XFCE - collaboration thread to produce a Porteus module

Here is a place for your projects which are not officially supported by the Porteus Team. For example: your own kernel patched with extra features; desktops not included in the standard ISO like Gnome; base modules that are different than the standard ISO, etc...
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit

XFCE - collaboration thread to produce a Porteus module

Post#1 by Ahau » 08 Nov 2011, 21:12

Hi Folks!

Since XFCE scored third (after LXDE and KDE4) on our user poll of favorite desktops, I thought it would be useful to create module so that members of the community can check it out.

Any help is appreciated, as I'm still relatively new to the world of desktop environment configuration.

XFCE itself, as well as the core dependencies are all compiled using the scripts and source code from Robby Workman's site: http://connie.slackware.com/~rworkman/xfce-4.8/
I've also downloaded some additional apps and addons, many of them compiled from source (so lots of room for error on my part!).

Thoughts? Suggestions? Encouragement? Free beer?

-Cheers!

DOWNLOAD
All modules can be downloaded from my googlecode download page:

http://code.google.com/p/porteus-xfce/downloads/

January 26th, 2011:
updated versions of all modules posted. Calling this a 4th beta for all modules.

For both architectures there now exists:
-base XFCE module
-lxde dependency replacement module
-apps module
-midori+flash module

TO USE:

Download and place all desired modules in /porteus/modules. Add the cheatcode 'xfce' to your boot instructions (edit your porteus.cfg or press tab at the SYSLINUX/EXTLINUX menu), and it will boot into xfce.

Note that you will only need the "deps from lxde" module if you have removed or otherwise deactivated the LXDE module that comes with the default porteus ISO.

Note: These were built for use with Porteus V1.1 Final, but ought to work for V1.0 as well.