grub2 menu entry

Non release banter
johnywhy
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 108
Joined: 29 Mar 2017, 17:26
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Cali

grub2 menu entry

Post#61 by johnywhy » 31 Aug 2018, 00:55

well i got it working with a mod of your grub.

Code: Select all

     set linux_folder=/porteus-iso
     set iso=$linux_folder/Porteus-XFCE-v4.0-x86_64.iso
     set extramods="extramod="
menuentry "Ed's Porteus 4.0 ISO" {
     set boot_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold $extramods$linux_folder/modules"
     search -f $iso --set=root
     loopback loop $iso
     linux  (loop)/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=$iso $boot_parms
     initrd (loop)/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
     }
then, create the save-file in Porteus system tools, reboot.
then append to boot_parms:

Code: Select all

¨changes=EXIT:$linux_folder/porteussave.dat¨
Thx for that!

i found out i cannot apply Porteus updates to an iso boot.
Any workaround?

THX

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7672
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.0 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

grub2 menu entry

Post#62 by Ed_P » 31 Aug 2018, 01:26

johnywhy wrote:
31 Aug 2018, 00:55
well i got it working with a mod of your grub.
:Yahoo!:
i found out i cannot apply Porteus updates to an iso boot.
Any workaround?
What kind of updates? Browsers? USM files?
Ed

johnywhy
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 108
Joined: 29 Mar 2017, 17:26
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Cali

grub2 menu entry

Post#63 by johnywhy » 31 Aug 2018, 02:25

i believe it's OS, or system-wide, updates, from system menu

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7672
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.0 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

grub2 menu entry

Post#64 by Ed_P » 31 Aug 2018, 03:11

:%) Still not sure what you are referring to. Menu>Administration>Browser Selection and Update Tool?

If so, you create xzm modules with the updates and add them to a Modules folder outside of the ISO then tweak the startup parameters to include the extramods= cheatcode. Look at my 2nd menu.

Code: Select all

set boot_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold $extramods$linux_folder/Modules
Some of my Porteus 4.0 folders that may appeal to you.

Code: Select all

/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Optional/
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/changes/
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/misc/

guest@porteus:~$ ls -d /mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/changes/*.dat
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/changes/porteusave-bkupcopy.dat*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/changes/porteussave.dat*

guest@porteus:~$ ls -d /mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/*.xzm
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/003-jssouza-180702.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/007-printing-x86_64-2018-02-23.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/AisleRiot-3.22.4-x86_64-don.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/firefox-52.9.0esr-x86_64-1.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/flashplayer-plugin-30.0.0.154-x86_64-1.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/jre-8u181-x86_64-1.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/qt-4.8.7-x86_64-6.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/tightvnc-1.3.10-x86_64-1_slonly.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/xmahjongg-3.7-x86_64-don.xzm*
Ed

johnywhy
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 108
Joined: 29 Mar 2017, 17:26
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Cali

grub2 menu entry

Post#65 by johnywhy » 31 Aug 2018, 04:08

will get back on that. Meantime, lost network
- i turned off networking in startup config,
- rebooted
- no nm-applet in panel
- i turned on networking in startup config,
- rebooted
- still no nm-applet in panel
:crazy:

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7672
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.0 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

grub2 menu entry

Post#66 by Ed_P » 31 Aug 2018, 04:15

We cross posted. I was updating my post as you posted.

As for the network problem, delete the porteussave.dat file, create a new one, and start over.

The advantage of ISO booting, the ability to start over when you screw up. :D
Ed

johnywhy
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 108
Joined: 29 Mar 2017, 17:26
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Cali

grub2 menu entry

Post#67 by johnywhy » 31 Aug 2018, 04:18

recovered net by typing nm-applet at command prompt.
it auto-connected, then on reboot connected again.
no need to delete autosave.

for update, go to system > porteus settings centre > porteus updater

johnywhy
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 108
Joined: 29 Mar 2017, 17:26
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Cali

grub2 menu entry

Post#68 by johnywhy » 31 Aug 2018, 04:48


User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7672
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.0 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

grub2 menu entry

Post#69 by Ed_P » 31 Aug 2018, 05:38

johnywhy wrote:
31 Aug 2018, 04:18
recovered net by typing nm-applet at command prompt.
it auto-connected, then on reboot connected again.
no need to delete autosave.
:good:
for update, go to system > porteus settings centre > porteus updater
Ok. :) But the 4.0 ISOs are dated after the 2 updates you linked to, so the "updates" are included in the ISO.

I've included those type of updates, 00*- files, in my Modules folder when I needed to. There is also the option of rebuilding an ISO.
Ed

User avatar
amplatfus
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 153
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 14:55
Distribution: MATE Porteus-v5.0rc1
Location: Romania

grub2 menu entry

Post#70 by amplatfus » 01 Sep 2018, 17:35

Ed_P wrote:
31 Aug 2018, 03:11
:%) Still not sure what you are referring to. Menu>Administration>Browser Selection and Update Tool?

If so, you create xzm modules with the updates and add them to a Modules folder outside of the ISO then tweak the startup parameters to include the extramods= cheatcode. Look at my 2nd menu.

Code: Select all

set boot_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold $extramods$linux_folder/Modules
Some of my Porteus 4.0 folders that may appeal to you.

Code: Select all

/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Optional/
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/changes/
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/misc/

guest@porteus:~$ ls -d /mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/changes/*.dat
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/changes/porteusave-bkupcopy.dat*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/changes/porteussave.dat*

guest@porteus:~$ ls -d /mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/*.xzm
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/003-jssouza-180702.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/007-printing-x86_64-2018-02-23.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/AisleRiot-3.22.4-x86_64-don.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/firefox-52.9.0esr-x86_64-1.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/flashplayer-plugin-30.0.0.154-x86_64-1.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/jre-8u181-x86_64-1.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/qt-4.8.7-x86_64-6.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/tightvnc-1.3.10-x86_64-1_slonly.xzm*
/mnt/sda6/porteus4.0/Modules/xmahjongg-3.7-x86_64-don.xzm*
Hi,
Please, where I could find flashplayer-plugin-30.0.0.154-x86_64-1.xzm?
In the downloaded ISO I cannot find it.

Thank you in advance,
amplatfus
Porteus-v5.0. rc1 MATE. Thank you all dev team and @Blaze for helping to configure it, thanks to entire Porteus community members for great topics.
Kernel: 000-kernel-5.4.8,xzm

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7672
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.0 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

grub2 menu entry

Post#71 by Ed_P » 01 Sep 2018, 18:24

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: 
root@porteus:/home/guest# update-flash
[OK] User is root
[OK] Distro is Porteus
[OK] Flash is installed

[OK] Internet connection exists
Downloading live script ...
Downloading: update-flash-live  DONE
/usr/local/bin/update-flash-live: line 63: warning: command substitution: ignored null byte in input

Searching online for latest flash player version ...

Installed version:	30.0.0.154-
Latest version:		30.0.0.154

 Would you like to continue? [y/n]
Put the xzm module in your modules folder.
Ed

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6311
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

grub2 menu entry

Post#72 by francois » 08 May 2019, 00:56

Booting from iso for xubuntu to be added to /mnt/sda2/etc/grub.d/custom_40 with toram:

Code: Select all

menuentry "Ubuntu 18.04.2 LTS ISO" {
         set isofile="/1_isos/xubuntu-18.04.2-desktop-i386.iso"
         # or set isofile="/<username>/Downloads/ubuntu-12.04-desktop-i386.iso"
         # if you use a single partition for your $HOME
         loopback loop (hd0,1)$isofile
         linux (loop)/casper/vmlinuz boot=casper iso-scan/filename=$isofile noprompt noeject toram
         initrd (loop)/casper/initrd.lz
 }
}
And as kubuntu old is already on sda2:

Code: Select all

mount /dev/sda2 /mnt

mount --bind /dev /mnt/dev  &&
mount --bind /dev/pts /mnt/dev/pts &&
mount --bind /proc /mnt/proc && 
mount --bind /sys /mnt/sys

chroot /mnt

update-grub
Generating grub configuration file ...
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-4.4.0-142-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-4.4.0-142-generic
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-4.4.0-97-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-4.4.0-97-generic
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-4.4.0-96-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-4.4.0-96-generic
Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.elf
Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.bin
done
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6311
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

grub2 menu entry

Post#73 by francois » 02 Oct 2020, 13:49

In the first post, there was no umount procedure to get out of a chroot mounted partition in ubuntu or debian. Based on the following link post #4, here it is:
https://unix.stackexchange.com/question ... filesystem

Code: Select all

exit
cd/
umount /mnt/dev/pts
umount /mnt/dev/
umount /mnt/proc/
umount /mnt/sys/
umount /mnt/
This will bring you back to your original partition and file structure setting antecedent to the chroot procedure.
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

benjibasson
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 75
Joined: 06 Mar 2019, 15:14
Distribution: Arch linux

grub2 menu entry

Post#74 by benjibasson » 13 Oct 2022, 20:13

Hi
I have extracted Porteus V5 to /home/benjamin/Porteus on sda6 Ubuntu
I have fill /etc/grub.d/40_custom by

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
exec tail -n +3 $0
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
title porteus  on sda6 xfce 
root (hd0,5)
kernel /home/benjamin/Porteus/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=/home/benjamin/Porteus>
initrd /home/benjamin/Porteus/64bit_v30/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
boot
I have done grube update and unfortunaly it doesn't assume /etc/grub.d/40_custom

Code: Select all

benjamin@benjamin-LIFEBOOK-A530:~$ sudo update-grub2

Code: Select all

Sourcing file `/etc/default/grub'
Sourcing file `/etc/default/grub.d/init-select.cfg'
Generating grub configuration file ...
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-5.15.0-48-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-5.15.0-48-generic
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-5.15.0-41-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-5.15.0-41-generic
Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.elf
Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.bin
Warning: os-prober will be executed to detect other bootable partitions.
Its output will be used to detect bootable binaries on them and create new boot entries.
Found Windows 10 on /dev/sda1
done

How can I be launch Porteus on my internal drive with grub?

Cheers

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7672
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.0 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

grub2 menu entry

Post#75 by Ed_P » 14 Oct 2022, 05:38

Hello benji.

I rarely specify a value for root. Different systems count partitions differently as such I would replace your

Code: Select all

root (hd0,5)
with

Code: Select all

search -f "/home/benjamin/Porteus/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz" --set=root

And on my Windows systems I install Grub2Win to support and maintain my grub2 menus.
Ed

Post Reply