Install porteus1.2 on USB flash as portable OS

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
wayne128
White ninja
White ninja

Install porteus1.2 on USB flash as portable OS

Post#1 by wayne128 » 22 Oct 2012, 05:03

Greeting,
This is my first time trying Porteus.
What I was looking for is a very fast portable OS for standard USB flash, I wish to use it for demo purpose to would be windows OS converts as well as just for fun on learning Linux.

Here is just a short story on my adventure.
Downloaded porteus 1.2 xfce iso, formatted a 4G USB flash with fat32, used unetbootin to write iso to USB flash, upon rebooting and selecting boot from USB,
It works out of the box, boot time is short :D

After playing for a while, I can say it is very fast :D

As those people around me using windows are using various browsers, firefox, chrome, opera and safari, so I just want to install all of them for demonstration to them.

There is a long download for opera module and many dependencies, anyway this is my first time navigating porteus so I am not familiar with it, I have not yet spent enough time learning thru FAQ etc. So please excuse me and don't drive me away.

Finally opera works!! :D
The only issue is, when I shutdown and reboot, opera icon 'disappeared' but when I click on my desktop with opera's xzm file, the icon becomes alive and it works :D

Next is to install chrome, and it is easy from the package manager..
however, when I select to run chrome, the browser window flashes for one second and disappear :(

So I tried a few more times, looking for other version from Slackware repos..
The same thing happened, installation was successful , but browser window opened for a brief second and disappeared.

Then I tried another browser, Seamonkey, no issue to install, no issue to run.
Well, one pleasant surprise after this Seamonkey installation: now google chrome works!!
Why? I do not know, anyone cares to explain?