Installing on USB

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Darkstar
White ninja
White ninja
Distribution: Zorin

Installing on USB

Post#1 by Darkstar » 25 Jun 2021, 11:18

I've been using Zorin and LXLE for about 12 years. I occasionally have a look at another distros. I've only encountered minor installation problems in the past with various distros and have managed to overcome them myself with reference to the web. Porteus has me stumped, its definitely not easy to make a bootable USB. (running Zorin from hhard drive) Startup disc creator wont recognise the Porteus iso file so I burned it to disc. I have run it half a dozen times and I'm impressed. I think it should come with a pre installed browser, it makes evaluating it and looking up common problems much easier to do it from the distro.
Having burned it to disc I attempted to create a bootable USB from within Porteus run from the disc. It wouldnt recognise an unformatted usb drive? (So I formatted it in fat32) It then wont recognise its own iso disc as a source. I'm only at a basic level when it comes to using the terminal but this is too advanced for a beginner even though I've been using linux for over 10 years.
Ideally the download would be far more intuitive because the distro itself looks great and its really quick. Any help would be appreciated, I dont want to give up, it looks worth the extra effort.

Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO

Insrtalling on USB

Post#2 by Ed_P » 25 Jun 2021, 14:40

Hello Darkstar, welcome to the forum.

What is the name of the Porteus ISO file that you downloaded? In the Porteus 4.0 ISOs there is a file named /USB_INSTALLATION.txt, is that what you used to try to create a bootable USB drive? For the most part the steps are fairly straight forward.

1. Format a USB drive to FAT32.
2. Copy all the directories and files in the ISO to the formatted USB drive.