed it to a folder full of slackware packages.

How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
- Ed_P
- Contributor
- Posts: 7670
- Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
- Distribution: Cinnamon 5.0 ISO
- Location: Western NY, USA
Re: Wishlist for porteus 3.1
Very clever code guys.Rava wrote:Off Topic... (kinda)I wonder, which code is more streamlined, tome's above or mine:tome wrote:it would be better than uuid because it is the same for all devices (uuids are different), I miss it (or similar) in PorteusCode: Select all
# Get booting device and link to it bdev=`grep -A1 "Booting" /var/log/porteus-livedbg|tail -n1|sed 's^//^/^g'` pdat=${bdev} ln -sf $pdat /mnt/bootdevice
Code: Select all
awk 'c-->0;/Booting device:/{c=1}' /var/log/porteus-livedbg


I've got so much to learn.
Ed
-
- Full of knowledge
- Posts: 2564
- Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
- Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
- Location: London
Re: Wishlist for porteus 3.1
Forcible Deactivation
Didn't get much joy as a question: http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=81&t=3947
But as a wish?
All the more so relevant, following upon the request for bundled modules.
Didn't get much joy as a question: http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=81&t=3947
But as a wish?
All the more so relevant, following upon the request for bundled modules.

Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB
- brokenman
- Site Admin
- Posts: 6104
- Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
- Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
- Location: Brazil
- Contact:
Re: Wishlist for porteus 3.1
I guess the only way to deactivate the module in use is to forcefully kill the process in use. The hard part is finding said process in all scenarios.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
- fanthom
- Moderator Team
- Posts: 5588
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
- Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
- Location: Poland
- Contact:
Re: Wishlist for porteus 3.1
@Bogomips
run 'init 3' in terminal -> login as root -> deactivate module -> run 'init 4'
if that wont work then only reboot.
run 'init 3' in terminal -> login as root -> deactivate module -> run 'init 4'
if that wont work then only reboot.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.
-
- Full of knowledge
- Posts: 2564
- Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
- Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
- Location: London
Re: Wishlist for porteus 3.1
Even when it works, it is still somewhat of a disruption of workflow. Last time got into an endless kgreeter loopfanthom wrote:run 'init 3' in terminal -> login as root -> deactivate module -> run 'init 4'
if that wont work then only reboot.

Well, as they say, it takes two to tango. So in short term might be easier to achieve user side. As it's normally a bundle scenario, then all that's required is to explode last package added, go through it and construct list of library files, then iterate against output of lsof, using maybe shellscript or awk, to get list of processes to kill, which should do the trick? 8)brokenman wrote:I guess the only way to deactivate the module in use is to forcefully kill the process in use. The hard part is finding said process in all scenarios.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB
- Rava
- Contributor
- Posts: 4650
- Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
- Distribution: XFCE 5.0 x86_64 + 4.0 i586
- Location: Forests of Germany
Re: Wishlist for porteus 3.1
That is the neat thing with shell scripting, it always starts easy, and can get more and more complex, but the results also get more and more awesome...Ed_P wrote:Very clever code guys.Thanks.
![]()
I've got so much to learn.
But it took me a while to get that snipped of code working as I needed it, it was not done and finished in just some seconds. I just am currently not coding as much as I used to do, just my own little scripts once in a while... and you get rusty when not coding... RL has it's toll on me, like it has on all of us....
Sadly, I got no reply on that part:
Rava wrote:I wonder, which code is more streamlined, tome's above or mine:

Or did I just miss that answer?
Cause I really am thrilled to learn which snipped is the better one, and especially: why.
(Or maybe an even better 3rd solution, or a mixed solution that has parts of his and parts of my code that takes the cake, streamlined / efficiency-wise)
___________________________________________
Back on topic: I wish the names of modules all to have 3 numbers. Like the main module have, starting from 000.
E.g. 05-devel.xzm 06-abiword.xzm or 07-printing.xzm are breaking that naming convention. Why not name them something that fits in that "nnn-" scheme, "n" meaning here a "number", of course.
Cheers!
Yours Rava
Yours Rava
-
- Full of knowledge
- Posts: 2564
- Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
- Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
- Location: London
Re: Wishlist for porteus 3.1
Modified Wish
A deactivate that takes as an argument a file with a list of PIDs to kill, before attempting deactivation.
A deactivate that takes as an argument a file with a list of PIDs to kill, before attempting deactivation.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB
- Rava
- Contributor
- Posts: 4650
- Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
- Distribution: XFCE 5.0 x86_64 + 4.0 i586
- Location: Forests of Germany
Re: Wishlist for porteus 3.1
Modified Bogomips Wish:
Deactivate like now, with naming the processes that still use the module, but with added PID to kill of someone wants to do so. With warning in bold and red that killing programs could cause system instability, data loss and that jazz...
Deactivate like now, with naming the processes that still use the module, but with added PID to kill of someone wants to do so. With warning in bold and red that killing programs could cause system instability, data loss and that jazz...
Cheers!
Yours Rava
Yours Rava