Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Post Reply
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5140
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#1 by Ed_P » 16 Jun 2019, 20:06

Please post v5.0rc1 errors/bugs/problems here.
Ed

cchuang
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 40
Joined: 03 Jan 2011, 06:55
Location: Taiwan

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#2 by cchuang » 17 Jun 2019, 00:15

Great, long-time waiting since last version released. Where can I find 005-deve.xzm as previous versions? Thanks for your team!

cch

quotaholic
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 75
Joined: 15 May 2011, 16:20
Location: denver
Contact:

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#3 by quotaholic » 17 Jun 2019, 01:23

Nice release! I have RTL8821CE and also need 05-devel. Git too. Also kernel sources. Trackpad does not work. Its an Elan 1200. Shutdown seems to hang forever on deactivating volume groups as I have some lvms on local machine with f2fs partitions within.

jssouza
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1047
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 14:17
Distribution: Porteus x86 arm
Location: Liechtenstein

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#4 by jssouza » 17 Jun 2019, 01:38


AcnapyxoB
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 24
Joined: 24 Dec 2014, 10:15
Distribution: 4.0 XFCE x64
Location: Bulgaria

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#5 by AcnapyxoB » 17 Jun 2019, 05:02

Congratulations for new Porteus.
After booting v5.0rc1 all drives (HD, flash) are inaccessible for some time. Also Nemo in Cinnamon or Thunar in XFCE are unresponsive for same time!
Tested on two machines.

nanZor
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 185
Joined: 09 Apr 2019, 03:27
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 RC1 XFCE
Location: Los Angeles

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#6 by nanZor » 17 Jun 2019, 07:36

Awesome - testing out the XFCE4 version on 4 different machine right now.

But instead of just one long thread, should we make each bug an individual topic in a dedicated subforum? Make it easier to reference....

tbc...
That's a UNIX book - cool. -Garth

nanZor
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 185
Joined: 09 Apr 2019, 03:27
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 RC1 XFCE
Location: Los Angeles

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#7 by nanZor » 17 Jun 2019, 07:39

Boot splash inconsistent:

One of my boxes uses "legacy video" in bios, despite being UEFI enabled. What is weird, is on that one, I can see the current status of the login's, that is..

In the upper right, the boot splash details about using root : toor, and guest : guest. OK cool.

But on my other 3 boxes I'm testing with, I don't see this text in the upper right of the boot splash at all.
Interesting. Not a showstopper.
Last edited by nanZor on 17 Jun 2019, 07:47, edited 1 time in total.
That's a UNIX book - cool. -Garth

nanZor
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 185
Joined: 09 Apr 2019, 03:27
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 RC1 XFCE
Location: Los Angeles

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#8 by nanZor » 17 Jun 2019, 07:44

Video just stays black until I move and click the mouse - only on one box out of the 4 I am testing with.

I noticed that the video autoconfiguration takes a bit longer than usual on my 4 machines. But on one older Intel computestick that used to run Win 8.1 (circa 2015), after the initial boot, the screen stays dark forever.

UNTIL, I click and move the mouse to make it start thinking. After that, the screen gets autoconfigured and works. Again, only one machine, the older computestick, exhibits this seemingly endless black video delay until I tickle the mouse.

Note: This is unrelated to the older known issue of Intel Atom cpu's needing the special intel_idle.max_cstate=1 cheatcode.
Last edited by nanZor on 17 Jun 2019, 08:27, edited 1 time in total.
That's a UNIX book - cool. -Garth

raja
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 213
Joined: 02 May 2017, 09:51
Distribution: v3.2.2-32 and v5.0-rc1-zstd-64
Location: Chennai,India

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#9 by raja » 17 Jun 2019, 08:21

kernel sync error..panic! ISO boot

Please check whether vmlinuz,000-kernel,xzm inside ISO same as listed separately. in the d/l page.
Linux Kernel-4.4.120-32 bit; Linux kernel-5.2-64 bit.

nanZor
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 185
Joined: 09 Apr 2019, 03:27
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 RC1 XFCE
Location: Los Angeles

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#10 by nanZor » 17 Jun 2019, 08:23

LIVE USB creator tool no su gui found

Ok, the live usb creator brings up a message box wanting you to drop to the commandline as root to start the tool manually.

Yet other tools that need root access can be done by entering "toor" into the messagebox that pops up and continuing on immediately.

Is this a special security issue, or can we bring the simple message box warning and entering "toor" into it be ok for creating live-usb's like the other utilities?
That's a UNIX book - cool. -Garth

bour59
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 151
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 08:10
Distribution: porteus v4.0-xfce
Location: France

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#11 by bour59 » 17 Jun 2019, 13:40

hello thanks!
live usb create : Error illegal ISO file
... using xfce iso

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5140
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#12 by Ed_P » 17 Jun 2019, 17:14

The problem

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: 
root@porteus:/home/guest# slackyd -u

Repository: slackware [www.slackware.at]
`- Downloading FILELIST.TXT [File Not Found]             

Warning: cannot retreive all file (0/8). Trying next: nothing
The fix

Code: Select all

/etc/slackyd/slackyd.conf

Change this:
# Official mirror is too slow...
!repository ftp://ftp.slackware.com/pub/slackware/slackware64-13.37/

repository = http://www.slackware.at/data/slackware64-current/

To this:
# Official mirror is too slow...
repository ftp://ftp.slackware.com/pub/slackware/slackware64-13.37/

!repository = http://www.slackware.at/data/slackware64-current/
brokenman wrote:
17 Jun 2019, 18:37
@Ed_P don't do that. You uncommented slackware-13.37 which was even before slackware-14. Find another current mirror.

Thank you. :)

This seems to work for current.

Code: Select all

!repository = http://www.slackware.at/data/slackware64-current/

repository http://slack.conraid.net/repository/slackware64-current/
Last edited by Ed_P on 17 Jun 2019, 22:02, edited 1 time in total.
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6096
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#13 by brokenman » 17 Jun 2019, 18:37

@Ed_P don't do that. You uncommented slackware-13.37 which was even before slackware-14. Find another current mirror.

@nanZor you can invoke a su GUI by using pkexec. Even better use our own script.
/opt/porteus-scripts/org/psu /usr/bin/gparted (psu is porteus su)

Please be aware that the kernel and module 000-kernel are matching pairs. If you change one you must change the other.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

quotaholic
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 75
Joined: 15 May 2011, 16:20
Location: denver
Contact:

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#14 by quotaholic » 17 Jun 2019, 19:53

jssouza wrote:
17 Jun 2019, 01:38
You can find them here:
http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/Porteus-v5.0/kernel/
Thank you!!

Forgot to mention had to enable legacy boot. Tried gpt formatted usb at first. Had to go msdos. Possibly I got spoiled by Nemesis but that refind booting worked quite well on my hardware.

nanZor
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 185
Joined: 09 Apr 2019, 03:27
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 RC1 XFCE
Location: Los Angeles

Porteus v5.0rc1 problems

Post#15 by nanZor » 17 Jun 2019, 20:32

Found a symptom of this problem on this one cranky box.

Seems related to wireless. The older 2015 Intel computestick will sit at a black screen once the initial boot is done forever until I click the mouse.

HOWEVER, if I boot with a known good wireless dongle attached, video will autoconfigure in a reasonable amount of time. I'll have to check to see if this stick is using broadcom, rather than intel wifi.

nanZor wrote:
17 Jun 2019, 07:44
Video just stays black until I move and click the mouse - only on one box out of the 4 I am testing with.

I noticed that the video autoconfiguration takes a bit longer than usual on my 4 machines. But on one older Intel computestick that used to run Win 8.1 (circa 2015), after the initial boot, the screen stays dark forever.

UNTIL, I click and move the mouse to make it start thinking. After that, the screen gets autoconfigured and works. Again, only one machine, the older computestick, exhibits this seemingly endless black video delay until I tickle the mouse.

Note: This is unrelated to the older known issue of Intel Atom cpu's needing the special intel_idle.max_cstate=1 cheatcode.
That's a UNIX book - cool. -Garth

Post Reply