Problems installing Porteus on hd.

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
survivor
Ronin
Ronin

Problems installing Porteus on hd.

Post#1 by survivor » 23 Oct 2012, 19:52

Hi there, I'm new to Porteus.
I've a laptop with WinXp on it and I wanted to put Porteus into the windows bootloader, just wanted to leave the mbr intact.
So I found this: http://www.icpug.org.uk/national/linnwin/step1-xp.htm
But I think I did something wrong, when I choose Start Linux in the bootloader it says there is no such partition...
I've 2 ntfs partitions where I keep windows and my stuff and 1 ext3 I made for Porteus, I've managed to install Porteus to usb and it ran fine, I've used Porteus Installer to install it onto that ext3 partition, all went fine. Then I found some files needed for the bootloader to load linux, there are grldr and menu.lst on C drive.
Proteus detected ext3 partition as sda6, so I've edited the menu.lst like that:
######################################################
# GvR Sept 30th 2004
color black/cyan yellow/cyan
timeout=5
default=0

title Windows XP Pro SP3
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
chainloader +1
boot

title LINUX Porteus v1.2 XFCE
kernel (hd0,3)/boot/vmlinuz from_dev=/dev/sda6 from_dir=/porteus noswap max_loop=150 kmap=es toroot
initrd=(hd0,3)/boot/initrd.xz
boot

######################################################

I tried to set everything right, like I said - linux detected ext3 partition to be sda6 so I've put this into the config above, changed folder names to fit my installation and still the same - no such partition... The ext3 is third partition on my hd so I don't get it how is that possible when (hd0,3) doesn't exist??
Can someone tell where is the mistake?

btw this is my boot.ini file content, which I believe is correct:
[boot loader]
timeout=3
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]