copy2ram, modules, mozilla profile

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
timcowchip
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 02 Jul 2014, 04:11
Distribution: 3.0
Location: in a van down by the river

copy2ram, modules, mozilla profile

Post#1 by timcowchip » 03 Jul 2014, 04:01

I'm trying Porteus because I want to help speed up loading web pages and all the crap contained therein without having to temporarily store everything on my hdd. So I'm using the "copy2ram" option. I would like to have my mozilla profile persist thru a reboot. I think this can be accomplished by making a module from my ~/.mozilla folder.
I tried

Code: Select all

dir2xzm .mozilla / /mnt/sda1/porteus/modules/08-.mozilla.xzm
. A module was created, it copies to ram during boot. When I attempt to activate it, dialog says its already activated. Yet, no login cookies are saved in my mozilla profile.
Am I doing this the wrong way or am I asking too much, to run Porteus in ram and have some small amount of persistence thru a reboot.

User avatar
fanthom
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5666
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: copy2ram, modules, mozilla profile

Post#2 by fanthom » 03 Jul 2014, 08:18

hi timcowchip,

you have created the module incorrectly. it will show up in live fs as /.mozilla while you need it in /home/guest/.mozilla.
please refer to our documentation how to create modules properly:
http://www.porteus.org/component/conten ... dules.html
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

timcowchip
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 02 Jul 2014, 04:11
Distribution: 3.0
Location: in a van down by the river

Re: copy2ram, modules, mozilla profile

Post#3 by timcowchip » 03 Jul 2014, 19:09

I tried following the instructions here : http://www.porteus.org/component/conten ... dules.html

Code: Select all

mkdir -p /tmp/fakeRoot/home/guest
cp -R /home/guest /tmp/fakeroot/home/guest
dir2xzm /tmp/fakeRoot /mnt/sda1/porteus/modules/guest.xzm
I couldn't log in as guest after that. I'm guessing that I need to put the module somewhere else like ~/Desktop/guest.xzm then activate it after logging in as guest instead of have it load and activate at boot.
Last edited by timcowchip on 03 Jul 2014, 20:09, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: copy2ram, modules, mozilla profile

Post#4 by Ed_P » 03 Jul 2014, 19:24

[quote="timcowchip"]

Code: Select all

cp -R /home/guest /tmp/fakeroot/home/guest
fakeroot

and

Code: Select all

dir2xzm /tmp/fakeRoot /mnt/sda1/porteus/modules
fakeRoot

are not referencing the same folder. Linux file/folder names are case sensitive.
Ed

timcowchip
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 02 Jul 2014, 04:11
Distribution: 3.0
Location: in a van down by the river

Re: copy2ram, modules, mozilla profile

Post#5 by timcowchip » 03 Jul 2014, 19:46

Thanks Ed. I made the typo when posting, not on the command line. :)

timcowchip
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 02 Jul 2014, 04:11
Distribution: 3.0
Location: in a van down by the river

Re: copy2ram, modules, mozilla profile

Post#6 by timcowchip » 03 Jul 2014, 20:08

I did, however, make other typos on the command line.

Code: Select all

cp -R /home/guest /tmp/fakeRoot/home/guest
should have been

Code: Select all

cp -R /home/guest /tmp/fakeRoot/home
Everything works as it should. The /home/guest folder is as it was when I made the module from it.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: copy2ram, modules, mozilla profile

Post#7 by Ed_P » 03 Jul 2014, 20:15

timcowchip wrote:I would like to have my mozilla profile persist thru a reboot. I think this can be accomplished by making a module from my ~/.mozilla folder.
I tried

Code: Select all

dir2xzm .mozilla / /mnt/sda1/porteus/modules/08-.mozilla.xzm
.
hmmmmm

Try

Code: Select all

dir2xzm /home/guest/.mozilla/firefox  /mnt/sda1/porteus/modules/firefox.xzm
I have not tried this myself but I think it should work. And if it doesn't it shouldn't stop you from logging on.


BTW Firefox signons are stored in the signons.sqlite file.
Ed

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6434
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

Re: copy2ram, modules, mozilla profile

Post#8 by francois » 03 Jul 2014, 22:17

You need the changes cheatcode as instructions in your bootloader, see:
http://www.porteus.org/component/conten ... -them.html

What architecture and what desktop environment are you using?
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: copy2ram, modules, mozilla profile

Post#9 by Ed_P » 03 Jul 2014, 23:31

We cross posted before timcowchip.

If you're making a module of the whole /home folder you should consider switching from the extramods= cheatcode to the changes= one as francois suggested. It's easier to maintain that way than manually making modules all the time.
Ed

timcowchip
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 02 Jul 2014, 04:11
Distribution: 3.0
Location: in a van down by the river

Re: copy2ram, modules, mozilla profile

Post#10 by timcowchip » 04 Jul 2014, 00:22

I have tried the "changes=" way and it works very well, but I was looking for a way to run everything in ram to speed up things. I am using Razor-Qt on an Intel Atom D510 x86_64 with 2G of ram. Its netbook hardware but the ram is adequate for loading a few modules.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6434
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

Re: copy2ram, modules, mozilla profile

Post#11 by francois » 04 Jul 2014, 02:09

I don't see why you can't use both copy2ram and changes cheatcodes simultaneously!

Also, have a look at panel menu > system > porteus setting center > diskette icon. There are many solutions there.
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: copy2ram, modules, mozilla profile

Post#12 by Ed_P » 04 Jul 2014, 03:50

timcowchip wrote:I have tried the "changes=" way and it works very well, but I was looking for a way to run everything in ram to speed up things. I am using Razor-Qt on an Intel Atom D510 x86_64 with 2G of ram. Its netbook hardware but the ram is adequate for loading a few modules.
I'm running Razor-Qt on a 2G of ram netbook also. I guess it depends on what works best for you.
Ed

User avatar
fanthom
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5666
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: copy2ram, modules, mozilla profile

Post#13 by fanthom » 04 Jul 2014, 07:31

I couldn't log in as guest after that.
because you messed up permissions (created /home/guest as root). use this:
mkdir -p /tmp/fakeRoot
cp -a --parents /home/guest/.mozilla /tmp/fakeroot/
dir2xzm /tmp/fakeRoot /mnt/sda1/porteus/modules/guest-mozilla.xzm
if you are not sure why '-a' and '--parents' then run:

Code: Select all

man cp
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: copy2ram, modules, mozilla profile

Post#14 by Ed_P » 04 Jul 2014, 16:07

fanthom wrote:if you are not sure why '-a' and '--parents' then run:

Code: Select all

man cp

Code: Select all

-a, --archive
              same as -dR --preserve=all

--parents
              use full source file name under DIRECTORY

Code: Select all

--preserve[=ATTR_LIST]
              preserve the specified attributes (default:
              mode,ownership,timestamps), if possible additional attributes:
              context, links, xattr, all
I'm kinda surprised these aren't defaults.
Ed

mt12345
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 66
Joined: 29 Jun 2014, 23:36
Distribution: Porteus RazorQT 32bit
Location: Europe

Re: copy2ram, modules, mozilla profile

Post#15 by mt12345 » 04 Jul 2014, 20:26

francois wrote:I don't see why you can't use both copy2ram and changes cheatcodes simultaneously!
but changes are not copied to ram!

http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=81&t=3618

Post Reply