VPN not working

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Post Reply
lukaluki
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 90
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 01:01
Location: asdfw

VPN not working

Post#1 by lukaluki » 10 Mar 2018, 12:15

I am using Porteus 3.2 on KDE. (Kde Plasma 5.8.4 , Kernel 4.9.0)

When I try to connect to a simple PPTP vpn connection, providing the gateway, user and pw, it is showing an error:
VPN connection 'new vpn' failed. The service providing the VPN connection was stopped.
How can I check what is going on? Any ideas why simple pptp doesnt work ?

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1911
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current Xfce x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

VPN not working

Post#2 by Blaze » 10 Mar 2018, 14:23

Hi lukaluki.
Look at this post.
Linux porteus 4.18.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Aug 18 16:50:00 UTC 2018 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

lukaluki
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 90
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 01:01
Location: asdfw

VPN not working

Post#3 by lukaluki » 12 Mar 2018, 23:36

For what I see 'mknod /dev/ppp c 108 0' should do the job, but it still is showing the same error after starting the connection for about 2 seconds.

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1911
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current Xfce x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

VPN not working

Post#4 by Blaze » 13 Mar 2018, 17:46

lukaluki, can you show log of these commands:

Code: Select all

su
toor
/usr/sbin/pppd
Linux porteus 4.18.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Aug 18 16:50:00 UTC 2018 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

lukaluki
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 90
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 01:01
Location: asdfw

VPN not working

Post#5 by lukaluki » 21 Mar 2018, 18:04

toor: command not found
/usr/sbin/pppd is giving some strange output like ~?!}!} .. and so on.

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1911
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current Xfce x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

VPN not working

Post#6 by Blaze » 22 Mar 2018, 19:56

Linux porteus 4.18.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Aug 18 16:50:00 UTC 2018 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1158
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v4.0-kde-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

VPN not working

Post#7 by wread » 23 Mar 2018, 00:07

@lukaluki: Did you edit /etc/openvpn/openvpn.conf for your needs?
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

lukaluki
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 90
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 01:01
Location: asdfw

VPN not working

Post#8 by lukaluki » 29 Mar 2018, 11:16

I allready wanted to try on 4.0rc4 but the double click mouse option was not available which makes me freak out when working with many files which I have to :/, also no way to change it in rc4 Why Double-click has been replaced by one-click ? (Post by jssouza #63275), therefore I wanted to wait till final release.

I will try VPN on 4.0rc4 later today though.

lukaluki
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 90
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 01:01
Location: asdfw

VPN not working

Post#9 by lukaluki » 30 Mar 2018, 14:46

Normal VPN as also OpenVPN not working in Porteus 4.0 rc4 KDE for me. When pressing connect just nothing happens.
By now I am not able to use vpn with 3.2.2 as also 4.0rc4 :/

Using previos versions in the past have been a pleasure as vpn / openvpn had no problems, for now I am stuck

Post Reply