General newbie questions about Porteus

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
nemo
Ronin
Ronin
Distribution: Mint

General newbie questions about Porteus

Post#1 by nemo » 08 Jun 2015, 11:46

Hello.

I am a desktop PC user, mainly accustomed to Windows, but even there I'm a non-tech, just an average user. I am a newbie to Gnu/Linux, used a bit of Mint already and everything looks pretty so far, enough to make me leave Windows behind...

Why am I here? First, I'm sorry to say, but on the Mint forums I could hardly get friendly advices. Useful maybe, those that I could actually understand, but not very friendly, since they already assumed I'm all of a sudden familiar with Linux somewhat beyond newbie level.

It's not that I can't use the terminal, read some FAQs, or follow instructions, but there are very few newbie guides and if I use a terminal command I'd like to know what I'm actually doing.

Second reason, is that I've read nasty things about systemd and decided to try some Linux distros that don't use systemd.

I'm willing to learn, as long as the instructions are clear, step-by-step, and don't expect me to be a guru over night...

Ok, after reading Porteus's FAQ and rummaging through some tutorials I've found on the website (I didn't understand some of the concepts in there yet), I still have some questions:

1. If I install Porteus on the internal hard disk, would I be able to work with files and folders just like in Mint? I mean, could I create a new folder or a file, edit it, save it and after a system reboot would my file still be there? Cause while trying to make sense of the tutorials, I've encountered some strange things about having to save files in a different way than a usual operating system...