How to Mount hidden volume (EFI)

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
ttempelmann
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 27 Jun 2020, 14:52
Distribution: Porteus

How to Mount hidden volume (EFI)

Post#1 by ttempelmann » 27 Jun 2020, 15:00

I needed a temporary Linux distro to repair my Hackintosh system. So I tried Porteus (5.0 64 bit).

I ran into several issues:

1. The file explorer does not show the various EFI volumes. How do I make them accessible? Also, even though /etc/fstab seems to mention them, they are not fully mounted, as when I do "ls" into their mount points, I see only an empty dir.

2. While it's great Porteus reads HFS and APFS out of the box, the issue for using it as a rescue system is that it won't let me dive into the users' folders because they have different uids than my Porteus user. There needs to be an option that lets me ignore ownership on the volume but I can't find it. I don't want to have to use the Console and sudo to browser the files, obviousl.y

3. At some point, I was asked to enter the root password. That pw should be shown to me when I boot the system. I mean, if one can google it, then why try to hide it? It's been a real pain to find the pw because, well, I was bootet into Porteus without network access. Guess how difficult that was.

Any suggestions on how to solve #1 and #2?

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2874
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

How to Mount hidden volume (EFI)

Post#2 by Blaze » 27 Jun 2020, 15:25

Hi ttempelmann.
1) Can you show output of these commands

Code: Select all

lsblk -e7 -o NAME,SIZE,FSTYPE,TYPE,MOUNTPOINT
cat /etc/fstab
dmesg | grep -i 'EFI\|FS\|mount'
2) Try this hack

Code: Select all

su
toor
chgrp -R users /path-to/users-folders
chmod -R 775 /path-to/users-folders
:)
Linux 5.4.8-porteus #1 SMP Sun Jan 5 09:14:47 UTC 2020 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

ttempelmann
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 27 Jun 2020, 14:52
Distribution: Porteus

How to Mount hidden volume (EFI)

Post#3 by ttempelmann » 27 Jun 2020, 16:21

I certainly do not want to change the actual permissions of my working data volumes! I find it a bit worrysome to suggest that as a hack in a "newbie questions" forum without any warning that this may be irreversible.

See this as feedback for improving Porteus. I eventually gave up and used a different way to access my files and restore the EFI files.

For the EFI volumes: They're probably marked a "non-mount" in the GUID Table, so it should be understood that it's normal that they do not get mounted by default. My point was that there should be a way to mount them using the UI. Maybe there is one, but I had no idea where to look for it.

Overall, Porteus looks impressive and was working well, though.

I'm signing out now as I have no further use for Porteus.

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2874
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

How to Mount hidden volume (EFI)

Post#4 by Blaze » 27 Jun 2020, 19:02

ttempelmann wrote:
27 Jun 2020, 16:21
For the EFI volumes: They're probably marked a "non-mount" in the GUID Table
for this you can run gparted
Linux 5.4.8-porteus #1 SMP Sun Jan 5 09:14:47 UTC 2020 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5509
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

How to Mount hidden volume (EFI)

Post#5 by Ed_P » 27 Jun 2020, 21:04

ttempelmann wrote:
27 Jun 2020, 16:21
I certainly do not want to change the actual permissions of my working data volumes! I find it a bit worrysome to suggest that as a hack in a "newbie questions" forum without any warning that this may be irreversible.
If they can be changed one way they can be changed back. The only thing I find irreversible is deleted files. :happy62:
For the EFI volumes: They're probably marked a "non-mount" in the GUID Table, so it should be understood that it's normal that they do not get mounted by default. My point was that there should be a way to mount them using the UI. Maybe there is one, but I had no idea where to look for it.
I have no problem with Porteus accessing my EFI partitions or its folders. But my system is Windows based.
I'm signing out now as I have no further use for Porteus.
Sorry to see you go ttempelmann, I think you were our only Apple user.
Ed

Post Reply