VirtualBox - Error on both v4 & v5

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
sonny
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 15
Joined: 15 Feb 2021, 16:46
Distribution: Porteus 5

VirtualBox - Error on both v4 & v5

Post#1 by sonny » 18 Feb 2021, 00:50

Hello all,

I need help with VirtualBox after powering on.

The first dialog box says, "Failed to open a session for the virtual machine ..."
The second dialog box says, "Kernel driver not installed (rc=-1908). The VirtualBox Linux kernel driver is not loaded or not set up correctly. Please try setting it up again by executing 'sbin/vboxconfig' as root.

How do I execute it as root ...?

Very much appreciated!

fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1653
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

VirtualBox - Error on both v4 & v5

Post#2 by fulalas » 18 Feb 2021, 08:14

@sonny, we need some information. First execute this in the terminal:

Code: Select all

uname -r
And let us know the output.

Then tell us how did you build this vbox module.

sonny
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 15
Joined: 15 Feb 2021, 16:46
Distribution: Porteus 5

VirtualBox - Error on both v4 & v5

Post#3 by sonny » 18 Feb 2021, 08:36

Hello Fulalas,

Thank you for your response. It is very much appreciated.

1) 5.4.57-porteus

2) How I built the VirtualBox module:
a. I manually downloaded "05-devel.xzm" and "crippled_sources.xzm" files
b. Saved these two in the "modules" folder
c. Ran "Vbox builder"
d. Selected "Virtualbox"
e. Selected "I want to download the Virtualbox .run file"
f. OK

Thanks again!

fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1653
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

VirtualBox - Error on both v4 & v5

Post#4 by fulalas » 18 Feb 2021, 08:42

That's odd. I did the same and it works for me. You don't need to execute it as root.

Well, try this one (assuming that you're using Porteus x64) and let me know if it works for you:

http://www.mediafire.com/file/zvr5ff2md ... 4-1prt.xzm

sonny
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 15
Joined: 15 Feb 2021, 16:46
Distribution: Porteus 5

VirtualBox - Error on both v4 & v5

Post#5 by sonny » 18 Feb 2021, 08:58

No, it still gives me the same error messages.
FYI, I managed to run VB without issues with other distros on USB (with or without EFI)

sonny
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 15
Joined: 15 Feb 2021, 16:46
Distribution: Porteus 5

VirtualBox - Error on both v4 & v5

Post#6 by sonny » 18 Feb 2021, 09:01

Btw, if VB does not work, do you have VMWare module for P5?
Thank you again, Fulalas!

fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1653
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

VirtualBox - Error on both v4 & v5

Post#7 by fulalas » 18 Feb 2021, 09:03

Have you tried in Always Fresh mode?

One limitation that Porteus has is that if you put /opt folder in your rootcopy (or even a module that includes /opt with wrong permissions) some programs will refuse to work, and Vbox is one of them.

sonny
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 15
Joined: 15 Feb 2021, 16:46
Distribution: Porteus 5

VirtualBox - Error on both v4 & v5

Post#8 by sonny » 18 Feb 2021, 09:11

Mine is ...
/mnt/sda1/porteus
- base folder
- modules folder (VB.xzm etc)
- optional folder (empty)
- rootcopy folder (empty)
- make_iso.sh
- porteus-v5.0-x86_64.cfg

sonny
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 15
Joined: 15 Feb 2021, 16:46
Distribution: Porteus 5

VirtualBox - Error on both v4 & v5

Post#9 by sonny » 18 Feb 2021, 09:22

Wow, you're right, Fulalas!
VirtualBox simply works in Always Fresh.
So, what has caused that?
Thank you very much!

AcnapyxoB
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 55
Joined: 24 Dec 2014, 10:15
Distribution: Porteus XFCE v5.0rc2 x86_64
Location: Bulgaria

VirtualBox - Error on both v4 & v5

Post#10 by AcnapyxoB » 18 Feb 2021, 15:49

Check permissions of the /opt folder (where is VirtualBox) may be it's changed by another module!
Porteus XFCE v5.0rc2 x86_64

sonny
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 15
Joined: 15 Feb 2021, 16:46
Distribution: Porteus 5

VirtualBox - Error on both v4 & v5

Post#11 by sonny » 18 Feb 2021, 18:40

Thank you, AcnapyxoB. You are correct. It is a permission issue.
Now, another problem arises ...
Once the computer is restarted, VB always displays the iso as "inaccessible" unless I manually go first to 'check or open' the iso folder in Nemo file manager.
FYI, the iso is located in a different partition with different file system (f2fs). I also use "changes" module because the "Create new save container" feature is not ready yet in P5rc2 (the "Location" box is not responding).
Thanks again, AcnapyxoB & Fulalas.

AcnapyxoB
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 55
Joined: 24 Dec 2014, 10:15
Distribution: Porteus XFCE v5.0rc2 x86_64
Location: Bulgaria

VirtualBox - Error on both v4 & v5

Post#12 by AcnapyxoB » 18 Feb 2021, 19:10

sonny
Why don't you copy the contents of /.config/VirtualBox folder (after specifying working VB folder) to your rootcopy /porteus/rootcopy/home/USER/.config/VirtualBox
ps. do it with root privileges!
Porteus XFCE v5.0rc2 x86_64

sonny
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 15
Joined: 15 Feb 2021, 16:46
Distribution: Porteus 5

VirtualBox - Error on both v4 & v5

Post#13 by sonny » 18 Feb 2021, 19:58

AcnapyxoB:
1. I logged in as root
2. My rootcopy is empty. Do I have to manually create home folder etc in there?
3. Before I forget, after I added the "login=root" cheatcode, the GUI's name shows "=root" instead of "root". Btw, it's the Cinna flavor of P5rc2
Thanks again!

AcnapyxoB
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 55
Joined: 24 Dec 2014, 10:15
Distribution: Porteus XFCE v5.0rc2 x86_64
Location: Bulgaria

VirtualBox - Error on both v4 & v5

Post#14 by AcnapyxoB » 19 Feb 2021, 06:01

Porteus XFCE v5.0rc2 x86_64

sonny
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 15
Joined: 15 Feb 2021, 16:46
Distribution: Porteus 5

VirtualBox - Error on both v4 & v5

Post#15 by sonny » 19 Feb 2021, 06:54

Very much appreciated, AcnapyxoB!

Post Reply