supercomputer with PORTEUS - how to achieve speed

For discussions about programming and projects not necessarily associated with Porteus.
testsforknowledge
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 42
Joined: 07 Jan 2013, 16:44
Distribution: PORTEUS
Location: slovenia

supercomputer with PORTEUS - how to achieve speed

Post#1 by testsforknowledge » 27 Dec 2015, 06:10

I think everybody will be curious

WHICH ARE WAYS TO ACHIEVE PERFORMANCE or HIGHER SPEED of Porteus?

i need even more speed if possible!


POST every idea and instruction if you know it or INFO that makes Porteus faster as possible.

testsforknowledge
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 42
Joined: 07 Jan 2013, 16:44
Distribution: PORTEUS
Location: slovenia

Re: supercomputer with PORTEUS - how to achieve speed

Post#2 by testsforknowledge » 27 Dec 2015, 06:13

at boot start menu i use
COPY2RAM option. this way everything gets copied to RAM. At start it takes a little time, but then it+s super fast.

I need it to be even faster (for using with Blender-just one program for rendering or computing)
I wonder is there a way to shut down some grafical things to work only in console? acctually only resoults are important to me-output of blender-jpeg files.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2564
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: supercomputer with PORTEUS - how to achieve speed

Post#3 by Bogomips » 27 Dec 2015, 21:02

e.g.

Code: Select all

    guest@porteus:~$ dmesg|grep command
    [    0.000000] Kernel command line: quiet copy2ram ramsize=30% noauto timezone=Europe/London volume=60% noload=kde norootcopy 3
Text Mode
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

fullmoonremix

Re: supercomputer with PORTEUS - how to achieve speed

Post#4 by fullmoonremix » 15 Jan 2016, 14:29

Deprecate glibc in favor of Musl ...
http://webwarper.net/ww/~av/forum.porte ... ibs#p44829

Deprecate gcc in favor of Tiny C Compiler ...

Deprecate perl in favor of microperl...
(see... https://www.foo.be/docs/tpj/issues/vol5 ... -0003.html )

Use OpenCL instead of nVidia's "Cuda".

Use compile sbase/ubase to replace command line utilites (see... Suckless.org ).


Posted by 73.150.85.78 via http://webwarper.net
This is added while posting a message to avoid misusing the service
Last edited by fullmoonremix on 26 Aug 2016, 11:49, edited 7 times in total.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6105
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil

Re: supercomputer with PORTEUS - how to achieve speed

Post#5 by brokenman » 16 Jan 2016, 00:02

You want to use blender in a CLI environment?
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5401
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: XFCE 5.01 x86_64 + 4.0 i586
Location: Forests of Germany

Re: supercomputer with PORTEUS - how to achieve speed

Post#6 by Rava » 16 Apr 2016, 08:09

brokenman wrote:You want to use blender in a CLI environment?
Sounds intriguing indeed!
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1255
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v5.0-kde-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: supercomputer with PORTEUS - how to achieve speed

Post#7 by wread » 16 Apr 2016, 14:49

1.-Do not start unneeded modules!
2.-Strip all executables,
3.-Leave out infos, docs, readmes,
4.-Ask fanthom......
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

fullmoonremix

Re: supercomputer with PORTEUS - how to achieve speed

Post#8 by fullmoonremix » 16 Apr 2016, 19:31

Salutations... :good:

Use Memcached and Swapspace instead of Zram. Use Numa. Use Perl-JIT. Avoid... Gtk/Qt. Use FLTK.
Use PekWm instead of Openbox. Use Qingy DM instead of Slim DM. If you use nVidia use OPenCL instead of Cuda.

"Best Regards"... :beer:

Posted by 73.150.85.78 via http://webwarper.net
This is added while posting a message to avoid misusing the service
Last edited by fullmoonremix on 22 May 2016, 02:57, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5401
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: XFCE 5.01 x86_64 + 4.0 i586
Location: Forests of Germany

Re: supercomputer with PORTEUS - how to achieve speed

Post#9 by Rava » 16 Apr 2016, 22:21

wread wrote:1.-Do not start unneeded modules!
2.-Strip all executables,
3.-Leave out infos, docs, readmes,
4.-Ask fanthom......
5.-Remove all unneeded Locals.

Like I showed in my thread about GIMP, that can mean a lot. The more complex the GUI is, the more menu entries, and windows with tub-tabs and more sub-tabs it has, the larger get the Locals. And they are plain text and compress quite well, but with programs like GIMP or blender it makes quite the difference in removing unneeded Locals.

Sure, when sharing such a module one should e.g. point out
"This *whatever* version is a stripped down version. I did all this *list* to make the module smaller"
And the list then needs to address all what wread wrote above, and also list what Locals remain, e.g. only the en or only en-US or en-UK one, removing all else... And for other languages e.g. only Korean, French, Japanese or such...
Cheers!
Yours Rava

Post Reply