I ran the kiosk wizard, choosing to disable screensaver , but after 10 or 15mins of inactivity the screen goes blank - this seems to be the default behaviour in many distros.
How can I stop that from happening?
Disabling Screensaver doesn't work
Forum rules
Porteus Kiosk section of the forum is unmaintained now. Its kept in a 'read only' mode for archival purposes.
Please use the kiosk contact page for directing your queries: https://porteus-kiosk.org/contact.html
Porteus Kiosk section of the forum is unmaintained now. Its kept in a 'read only' mode for archival purposes.
Please use the kiosk contact page for directing your queries: https://porteus-kiosk.org/contact.html
-
- White ninja
- Posts: 12
- Joined: 24 Mar 2013, 20:40
- Distribution: Ubuntu
- Location: Estonia
- Ahau
- King of Docs
- Posts: 1331
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
- Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
- Location: USA
Re: Disabling Screensaver doesn't work
If you have access to a terminal inside your kiosk, run:
and among the output you should see something like this:
Also check the DPMS settings there. You should be able to disable the screensaver with:
and turn off all dpms settings with:
see 'man xset' for more tips/options.
I haven't used kiosk much myself so I'm not sure if this would be the best solution (maybe fanthom or brokenman can jump in here) but I imagine you could write a script, such as /opt/noscreensaver, which would run the xset commands to disable the power settings you want off, and then add a .desktop file to the autostart directory for your user (or /etc/xdg/autostart for all users) that runs your /opt/noscreensaver script whenever x loads.
For some reason, at least some of the desktop environment power management tools seem to handle their settings independently of those you manage with xset, and I'm not really sure why that is. I've been meaning to look into it but other things have distracted me
Code: Select all
xset q
Code: Select all
Screen Saver:
prefer blanking: yes allow exposures: yes
timeout: 600 cycle: 600
Code: Select all
xset s off
Code: Select all
xset -dpms
I haven't used kiosk much myself so I'm not sure if this would be the best solution (maybe fanthom or brokenman can jump in here) but I imagine you could write a script, such as /opt/noscreensaver, which would run the xset commands to disable the power settings you want off, and then add a .desktop file to the autostart directory for your user (or /etc/xdg/autostart for all users) that runs your /opt/noscreensaver script whenever x loads.
For some reason, at least some of the desktop environment power management tools seem to handle their settings independently of those you manage with xset, and I'm not really sure why that is. I've been meaning to look into it but other things have distracted me
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!
- brokenman
- Site Admin
- Posts: 6105
- Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
- Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
- Location: Brazil
Re: Disabling Screensaver doesn't work
Code: Select all
sed -i '/setterm/s/^/# /' $ktmp/003/etc/rc.d/rc.M
sed -i 's^/usr/sbin/acpid^#/usr/sbin/acpid^g' $ktmp/003/etc/rc.d/rc.M
It is disabling acpid and using setterm to disable.
During the wizard creation you can open a separate console (after screensaver option) and delve into /tmp/kiosk-creator/003 and add whatever you need to the file structure. You can enter an 003/etc/xdg/autostart command, an rc.local file or .desktop file.
EDIT: Fanthom has pointed out that xset is not available in the stock ISO so this would need to be added before adding the call in rc.M
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
-
- White ninja
- Posts: 10
- Joined: 12 Aug 2013, 08:31
- Distribution: Kiosk Edition 2.1
- Location: Switzerland
Re: Disabling Screensaver doesn't work
Sorry for my Nooby-Question..
Which file i have to change that this may work?
Which file i have to change that this may work?
- fanthom
- Moderator Team
- Posts: 5667
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
- Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
- Location: Poland
- Contact:
Re: Disabling Screensaver doesn't work
this function is a part of 'power management' in 2.1 wizard so there is no need to enable it manually.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.
-
- White ninja
- Posts: 10
- Joined: 12 Aug 2013, 08:31
- Distribution: Kiosk Edition 2.1
- Location: Switzerland
Re: Disabling Screensaver doesn't work
Thank you for your feedback.
In the Wizard i chose to Disable DPMS.. Do I have to activate it?
In the Wizard i chose to Disable DPMS.. Do I have to activate it?
- fanthom
- Moderator Team
- Posts: 5667
- Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
- Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
- Location: Poland
- Contact:
Re: Disabling Screensaver doesn't work
yes - disabling DPMS is key.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.
Re: Disabling Screensaver doesn't work
I choose Disable DPMS in the wizard, but the screen goes blank after a few minutes...
Want to confirm, do i need to choose that option, or just use the default?
Want to confirm, do i need to choose that option, or just use the default?