locale won't set to fr_FR

Post bug reports related to either the kiosk ISO or the kiosk wizard here.
Post Reply
wsteven
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 40
Joined: 21 Aug 2013, 10:01
Distribution: lubuntu
Location: Rennes

locale won't set to fr_FR

Post#1 by wsteven » 22 Aug 2013, 15:00

Hello,

I did set locale to fr with the wizard, but I still get a qwerty keyboard. Modifying manually /etc/profile.d/lang.sh with

Code: Select all

export LANG=fr_FR
didn't help :(

Any idea?
Thanks,
Steven

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5324
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: locale won't set to fr_FR

Post#2 by fanthom » 22 Aug 2013, 18:43

"I did set locale to fr with the wizard,"
i guess you meant keyboard layout?
i have tested it myself: ran kiosk wizard -> choosen 'fr' as kbd layout -> got 'azerty' when typed in the firefox address bar

the fault must be on your side. please try again.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

wsteven
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 40
Joined: 21 Aug 2013, 10:01
Distribution: lubuntu
Location: Rennes

Re: locale won't set to fr_FR

Post#3 by wsteven » 23 Aug 2013, 07:43

Thanks for your answer fanthom. I tested again, what is funny is that kbd layout is indeed correct in firefox. But not with system shell, if I switch with ctrl-alt-f1 I'm back with the US layout.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5324
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: locale won't set to fr_FR

Post#4 by fanthom » 23 Aug 2013, 09:42

kiosk wizard supports setting keyboard layout for GUI only (which covers 99.99% of cases).

if you want french kbd in console then you'll have to follow this doc:
http://docs.slackware.com/slackware:localization
and pay attention to setting the console font and keymaps chapter.

i'm sure that kiosk is missing many required files so heavy tweaking may be required.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

wsteven
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 40
Joined: 21 Aug 2013, 10:01
Distribution: lubuntu
Location: Rennes

Re: locale won't set to fr_FR

Post#5 by wsteven » 23 Aug 2013, 10:50

Ok then I'll pass this one :)
Thanks for the precise answer

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5891
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

Re: locale won't set to fr_FR

Post#6 by francois » 24 Aug 2013, 02:13

Bonjour wsteven:

In console mode did you try to use

Code: Select all

setxkbmap fr
Maybe putting this file in rootcopy could be enough for your needs. This is a long shot as I do not work on kiosk already. But maybe this weekend, as it might be helpful for the office.
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

wsteven
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 40
Joined: 21 Aug 2013, 10:01
Distribution: lubuntu
Location: Rennes

Re: locale won't set to fr_FR

Post#7 by wsteven » 26 Aug 2013, 08:23

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# setxkbmap fr
Cannot open display "default display"
Thanks for your concern, but no luck ;)

Post Reply