[Solved] No network devices available

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
rych
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 622
Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 x64 OpenBox
Location: NZ
Contact:

[Solved] No network devices available

Post#1 by rych » 02 Jul 2021, 09:46

On my new 2021 computer from Dell, Porteus 5.0rc2 x64 OpenBox ... the systray popup says "No network devices available" while Windows on the same machine works fine, the ethernet cable is plugged in and flickering. Could you please help me to trace down this issue, or maybe there is already an updated module for newer hardware?
Last edited by rych on 04 Jul 2021, 13:01, edited 3 times in total.

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2092
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

No network devices available

Post#2 by beny » 02 Jul 2021, 10:32

hi rych, su root lspci in terminal show us the hardware,we have to know the ethernet device first. try also ip link always in terminal,and if this command show something like eth0 or eth1.

User avatar
babam
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 528
Joined: 16 Nov 2016, 10:30
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc3 Xfce K6.1.1
Location: Rainy city

No network devices available

Post#3 by babam » 02 Jul 2021, 15:10

Last edited by babam on 03 Jul 2021, 12:55, edited 1 time in total.
Sorry, my English is bad.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8359
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

No network devices available

Post#4 by Ed_P » 03 Jul 2021, 04:02

My less new Dell uses Intel.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: 
root@porteus:/home/guest# lspci | grep Network
01:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Wireless 3165 (rev 79)
root@porteus:/home/guest# 
Ed

rych
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 622
Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 x64 OpenBox
Location: NZ
Contact:

No network devices available

Post#5 by rych » 03 Jul 2021, 05:56

beny,

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Device 9b53 (rev 03)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Skylake PCIe Controller (x16) (rev 03)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Device 9bc8 (rev 03)
00:08.0 System peripheral: Intel Corporation Skylake Gaussian Mixture Model
00:12.0 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation Device 06f9
00:14.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation Device 06ed
00:14.2 RAM memory: Intel Corporation Device 06ef
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation Device 06e0
00:17.0 RAID bus controller: Intel Corporation Device 06d6
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Device 06bd (rev f0)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation Device 0687
00:1f.3 Audio device: Intel Corporation Device 06c8
00:1f.4 SMBus: Intel Corporation Device 06a3
00:1f.5 Serial bus controller [0c80]: Intel Corporation Device 06a4
00:1f.6 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation Device 0d4c
01:00.0 3D controller: NVIDIA Corporation Device 1c91 (rev a1)
02:00.0 Unassigned class [ff00]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTS525A PCI Express Card Reader (rev 01)

root@porteus:~# ip link
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
So, Ethernet controller is there while eth0 is not? I'll now try to understand how to try the new "kernel"

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2092
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

No network devices available

Post#6 by beny » 03 Jul 2021, 17:33

hi rych you have to download the new blaze kernel build and change the old one with the new,seem you have a new ethernet device and babam advice is right for,backup the files first. and if you have the porteus version 4.0 you can have issue with that changes,

rych
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 622
Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 x64 OpenBox
Location: NZ
Contact:

No network devices available

Post#7 by rych » 04 Jul 2021, 06:13

beny, babam, Thanks: the new kernel solved it. Also reboots faster now. I guess that makes me a tester of the "kernel5.12.13". I didn't know where to put 64bit.config and whether I really need (what for?) the 06-crippled_sources module? Please tell me if you know, and I think this can be marked as Solved. Thanks everyone.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 3932
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: v5.0-64bit
Location: australia
Contact:

No network devices available

Post#8 by ncmprhnsbl » 04 Jul 2021, 07:03

rych wrote:
04 Jul 2021, 06:13
I didn't know where to put 64bit.config and whether I really need (what for?) the 06-crippled_sources module?
64bit.config is just for reference, ie. what configs were used in the kernel compilation.
and 06-crippled_sources is for use when compiling kernel modules eg. for virtualbox or with nvidia propriety driver or some other driver.
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

Post Reply