Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5783
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#196 by francois » 15 Mar 2019, 00:53

It has been going on for a year now. :happy62:
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

mbos
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 May 2018, 10:55
Distribution: Porteus 4.0

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#197 by mbos » 15 Mar 2019, 14:36

Maybe I'm cheering for 4.1. It would be on-topic ;)

Another one: LXQT panel.conf is a mess. I made my own sub-200 lines, while the delivered one is a 2600 line monster. No idea what that mess is about but certainly most of the content has to be junk.

Edit: ah, I see what you mean. 5.0 is already in the making. Yeah, I'm a bit late here...

benjibasson
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 06 Mar 2019, 15:14
Distribution: Arch linux

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#198 by benjibasson » 29 Mar 2019, 09:58

Hi,

With porteus 4.0 fresh install, on via technology on fujitsu monitor the screen take 3 pixel offset per line.

This is a regression from porteus 3.2.2.


How to fix offset please? Where to find xvidtune witch is missing. How to run xvidtune on text mod ( grafic is unreadable at all)

To patch up screen have replaced xorg and xfce by the 3.2.2's version.
Unfortunately it breack some dependances.

For log and screen please follow the repport: Xorg distord desktop on VIA Technologies, Inc. VX900 Graphics

User avatar
omnio
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 19 Jun 2019, 06:06
Distribution: Mageia

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#199 by omnio » 19 Jun 2019, 06:09

Hello. I downloaded Porteus-LXQT-v4.0-i586 but I can't use it, after boot I only get this message: "failed to execute login command" and I'm logged out. X/Xorg works but I can't log in, I always get that message. I tried to log in both as guest and root. The passwords are accepted but I always get that message and I'm logged out.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2480
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc1 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#200 by Rava » 19 Jun 2019, 11:13

omnio wrote:
19 Jun 2019, 06:09
Hello. I downloaded Porteus-LXQT-v4.0-i586 but I can't use it, after boot I only get this message: "failed to execute login command" and I'm logged out. X/Xorg works but I can't log in, I always get that message. I tried to log in both as guest and root. The passwords are accepted but I always get that message and I'm logged out.
Did you also start some custom modules that are not part of the original Porteus-LXQT-v4.0-i586?
Did you use the modules as single files, e.g. from a USB thrumbdrive or from a hard disk, or did you use it via a complete ISO image?

Did you already checked the md5sums of either the ISO or the single-files modules?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
omnio
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 19 Jun 2019, 06:06
Distribution: Mageia

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#201 by omnio » 19 Jun 2019, 17:14

Hi Rava, thanks for taking the time to reply.

Yes, the md5 sums are fine (I checked again) and all I did was to boot the DVD in graphical mode.

I think I managed to figure out what's the problem but sadly I have no fix for it. This is what I did:

1. I booted the DVD in "Text mode"
2. I logged in as "guest"
3. echo "exec openbox" > ~/.xinitrc (to run only openbox and not lxqt)
4. startx (at this point Xorg starts with openbox and runs fine)
5. I opened xterm and typed "lxqt-session". The result was, bang, "Illegal instruction".

I'm not an expert but my first impression is that LXQT was compiled with some flags that my CPU just doesn't have. This is an AMD Duron CPU and this is what I have in /proc/cpuinfo:

Code: Select all

processor	: 0
vendor_id	: AuthenticAMD
cpu family	: 6
model		: 3
model name	: AMD Duron(tm) Processor
stepping	: 1
cpu MHz		: 850.054
cache size	: 64 KB
physical id	: 0
siblings	: 1
core id		: 0
cpu cores	: 1
apicid		: 0
initial apicid	: 0
fdiv_bug	: no
f00f_bug	: no
coma_bug	: no
fpu		: yes
fpu_exception	: yes
cpuid level	: 1
wp		: yes
flags		: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 mmx fxsr syscall mmxext 3dnowext 3dnow cpuid 3dnowprefetch vmmcall
bugs		: fxsave_leak sysret_ss_attrs spectre_v1 spectre_v2
bogomips	: 1700.10
clflush size	: 32
cache_alignment	: 32
address sizes	: 36 bits physical, 32 bits virtual
power management:
As you can see, there is neither a SSE nor a SSE2 flag. This might be the problem.

It's such a pity it didn't work. I tried A LOT of distros on this old machine but Porteus and Mageia were the only ones capable to detect PERFECTLY my SiS GPU and to run Xorg OUT OF THE BOX. Mageia also seems to use other flags for LXQT compilation and it works, but Porteus was such an interesting project to try. It's such a pity. It looks like this is the end of the road for this old machine.

Best wishes,

Omnio

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2480
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc1 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#202 by Rava » 20 Jun 2019, 00:21

omnio wrote:
19 Jun 2019, 17:14
I'm not an expert but my first impression is that LXQT was compiled with some flags that my CPU just doesn't have. This is an AMD Duron CPU and this is what I have in /proc/cpuinfo:
Sadly, I am no expert when it comes to LXQT flags either. Hopefully donald or fulalas can be of more help than me.
Or… when 5.0 is finished. Currently we released 5.0rc1 for community wide testing. but currently its x86-64 only. The finished finale 5.0 will have its 586 version as well.
Cheers!
Yours Rava

kua
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 1
Joined: 24 Jul 2019, 13:28
Distribution: porteus 4.0

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#203 by kua » 24 Jul 2019, 13:56

I'm using Porteus 4.0 Mate. Thanks much for this great distribution.
I have a problem with Mac laptop. Fullscreen mode does not work with Mac laptop. There is no problem with a laptop by installing Virtualbox Guest Addition. It works fine. But Mac doesn't work. What may be the solution. Thanks in advance. (I'm using Virtualbox 5.2 that i downloaded as xzm file from porteus ftp site. Newer virtualbox versions not work due to kernel version)

Kulle
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 211
Joined: 28 Jan 2017, 10:39
Distribution: v4.0 64bit Xfce
Location: Berlin

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#204 by Kulle » 24 Jul 2019, 17:48

Update-porteus does not work:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ sudo update-porteus
Passwort: 

 Starting checks ... 
[OK] Server: http://dl.porteus.org
[OK] Architecture: x86_64
[OK] User is root
[OK] Distro is Porteus
[OK] Porteus directory located
[OK] Base folder is writable
/usr/share/porteus/porteus-functions: Zeile 178: ip: Kommando nicht gefunden.
[ERROR] An internet connection is required.
An Internet connection is available !!
wget works:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ wget http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/Porteus-v4.0/modules/pepperflash-27.0.0.187-x86_64-1.xzm
--2019-07-24 18:37:43--  http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/Porteus-v4.0/modules/pepperflash-27.0.0.187-x86_64-1.xzm
Auflösen des Hostnamens dl.porteus.org (dl.porteus.org)… 185.212.225.147
Verbindungsaufbau zu dl.porteus.org (dl.porteus.org)|185.212.225.147|:80 … verbunden.
HTTP-Anforderung gesendet, auf Antwort wird gewartet … 200 OK
Länge: 5230592 (5,0M) [application/octet-stream]
Wird in »pepperflash-27.0.0.187-x86_64-1.xzm.1« gespeichert.

pepperflash-27.0.0. 100%[===================>]   4,99M  3,67MB/s    in 1,4s    

2019-07-24 18:37:44 (3,67 MB/s) - »pepperflash-27.0.0.187-x86_64-1.xzm.1« gespeichert [5230592/5230592]

Kulle
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 211
Joined: 28 Jan 2017, 10:39
Distribution: v4.0 64bit Xfce
Location: Berlin

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#205 by Kulle » 25 Jul 2019, 06:37

It was a mistake of mine.
Excuse me.
Not "sudo update-porteus" but "su" "update-porteus"

pican
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 03 Apr 2020, 21:54
Distribution: v4.0 i586 OpenBox

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#206 by pican » 04 Apr 2020, 20:35

A word please,
Would some canon fellow confirm this bug for me?
I see Porteus OPENBOX 4.0 keeps crashing as desktop menu shortcuts eg. [terminal] and [exit session] becomes unresponsive. Presented after I have saved session file .dat and/or have changed keyboard lang to br (pt-br) and/or xmodmap -e "pointer = 3 2 1". Also have disabled focus with mouse cursor hover and desktops no to 2 (from 4). I can't shutdown, reboot, modprobe removal of module (b43) and can't call commands, open programs, at all.
UPDATE: fix solved by following this better described issue. I believe it resulted the same bug.

Post Reply