Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
-
timcowchip
- White ninja

- Posts: 5
- Joined: 02 Jul 2014, 04:11
- Distribution: 3.0
- Location: in a van down by the river
Post#1
by timcowchip » 03 Jul 2014, 04:01
I'm trying Porteus because I want to help speed up loading web pages and all the crap contained therein without having to temporarily store everything on my hdd. So I'm using the "copy2ram" option. I would like to have my mozilla profile persist thru a reboot. I think this can be accomplished by making a module from my ~/.mozilla folder.
I tried
Code: Select all
dir2xzm .mozilla / /mnt/sda1/porteus/modules/08-.mozilla.xzm
. A module was created, it copies to ram during boot. When I attempt to activate it, dialog says its already activated. Yet, no login cookies are saved in my mozilla profile.
Am I doing this the wrong way or am I asking too much, to run Porteus in ram and have some small amount of persistence thru a reboot.
timcowchip
-
fanthom
- Moderator Team

- Posts: 5588
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
- Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
- Location: Poland
-
Contact:
Post#2
by fanthom » 03 Jul 2014, 08:18
hi timcowchip,
you have created the module incorrectly. it will show up in live fs as /.mozilla while you need it in /home/guest/.mozilla.
please refer to our documentation how to create modules properly:
http://www.porteus.org/component/conten ... dules.html
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.
fanthom
-
timcowchip
- White ninja

- Posts: 5
- Joined: 02 Jul 2014, 04:11
- Distribution: 3.0
- Location: in a van down by the river
Post#3
by timcowchip » 03 Jul 2014, 19:09
I tried following the instructions here :
http://www.porteus.org/component/conten ... dules.html
Code: Select all
mkdir -p /tmp/fakeRoot/home/guest
cp -R /home/guest /tmp/fakeroot/home/guest
dir2xzm /tmp/fakeRoot /mnt/sda1/porteus/modules/guest.xzm
I couldn't log in as guest after that. I'm guessing that I need to put the module somewhere else like ~/Desktop/guest.xzm then activate it after logging in as guest instead of have it load and activate at boot.
Last edited by
timcowchip on 03 Jul 2014, 20:09, edited 2 times in total.
timcowchip
-
Ed_P
- Contributor

- Posts: 7671
- Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
- Distribution: Cinnamon 5.0 ISO
- Location: Western NY, USA
Post#4
by Ed_P » 03 Jul 2014, 19:24
[quote="timcowchip"]
Code: Select all
cp -R /home/guest /tmp/fakeroot/home/guest
fakeroot
and
Code: Select all
dir2xzm /tmp/fakeRoot /mnt/sda1/porteus/modules
fakeRoot
are not referencing the same folder. Linux file/folder names are case sensitive.
Ed
Ed_P
-
timcowchip
- White ninja

- Posts: 5
- Joined: 02 Jul 2014, 04:11
- Distribution: 3.0
- Location: in a van down by the river
Post#5
by timcowchip » 03 Jul 2014, 19:46
Thanks Ed. I made the typo when posting, not on the command line.

timcowchip
-
timcowchip
- White ninja

- Posts: 5
- Joined: 02 Jul 2014, 04:11
- Distribution: 3.0
- Location: in a van down by the river
Post#6
by timcowchip » 03 Jul 2014, 20:08
I did, however, make other typos on the command line.
Code: Select all
cp -R /home/guest /tmp/fakeRoot/home/guest
should have been
Code: Select all
cp -R /home/guest /tmp/fakeRoot/home
Everything works as it should. The /home/guest folder is as it was when I made the module from it.
timcowchip
-
Ed_P
- Contributor

- Posts: 7671
- Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
- Distribution: Cinnamon 5.0 ISO
- Location: Western NY, USA
Post#7
by Ed_P » 03 Jul 2014, 20:15
timcowchip wrote:I would like to have my mozilla profile persist thru a reboot. I think this can be accomplished by making a module from my ~/.mozilla folder.
I tried
Code: Select all
dir2xzm .mozilla / /mnt/sda1/porteus/modules/08-.mozilla.xzm
.
hmmmmm
Try
Code: Select all
dir2xzm /home/guest/.mozilla/firefox /mnt/sda1/porteus/modules/firefox.xzm
I have not tried this myself but I think it should work. And if it doesn't it shouldn't stop you from logging on.
BTW Firefox signons are stored in the signons.sqlite file.
Ed
Ed_P
-
francois
- Contributor

- Posts: 6301
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
- Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
- Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.
Post#8
by francois » 03 Jul 2014, 22:17
You need the changes cheatcode as instructions in your bootloader, see:
http://www.porteus.org/component/conten ... -them.html
What architecture and what desktop environment are you using?
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.
francois
-
Ed_P
- Contributor

- Posts: 7671
- Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
- Distribution: Cinnamon 5.0 ISO
- Location: Western NY, USA
Post#9
by Ed_P » 03 Jul 2014, 23:31
We cross posted before timcowchip.
If you're making a module of the whole /home folder you should consider switching from the extramods= cheatcode to the changes= one as francois suggested. It's easier to maintain that way than manually making modules all the time.
Ed
Ed_P
-
timcowchip
- White ninja

- Posts: 5
- Joined: 02 Jul 2014, 04:11
- Distribution: 3.0
- Location: in a van down by the river
Post#10
by timcowchip » 04 Jul 2014, 00:22
I have tried the "changes=" way and it works very well, but I was looking for a way to run everything in ram to speed up things. I am using Razor-Qt on an Intel Atom D510 x86_64 with 2G of ram. Its netbook hardware but the ram is adequate for loading a few modules.
timcowchip
-
francois
- Contributor

- Posts: 6301
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
- Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
- Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.
Post#11
by francois » 04 Jul 2014, 02:09
I don't see why you can't use both copy2ram and changes cheatcodes simultaneously!
Also, have a look at panel menu > system > porteus setting center > diskette icon. There are many solutions there.
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.
francois
-
Ed_P
- Contributor

- Posts: 7671
- Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
- Distribution: Cinnamon 5.0 ISO
- Location: Western NY, USA
Post#12
by Ed_P » 04 Jul 2014, 03:50
timcowchip wrote:I have tried the "changes=" way and it works very well, but I was looking for a way to run everything in ram to speed up things. I am using Razor-Qt on an Intel Atom D510 x86_64 with 2G of ram. Its netbook hardware but the ram is adequate for loading a few modules.
I'm running Razor-Qt on a 2G of ram netbook also. I guess it depends on what works best for you.
Ed
Ed_P
-
fanthom
- Moderator Team

- Posts: 5588
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
- Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
- Location: Poland
-
Contact:
Post#13
by fanthom » 04 Jul 2014, 07:31
I couldn't log in as guest after that.
because you messed up permissions (created /home/guest as root). use this:
mkdir -p /tmp/fakeRoot
cp -a --parents /home/guest/.mozilla /tmp/fakeroot/
dir2xzm /tmp/fakeRoot /mnt/sda1/porteus/modules/guest-mozilla.xzm
if you are not sure why '-a' and '--parents' then run:
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.
fanthom
-
Ed_P
- Contributor

- Posts: 7671
- Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
- Distribution: Cinnamon 5.0 ISO
- Location: Western NY, USA
Post#14
by Ed_P » 04 Jul 2014, 16:07
fanthom wrote:if you are not sure why '-a' and '--parents' then run:
Code: Select all
-a, --archive
same as -dR --preserve=all
--parents
use full source file name under DIRECTORY
Code: Select all
--preserve[=ATTR_LIST]
preserve the specified attributes (default:
mode,ownership,timestamps), if possible additional attributes:
context, links, xattr, all
I'm kinda surprised these aren't defaults.
Ed
Ed_P