Wacom Bamboo Capture in kernel?

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
edge226
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 98
Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 23:55
Location: Canada

Re: Wacom Bamboo Capture in kernel?

Post#16 by edge226 » 12 Mar 2012, 23:08

@fanthom
The updates can be found at: https://sourceforge.net/mailarchive/for ... m-announce

Latest versions of xf86-input-wacom and input-wacom are all that is needed.

User avatar
fanthom
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5667
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Wacom Bamboo Capture in kernel?

Post#17 by fanthom » 16 Mar 2012, 08:05

@edge226
got it. will be included in rc2 of Porteus 1.2.
thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

edge226
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 98
Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 23:55
Location: Canada

[solved] Wacom Bamboo Capture in kernel?

Post#18 by edge226 » 16 Mar 2012, 20:30

@fanthom Great, hardware support is huge for new users switching over ;)

don570
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 99
Joined: 01 Jun 2012, 00:37
Location: Ontario

Re: Wacom Bamboo Capture in kernel?

Post#19 by don570 » 16 Jun 2012, 17:03

I own a wacom digitizing Bamboo tablet
The built-in driver worked without modification for me
with newest porteus 32 bit fxce version
All I had to do was set the Mtpaint preferences for
pressure and tools to screen..... and draw .

Image

_______________________________________________

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 4043
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: v5.0-64bit
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Wacom Bamboo Capture in kernel?

Post#20 by ncmprhnsbl » 26 Jun 2012, 00:47

i also own a wacom bamboo(older cte 450 so i had kernel support already).
thanks for including the newer driver and kde4 settings in rc2
working fine here(64bit) ....although the pad buttons settings were a bit funny... more investigation needed. ...used to not using em...
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

rych
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 685
Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 x64 OpenBox
Location: NZ
Contact:

Wacom Bamboo Capture in kernel?

Post#21 by rych » 25 Feb 2023, 02:24

Sorry, this seems the most relevant, although very old, Wacom thread, so I'll ask here:

Can I expect a plug and play support of all Wacom tablets in Porteus 5.0 on any kernel?

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 4043
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: v5.0-64bit
Location: australia
Contact:

Wacom Bamboo Capture in kernel?

Post#22 by ncmprhnsbl » 25 Feb 2023, 04:36

rych wrote:
25 Feb 2023, 02:24
Can I expect a plug and play support of all Wacom tablets in Porteus 5.0 on any kernel?
no guarantees, but generally speaking, yes. my eight year old intuos4 works fine.
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

rych
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 685
Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 x64 OpenBox
Location: NZ
Contact:

Wacom Bamboo Capture in kernel?

Post#23 by rych » 27 Feb 2023, 08:15

ncmprhnsbl wrote:
25 Feb 2023, 04:36
generally speaking, yes
OK, thanks! I got myself a tablet and plugged it (cold and hot): everything except pressure sensitivity seems to be recognized: pointer, buttons both on the pen and on the pad:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# lsusb | grep Wacom
Bus 001 Device 006: ID 056a:0376 Wacom Co.,Ltd. Intuos BT S
root@porteus:~# xsetwacom --list devices
Wacom Intuos BT S Pen stylus    	id: 10	type: STYLUS    
Wacom Intuos BT S Pad pad       	id: 11	type: PAD  
The next questions is: is there a GUI Settings app I could install? Also, how do I test/enable the pressure sensitivity? In GIMP it's not sensitive on any tool.

UPDATE: OK, found out how to enable it in Gimp. Which also means it's fully working at the driver/lib/system level. Then it seems every App will have its own enabling settings as per https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Graphics_tablet. But for example in MyPaint and xournalpp-1.1.1-x86_64-2gv.xzm (built with getmod) pressure sensitivity works out of box!

(I wonder if Javascript libraries in Firefox can use pressure sensitivity, would look cute on pages like https://www.kakimashou.com/dictionary/word/%E4%B8%80 etc. This seems to require some investigation, and is not worth it after all.)

Post Reply