Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
-
baszek
- White ninja
- Posts: 17
- Joined: 29 Apr 2014, 04:54
- Distribution: porteus 3
- Location: Poland
Post#1
by baszek » 30 Jul 2014, 12:04
Hello - I have installed lubuntu and there was no option to boot porteus (it is newest 3.0).
So I added this in /etc/grub.d/40_custom
Code: Select all
#!/bin/sh
exec tail -n +3 $0
menuentry "porteus" {
set root=(hd0,6) #it is installed on 6th partition - sda6 ext4
linux /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz
initrd /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
}
after grub-update I have entry porteus, but it is not booting anyway. What did I do wrong ? Menuentry looks fine.
baszek
-
brokenman
- Site Admin
- Posts: 6105
- Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
- Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
- Location: Brazil
Post#2
by brokenman » 30 Jul 2014, 14:27
hd0,0 = sda1
hd0,1 = sda2
therefore hd0,5 = sda6
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
brokenman
-
baszek
- White ninja
- Posts: 17
- Joined: 29 Apr 2014, 04:54
- Distribution: porteus 3
- Location: Poland
Post#3
by baszek » 30 Jul 2014, 14:35
Changed to hd0,5 but it is not working also.
baszek
-
fanthom
- Moderator Team
- Posts: 5667
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
- Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
- Location: Poland
-
Contact:
Post#4
by fanthom » 30 Jul 2014, 14:38
please show me a full path to the *.sgn file in your /porteus directory.
thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.
fanthom
-
francois
- Contributor
- Posts: 6445
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
- Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
- Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.
Post#6
by francois » 30 Jul 2014, 21:37
Please give us the output of:
Code: Select all
cd /mnt/sda6/boot
ls > output_of_boot_dir.txt
and simultaneously have a try on adding the from cheatcode, replace:
by
Code: Select all
linux /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=/dev/sda6
then from lubuntu:
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.
francois
-
baszek
- White ninja
- Posts: 17
- Joined: 29 Apr 2014, 04:54
- Distribution: porteus 3
- Location: Poland
Post#7
by baszek » 31 Jul 2014, 22:13
My sda6 partition is mounted in:
Code: Select all
/media/agent007/eb6f610f-e98e-cf01-0069-610fe98ecf01
output of
ls > output_of_boot_dir.txt from sda6 is:
and from sda6/boot:
Code: Select all
docs
Porteus-installer-for-Linux.com
Porteus-installer-for-Windows.exe
syslinux
My /etc/grub.d/40_custom file looks like this now:
Code: Select all
#!/bin/sh
exec tail -n +3 $0
menuentry "porteus" {
set root=(hd0, 5)
linux /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=/dev/sda6
initrd /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
}
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries. Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment. Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
P.S still not working
baszek
-
beny
- Full of knowledge
- Posts: 2244
- Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
- Location: italy
Post#8
by beny » 31 Jul 2014, 22:50
a question you have vmlinuz and initrd inside syslinux folder? sorry i have open an iso and i have the answer,but if you can do a fdisk -l in console maybe you have a picture of your partitions and a standalone system is ok for the boot loader but two disk with boot flag,you have a lot of problems
beny
-
baszek
- White ninja
- Posts: 17
- Joined: 29 Apr 2014, 04:54
- Distribution: porteus 3
- Location: Poland
Post#9
by baszek » 31 Jul 2014, 23:05
beny wrote:a question you have vmlinuz and initrd inside syslinux folder?
yes, I have.
and this is fdisk -l output:
Code: Select all
Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 63 35162172 17581055 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda2 35164158 78139391 21487617 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 35164160 68091894 16463867+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda6 * 68093952 76292095 4099072 b W95 FAT32
/dev/sda7 76294144 78139391 922624 82 Linux swap / Solaris
baszek
-
beny
- Full of knowledge
- Posts: 2244
- Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
- Location: italy
Post#10
by beny » 31 Jul 2014, 23:40
so the boot is on fat32 partition? i think fanthom have the answer for this,my usb keys boot with lilo ad a slackware with extlinux on hd
set root=(hd0, 5) it is correct or you have a space more from 0 to 5
beny
-
Ed_P
- Contributor
- Posts: 8747
- Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
- Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
- Location: Western NY, USA
Post#11
by Ed_P » 01 Aug 2014, 15:40
baszek your sda5 is a Logical partition rather than a Primary. That could be the problem. Logicals are usually non-bootable.
Ed_P
-
router
- White ninja
- Posts: 18
- Joined: 02 Aug 2014, 02:22
- Distribution: Porteus 3 and pclinuxOS
- Location: usa
Post#12
by router » 02 Aug 2014, 15:11
disagree, my pclinux and my porteus are quite happily booting from logicals
root@porteus:/home/guest# fdisk -l
Disk /dev/sda: 60.0 GB, 60011642880 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 7296 cylinders, total 117210240 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x17e917e9
Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 2048 81922047 40960000 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda2 81931500 117210239 17639370 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 81931563 100309859 9189148+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda6 100309923 102350114 1020096 82 Linux swap
/dev/sda7 * 102350178 117210239 7430031 83 Linux
i'm not that knowledgeable on grub and grub2 but either one of them if it can see the partition contents, and therefore the boot images in it, it can boot it
i'm too tired and spacey right now but when my mind is more clear i can look at this and maybe have an answer, if one hasn't been already found
router
-
Ed_P
- Contributor
- Posts: 8747
- Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
- Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
- Location: Western NY, USA
Post#13
by Ed_P » 02 Aug 2014, 20:09
router wrote:i'm not that knowledgeable on grub and grub2 but either one of them if it can see the partition contents, and therefore the boot images in it, it can boot it
Me either but I agree.
Try (hd0,3) instead of (hd0,5)
baszek. And if that doesn't work in grub go to command mode and enter:
root (hd0, plus the Tab key. This will list the drive's partitions as grub sees them. And while in command mode try:
find /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz
Ed_P
-
tome
- Contributor
- Posts: 682
- Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
- Distribution: x64 Openbox
- Location: Russia is causing the immense damage to humanity
-
Contact:
Post#14
by tome » 02 Aug 2014, 21:06
@brokenman
hd0,0 = sda1
hd0,1 = sda2
therefore hd0,5 = sda6
- wrong, it is valid for grub4dos and probably for grub legacy
@baszek
Edit manually (be careful) your grub.cfg file (/etc/boot/grub or similar path) and replace your code with my:
Code: Select all
#exec tail -n +3 $0
menuentry "porteus" {
search --no-floppy --file --set=root /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz
#or eventually use path to your .sgn file inside porteus directory
linux /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz
#add from=... cheatcode if needed
initrd /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
}
You have mind and feelings. Be wise and clever.
tome
-
Ed_P
- Contributor
- Posts: 8747
- Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
- Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
- Location: Western NY, USA
Post#15
by Ed_P » 02 Aug 2014, 21:44
set =root is an excellent idea
tome. I didn't know grub had that. (Grub4DOS does.) But doesn't it conflict with the
from=/dev/sda6 option that you just deleted.
We cross posted.
Ed_P