What is your porteus.cfg default?

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
User avatar
Ed_P
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5636
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 & 5.0rc2 Cinnamon 64 ISOs
Location: Western NY, USA

What is your porteus.cfg?

Post#1 by Ed_P » 30 Sep 2017, 18:35

Flash drive.

Code: Select all

quiet \boot\syslinux\vmlinuz changes=EXIT:/porteus/porteussave.dat noload=porteussave.dat.xzm extramod=/Modules;/Modsavedat volume=33 reboot=cold 
Ed

fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1589
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

What is your porteus.cfg default?

Post#2 by fulalas » 30 Sep 2017, 21:03

You guys are so advanced! I'm using no cheatcodes at all!

@Ed_P, what's the meaning of reboot=cold?

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1190
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v5.0-kde-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

What is your porteus.cfg default?

Post#3 by wread » 30 Sep 2017, 21:22

Code: Select all

quiet \boot\syslinux\vmlinuz nomagic login=root norootcopy initrd=boot\syslinux\initrd.xz
That is AF with norootcopy...
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1644
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

What is your porteus.cfg default?

Post#4 by donald » 30 Sep 2017, 22:54

The only one i added is ipv6.disable=1

User avatar
Ed_P
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5636
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 & 5.0rc2 Cinnamon 64 ISOs
Location: Western NY, USA

What is your porteus.cfg default?

Post#5 by Ed_P » 01 Oct 2017, 01:29

fulalas wrote:
30 Sep 2017, 21:03
@Ed_P, what's the meaning of reboot=cold?
A cold boot is similar to booting after the machine has been turned off, all the RAM is initialized. Not sure when I started using it or who suggested it to solve what problem I was having but I've been using for some time.
Ed

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1190
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v5.0-kde-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

What is your porteus.cfg default?

Post#6 by wread » 01 Oct 2017, 14:44

@n0ctilucient
initrd.xz is the first boot step. It will be read, decompressed and stored in ram, building a skeleton of folder "/" and directing the computer to load the necessary minimal working application.

You can decompress it and take a look at it.

Regards!
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
Ed_P
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5636
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 & 5.0rc2 Cinnamon 64 ISOs
Location: Western NY, USA

What is your porteus.cfg default?

Post#7 by Ed_P » 03 Jun 2018, 06:05

How does your /boot/syslinux/porteus.cfg file compare with the /porteus/porteus-v4.0-x86_64.cfg file? Do you put any cheatcodes in there too?
Ed

tom2238
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 32
Joined: 15 Nov 2018, 14:52
Distribution: Porteus MATE v3.2.2 i586

What is your porteus.cfg default?

Post#8 by tom2238 » 12 Jan 2020, 12:34

Hi.
Now I use:

Code: Select all

APPEND initrd=initrd.xz from=/dev/sda6 nocd zram=5% changes=/mnt/sda1/ timezone=Europe/Warsaw noload=000-lxde extramod=/mnt/sda1/porteus/modules/

Post Reply