New USB installation will not boot, but there are no error messages.[SOLVED]

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
rustydu
White ninja
White ninja
Distribution: Manjaro

Post#1 by rustydu » 08 Sep 2022, 22:10

Hello all,

Newbie here.

I was able to complete the installation process as described in the tutorial using the Manjaro distro. When I boot into UEFI mode the USB drive is recognized as "UEFI OS". When I boot from the USB, though, I end up right back in the Manjaro GRUB menu. I do not encounter any error messages, so I don't really know where to begin figuring this out. I am using a 16G USB formatted with FAT32.

I can't find an existing thread about this particular issue. I hope I'm not clogging the channel. :pardon:

Glad to be here, thanks in advance for any help!

Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO

New USB installation will not boot, but there are no error messages.

Post#2 by Ed_P » 08 Sep 2022, 23:53

Hi rusty, welcome to the forum.

The Porteus instructions in the ISO's /USB_INSTRUCTIONS.txt file do not create GRUB menus so I don't know where your GRUB came from. When I boot my USB drive I press the F12 key at the begining of my Dell's boot process and select the USB drive. No GRUB booting the USB drive.

When I boot to GRUB2 on my Dell and select the USB drive I use this menu:

Code: Select all

menuentry " Porteus 5.0 USB - EFI" --class slackware   --class icon-porteus  {

set bootmgr=/EFI/boot/bootx64.efi          #grubx64.efi    # bootx64.efi

set bootdrv=$root
     search -f $bootmgr --set=root
     echo bootmgr: $bootmgr
     sleep -v -i 3
     if [ $root != $bootdrv ]; then
        chainloader $bootmgr
     else
        echo "----------------------------------------"
        echo USB drive NOT found.
        echo
        sleep -v -i 10
     fi
     set root=$bootdrv
     }
Ed

rustydu
White ninja
White ninja

Post#3 by rustydu » 09 Sep 2022, 01:10