Fonts on porteus 5 run from RAM

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
meet
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 88
Joined: 31 Mar 2020, 04:37
Distribution: Porteus 4.0

Fonts on porteus 5 run from RAM

Post#1 by meet » 06 Apr 2020, 18:01

Hey guys.

The fonts on the Porteus 5 running on a bootable USB doesn't look as crisp and clear as other distros running on bootable USB.
After a while using porteus I feel irritation in my eyes. Reading is difficult.

Even the fonts on the web pages on Firefox on porteus don't look that good as they do on firefox running on other systems like windows or MX linux or Ubuntu. (With same font set in the firefox settings - default serif)

Please help.

Am I required to change any display settings or install any new font or what?
I don't mind if this requires a little more resource power, as the display and readability should be good enough.
Last edited by meet on 23 Apr 2020, 03:54, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2480
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc1 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Fonts on porteus

Post#2 by Rava » 10 Apr 2020, 22:47

What DE are you using? (DE = Desktop Environment, eg. Openbox, XFCE, KDE…)
What is your screen resolution and refresh rate?

Have you checked if the refresh rate in Porteus is as high as the ones in the other Live Distros you mentioned? If not, using a different font would solve nothing.

When you use a very high resolution that makes the standard font look very small, try increasing the font size.
The HOWTO differs from DE to DE.

E.g. in XFCE you go to Settings > Settings Manager > Appearance > [Tab] Fonts and change the font size to a larger size, e.g. to "DejaVu Sans Book - size 13"
Cheers!
Yours Rava

meet
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 88
Joined: 31 Mar 2020, 04:37
Distribution: Porteus 4.0

Fonts on porteus

Post#3 by meet » 11 Apr 2020, 03:25

Rava wrote:
10 Apr 2020, 22:47
What DE are you using? (DE = Desktop Environment, eg. Openbox, XFCE, KDE…)
What is your screen resolution and refresh rate?

Have you checked if the refresh rate in Porteus is as high as the ones in the other Live Distros you mentioned? If not, using a different font would solve nothing.

When you use a very high resolution that makes the standard font look very small, try increasing the font size.
The HOWTO differs from DE to DE.

E.g. in XFCE you go to Settings > Settings Manager > Appearance > [Tab] Fonts and change the font size to a larger size, e.g. to "DejaVu Sans Book - size 13"
Hi. I'm using Porteus 4 with KDE. And the fonts are not as clear as the Calibri in Windows or even the same DejaVu in Manjaro. I couldn't check the refresh rate of Porteus.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2480
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc1 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Fonts on porteus

Post#4 by Rava » 11 Apr 2020, 03:35

^
You don't have a Main Menu Settings / Display entry?
At least in XFCE I do, and KDE should do also.
It looks like this in XFCE
ImageSee? Currently the resolution is FullHD and the refresh rate 60 Hz.

Sorry to be of no more help, since I do not use KDE I cannot tell you how exactly to access the info via the GUI.

Maybe there is a ways to get the info via CLI, but I do not know how, or do not recall it. :unknown:
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5469
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Fonts on porteus

Post#5 by Ed_P » 11 Apr 2020, 04:44

Not a KDE user either but do you have Menu > Administration > Porteus Settings Centre? If so, click on it then the blue ? menu button and under the Machine tab click on the Screen option. It will show your current screen settings.
Ed

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2480
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc1 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Fonts on porteus

Post#6 by Rava » 11 Apr 2020, 04:47

Ed_P wrote:
11 Apr 2020, 04:44
do you have Menu > Administration > Porteus Settings Centre?
Good find, Ed_P, I hardly use the PSC so I did not recall that detail.

In my case that is to be found as Menu > System > Porteus Settings Centre :)
Cheers!
Yours Rava

meet
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 88
Joined: 31 Mar 2020, 04:37
Distribution: Porteus 4.0

Fonts on porteus

Post#7 by meet » 11 Apr 2020, 04:51

Yeah this has a GUI setting. It shows the resolution as 1366x768 and refresh rate as AUTO.
So it is set as max available.

Post Reply