cannot save changes [solved]

Arch based Porteus community project
Post Reply
User avatar
user0815
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 63
Joined: 22 Jan 2019, 11:46
Distribution: CINNAMON-v4.0-x86_64

cannot save changes [solved]

Post#1 by user0815 » 31 Mar 2019, 00:44

Hi,
first try with nemesis, interesting concept, boot is not as fast as with porteus. However, I like to continue but somehow cannot get my changes saved, it’s like always start fresh. Iso used from neko from here
2019 Updated Nemesis Base Modules (Post by neko #70319)
I already adjusted the /config/cheatcodes file and uncomment the changes line to:
changes=EXIT:/porteus/profiles/xfce
Do I miss something?
cheers
Last edited by user0815 on 31 Mar 2019, 09:53, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2593
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 5.0rc1-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

cannot save changes

Post#2 by ncmprhnsbl » 31 Mar 2019, 03:04

1.not sure that EXIT: has been implemented in nemesis (try without it)
2. i presume your media is ext(2,3,4) and that /porteus/profiles/xfce exists?
3. another thing to try: absolute path: changes=/mnt/sd??/porteus/profiles/xfce
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
user0815
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 63
Joined: 22 Jan 2019, 11:46
Distribution: CINNAMON-v4.0-x86_64

cannot save changes

Post#3 by user0815 » 31 Mar 2019, 09:51

removing EXIT solved the problem, thanks. But can we have this EXIT working in nemesis, too? It’s a good option to reduce wear-out for flash drives.
btw, what is the idea behind nemesis?
cheers
using CINNAMON-v4.0-x86_64 with updated kernel porteus-4.16.8

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2593
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 5.0rc1-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

cannot save changes [solved]

Post#4 by ncmprhnsbl » 31 Mar 2019, 12:09

user0815 wrote:
31 Mar 2019, 09:51
btw, what is the idea behind nemesis?
it's simply porteus based on Arch/Artix package base instead of Slackware, the main advantage being a much larger repository of packages with a full featured package manager(pacman) and an even larger repo of build scripts.
it received an intensive burst of development a few years ago when brokenman had some extra time and was(maybe still is) a candidate to become the main porteus(it's branded porteus 3.5) ... time constraints put it on hold and it remains an unfinished project(but workable)
should mention the inspiration came from an earlier project: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei
more recently i started updating the base modules(monthlyish) and doing some minor tweaks and neko has been kindly providing isos of these.
user0815 wrote:
31 Mar 2019, 09:51
But can we have this EXIT working in nemesis, too?
most likely yes, except that i don't immediately know how to do this..
(if nobody else steps in) i'll look into how this works in slackware porteus and if compatible, see'll if i can port it.. my guess is it's in the initrd somewhere..
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
user0815
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 63
Joined: 22 Jan 2019, 11:46
Distribution: CINNAMON-v4.0-x86_64

cannot save changes [solved]

Post#5 by user0815 » 31 Mar 2019, 13:01

ncmprhnsbl wrote:
31 Mar 2019, 12:09
it's simply porteus based on Arch/Artix package base instead of Slackware,
ok. Does that mean modules created on nemesis (e.g: pman -S firefox) cannot be used on "classic porteus"? I tried this with firefox on classic porteus and it seems not working, it says module successfully activated, but nothing happens when trying to start firefox.
ncmprhnsbl wrote:
31 Mar 2019, 12:09
the main advantage being a much larger repository of packages with a full featured package manager(pacman) and an even larger repo of build scripts
when I do pman -Q, the list contains more than 531 entries. This may be large, but popular apps such as libre office, gimp, vlc are not in the list. Or did I do something wrong?

Also, is there a GUI for pman in nemesis, or only CLI?
using CINNAMON-v4.0-x86_64 with updated kernel porteus-4.16.8

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2593
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 5.0rc1-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

cannot save changes [solved]

Post#6 by ncmprhnsbl » 31 Mar 2019, 21:37

user0815 wrote:
31 Mar 2019, 13:01
when I do pman -Q, the list contains more than 531 entries. This may be large, but popular apps such as libre office, gimp, vlc are not in the list. Or did I do something wrong?
pman -Q lists what is installed already :)
pman -Sl (i believe) should list all packages in the repos... (10927 is probably a bit long for a terminal)
pman -Ss <package name or regexp> to search for a package
there is no gui for pman (there are some for pacman)
arch has excellent web facing tools:
packages: https://www.archlinux.org/packages/ (or duckduckgo: !pkg <packagename>)
wiki: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Li ... plications (or duckduckgo: !arch <search item>)
aur(arch user repository: equivalent of sBo) https://aur.archlinux.org/ (or duckduckgo: !aur <packagename>) note: aur needs 05-devel.xzm activated to use

though it's not impossible for a nemesis module to work on slackware porteus, it's quite likely that it won't..(version, library, etc differences)
some modules from slackware porteus may work with nemesis
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2593
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 5.0rc1-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

cannot save changes [solved]

Post#7 by ncmprhnsbl » 16 Apr 2019, 13:33

user0815 wrote:
31 Mar 2019, 00:44
changes=EXIT:/porteus/profiles/xfce
Do I miss something?
i checked and EXIT: is implemented in initrd for nemesis (but could be broken somehow)
maybe try more path:
Examples:
changes=EXIT:/dev/device
changes=EXIT:/path/
changes=EXIT:UUID:STrING-0F-ChARACtERS/path/file.dat
so if your device is sdb1 then:
changes=EXIT:/dev/sdb1/porteus/profiles/xfce
or try putting the cheatcode in /boot/porteus.cfg on the APPEND line of the boot entry
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

Post Reply