Some rookie questions

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
tmsg
Black ninja
Black ninja
Distribution: arch, mx, porteus

Some rookie questions

Post#1 by tmsg » 15 Sep 2015, 14:58

(I've googled for most of my questions but so far have not found answers to all of them. I am not a PC newbie as such but my exposure to Linux has been rather modest. So here goes.)

The plan is to use Porteus 64bit (p64) as a thin OS shell to run a Win7 guest in VirtualBox. In the long run I will switch more and more stuff to Linux but for the time being most of my activities will still be in Win7. To that end and as a first tentative step,I want to test p64 in my current Win7 install, to get a feel how it all hangs together. So I've installed p64 in a vbox VM, have compiled the vbox GAs and this all works OK: so far, so good.

Now I'd like to add a few Win7 directories as shared folders; the mounting itself works fine but I am at a loss to find out how to have these folders automount (the vbox Auto-mount option seems to have no effect) . There are some hints as to editing /etc/rc.d/rc.local but I am not sure that this is the best/correct place.

Second, I've read through the way the Porteus filesystem is constructed and I am not totally clear as to why there is a /mnt/sda1/porteus/changes/ directory *and* a /mnt/sda1/porteus/rootcopy/ directory (sda1 being the vbox .vdi). If I want to change something I can directly do so in /.../changes/, right? So why would I want to add another layer, multiplying the possible places where stuff can be changed and possibly adding to the confusion?

Three, once I have a (more or less) stable system, my understanding is that I can then construct new base .xzms and copy them to /.../base/. Is there a tutorial as to how to do that?

Any hints welcome!

francois
Contributor
Contributor
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.