How would a Porteus "Server Edition" look like?

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
User avatar
Posts: 1440
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: How would a Porteus "Server Edition" look like?

Post#16 by Rava » 09 Dec 2013, 06:00

mocabilly wrote:... what about good old SSH?
- Less overhead
- Less bandwidth required
- More secure
- Does not use third party services... -> more secure/stable & better up-time.

SSH just seems so obvious
I fully agree, ssh should be part of a Porteus "Server Edition".
Maybe with a setup GUI for creating and export or import the needed data to have the known and allowed PCs for ssh?

So far, I only know console based setups...
Yours Rava

Posts: 133
Joined: 06 Jul 2011, 07:07
Location: Russia

Re: How would a Porteus "Server Edition" look like?

Post#17 by Kriss » 19 Feb 2014, 03:29

I use virtual servers based on Porteus for some time now.
They have 000+001 in base and rc.sshd,rc.font,rc.keymap in rootcopy (and empty /etc/issue file to better see boot messages)
Servers that are working at the moment:
xmpp (prosody + lua)
http(s) (nginx + php + misc) (sometimes php-cgi process crashes and I have to restart it)
domain controller (samba4 + misc)
old fileshare (samba3).

I can upload them (stripped of private data) somewhere if this will help. They're far from being ideal, but they're working.

Here's my 2 cents (although I think this is mostly relevant to virtual servers):
I check sda1 for necessary files in rc.local because usually that's the only drive I add to my virtual machine. But checking for drive label would be better IMHO.
Main reason for me to use Porteus as a server is the fact that it consist of archives and a bunch of configuration files so I'm sure that only these config files can be the source of the problem. And to prevent further problems I use ISO files.
Sometimes I add checks in rc.local to execute commands (also for ssl certificates and to copying additional files from /conf/rootcopy) from "/mnt/sda1/conf" to be able to tune server in the future. This way in case of problems I can always wipe data disk and get fully operational clean server. Probably checking for partition labeled "config" would be better...
Suggestions/corrections/additions are always welcome.

Post Reply