Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1396
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#106 by donald » 15 Jun 2018, 18:14

Nah ... we do it anyway, nobody cares,
but one should not be so stupid to upload something.. ;)

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1513
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 4.0-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#107 by ncmprhnsbl » 16 Jun 2018, 09:33

so yeah, it seems libdvdread needs compile configure arg: --with-libdvdcss (and have libdvdcss installed in build enviroment)
and
mpv needs needs compile configure args: --enable-dvdnav --enable-dvdread
but even after doing this, i get:

Code: Select all

$ mpv dvd://
Playing: dvd://
libdvdnav: Using dvdnav version 6.0.0
libdvdnav: DVD Title: DVD_VIDEO
libdvdnav: DVD Serial Number: 30904282
libdvdnav: DVD Title (Alternative): 
libdvdnav: DVD disk reports itself with Region mask 0x00e50000. Regions: 2 4 5

libdvdread: Attempting to retrieve all CSS keys
libdvdread: This can take a _long_ time, please be patient

libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VIDEO_TS.VOB at 0x00000e20
libdvdread: Error cracking CSS key for /VIDEO_TS/VIDEO_TS.VOB (0x00000e20)
libdvdread: Elapsed time 2
libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VTS_01_0.VOB at 0x000046a0
libdvdread: Error cracking CSS key for /VIDEO_TS/VTS_01_0.VOB (0x000046a0)
libdvdread: Elapsed time 0
and so on...
i'll upload the packages soon to see if you fare any better with them..
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1513
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 4.0-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#108 by ncmprhnsbl » 16 Jun 2018, 11:48

ok.. disregard most of that last post .. i didn't have the region set on my hardware(used package: regionset for this)
seems rebuilding libdvdread is not necessary, just mpv:
mpv-0.27.2-x86_64-2_SBo.xzm
note: this build may be missing some of the configure args in the original mpv
these are what i used: (in a SlackBuild)

Code: Select all

./waf configure \
  --prefix=/usr \
  --libdir=/usr/lib${LIBDIRSUFFIX} \
  --confdir=/etc/$PRGNAM \
  --mandir=/usr/man \
  --docdir=/usr/doc/$PRGNAM-$VERSION \
  --enable-dvdnav \
  --enable-dvdread \
  --enable-libmpv-shared \
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1396
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#109 by donald » 16 Jun 2018, 13:06

@ ncmprhnsbl

Tested your module - The decryption (decss) part works.. :good:

Now we need some kind of navigation.
MPV immediately start playing the 1st episode of the DVD,
no DVD-menu to select the content of the DVD.

User avatar
n0ctilucient
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 423
Joined: 21 Apr 2017, 15:59
Distribution: fullmoonremix
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#110 by n0ctilucient » 16 Jun 2018, 13:42

no DVD-menu
One of the downsides of not using Xine.

However, if you have an MPV search bar... it looks like you're in business :happy62:

Yes... I know Xine is ugly (there is a Xine Gtk frontend).

But Xine is also very versatile.
Last edited by n0ctilucient on 17 Jun 2018, 13:31, edited 3 times in total.
:hmmm: I do NOT have the "right" to tell anyone what they should do...
but I reserve the "right" to tell them what they should "consider".

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5940
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#111 by brokenman » 16 Jun 2018, 20:54

I was using the gnome-mpv front end. Looks like some recent activity on their github too. The dependencies are?
glib >= 2.44
gtk >= 3.18[2]
mpv >= 0.27
epoxy
lua (optional)
youtube-dl (optional)

It's the only one that will go with xfce.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1513
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 4.0-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#112 by ncmprhnsbl » 16 Jun 2018, 23:25

donald wrote:
16 Jun 2018, 13:06
Now we need some kind of navigation.
MPV immediately start playing the 1st episode of the DVD,
no DVD-menu to select the content of the DVD.
seems this limitation will remain:
https://github.com/mpv-player/mpv/commi ... eea22071f8
https://github.com/mpv-player/mpv/issues/3345
the reasoning being that dvdread/nav don't do it well enough, so disable the function altogether..

gnome-mpv is a nice gui(it's in cinnamon,mate,kde modules) but it's still quite minimal in comparison to gnome-mplayer/mplayer combination..
for example, opening a dvd (via menu)requires > open location>type: dvd://
@donald, although we've solved one mpv bug, i don't expect to make you an mpv convert ;)
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1396
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#113 by donald » 17 Jun 2018, 00:42

Well, solving this main bug was important because almost all DVDs
are css (Content Scramble System) encrypted - so far so good.. :good:
seems this limitation will remain
While reading the links..
..any hope to get a player in 4.0 comparable to gnome-mplayer went away.
Maybe adding the gnome-mpv front end isn't a bad idea to get a bit of comfort.
....to make you an mpv convert
No way..

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1513
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 4.0-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#114 by ncmprhnsbl » 17 Jun 2018, 05:35

donald wrote:
17 Jun 2018, 00:42
Maybe adding the gnome-mpv front end isn't a bad idea to get a bit of comfort.
so far, i havn't had any joy getting gnome-mpv to work in xfce, either by extracting jssouzas from cinnamon or compiling a fresh version..
getting segfault crash on startup:

Code: Select all

$ gnome-mpv
Non-C locale detected. This is not supported.
Call 'setlocale(LC_NUMERIC, "C");' in your code.
Segmentation fault
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 629
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#115 by tome » 17 Jun 2018, 07:56

@ncm
You need:
/etc/profile.d/gmpv.csh and and /etc/profile.d/gmpv.sh:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash

export LC_NUMERIC=C 
No intelligence, no life and no information can exist without prior intelligence, life or information (in place where things change and time is running).

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1513
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 4.0-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#116 by ncmprhnsbl » 17 Jun 2018, 13:02

tome wrote:
17 Jun 2018, 07:56
@ncm
You need:
/etc/profile.d/gmpv.csh and and /etc/profile.d/gmpv.sh:
thanks tome, that was it :beer:
Gnome-mpv-0.14 for xfce (and others)
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1396
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#117 by donald » 17 Jun 2018, 13:44

new problem (scenario)
guest account > you have to edit/create a file with root permission >
open folder with thunar (root) > edit/create/save file in mousepad (root)
> it creates a "user" file with root permission in
/tmp/xdg-runtime-guest/dconf/
This file is not removed after mousepad (root) is closed
and will prevent gnome-mpv from starting.
(unable to create file '/tmp/xdg-runtime-guest/dconf/user': Permission denied)

@ ncmprhnsbl
Have you tried to start gnome-mpv from its .desktop file (menu entry)?

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1513
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 4.0-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#118 by ncmprhnsbl » 17 Jun 2018, 23:09

donald wrote:
17 Jun 2018, 13:44
new problem (scenario) .....
this sounds like something that came up in cinnamon or mate, and had to do with login shells or something..
long story short: thunar roots' .desktop Exec line needs : gksu -l
hopefully, this then carries over to mousepad and creates the correct(root) user dconf/xdg file..

fairly sure i started gnome-mpv from menu, although not in xfce :oops: :D only in my openbox setup.. i assumed it should work elsewhere..
forgot to mention: if you activate it after bootup, you need to logout for the new enviroment variable to load
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1396
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#119 by donald » 18 Jun 2018, 00:52

...if you activate it after bootup, you need to logout for the new enviroment variable to load
Yep, that's it,....gnome-mpv pops up now in XFCE.. :)

@ fulalas
in regards to the "user" file issue in /tmp/xdg-runtime-guest/dconf/

change in /home/guest/.local/share/applications/Thunar File Manager (root)

Exec=/opt/porteus-scripts/xorg/psu "dbus-launch --exit-with-session thunar %F"
to
Exec=gksu -l "dbus-launch --exit-with-session thunar %F"
and also in Thunar's custom actions.

I made some tests and the problem seems to be gone.

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 629
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#120 by tome » 18 Jun 2018, 08:19

I had problem with GSM USB dongle (on 2 laptops)- it didn't show available networks and connections. I installed tcl an tk once and now after reboot it works without tcl and tk. Strange but good to know.
No intelligence, no life and no information can exist without prior intelligence, life or information (in place where things change and time is running).

Post Reply