Porteus not working on Virtual Box

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
write2diba
White ninja
White ninja
Distribution: Ubuntu

Porteus not working on Virtual Box

Post#1 by write2diba » 30 Jul 2016, 07:41

Hello,
I am fairly new to Porteus and hence was trying to boot on Virtualbox. In my desktop the Porteus (without GUI) is working fine in Virtualbox but the same image file is not working in Virtualbox of my Laptop. Whenever booting starts it gives some kind of error like "Kernel Panic" . I don't fully understand the error. It will be nice if anyone can help me out with this.

Thank you :)
Linux is Sexy :D

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5

Re: Porteus not working on Virtual Box

Post#2 by Bogomips » 30 Jul 2016, 11:14

Welcome to Porteus. Someone will be coming along.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Distribution: Porteus v5.0-kde-64 bits

Post#3 by wread » 30 Jul 2016, 11:56

@write2diba
Don't be afraid of Porteus and run it as specified, out of an Usb stick. It won't hurt your computer; test and test everything! When you are familiar with the live system, its philosophy and performance, and you understand how it works, then you can run all the different desktops we have, direct or in Vbox and hack them without fear.

And whenever you need help, please give more details of your situation, the edition you are running, etc. For sure there will be someone who has experienced the same or a similar issue...

Welcome to Porteus :O:
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

write2diba
White ninja
White ninja