Draco 0.9.0 x86_64 (desktop environment)

Here is a place for your projects which are not officially supported by the Porteus Team. For example: your own kernel patched with extra features; desktops not included in the standard ISO like Gnome; base modules that are different than the standard ISO, etc...
Post Reply
fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1448
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Draco 0.9.0 x86_64 (desktop environment)

Post#1 by fulalas » 07 Jun 2019, 00:00

Here's an experimental module of Draco 0.9.0 x86_64. I'm running on Porteus 5 internal test build, so I'm not sure if it runs on Porteus 4:
http://www.mediafire.com/file/21p0e6j0z ... 0.xzm/file
(19 MB)

I didn't have time to polish it, but my impression is that this DE is still very immature, and the performance (DE startup and recommended file manager startup) is something to be desired.

TODO:
1- replace network-manager-applet (GTK) with nm-tray (Qt);
2- create custom actions;
3- fix file associations;
4- investigate why right click is so slow;
5- remove some useless libs;
6- install an archiver manager;
7- install gparted;
8- set XDG_RUNTIME_DIR;

jssouza
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1016
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 14:17
Distribution: Porteus x86 arm
Location: Liechtenstein

Draco 0.9.0 x86_64 (desktop environment)

Post#2 by jssouza » 07 Jun 2019, 02:58

Only qt base and x11 (qt5-5.12.3-x86_64-1jss, qt5-qtx11extras-5.12.3-x86_64-1jss) are sufficient. Dont think it uses the svg library. Qtscript is definitely not needed.

Missing icon theme. You would need Adwaita and probably hicolor icon themes for icons to be shown. I tried changing theme which is not possible, probably obconf is needed. Have to check if some other icon theme like Paper or Surfn can be used.

Also, you havent added any filemanager. Qtfm is what is recommended.

There's also the xdg run time dir warning everytime a terminal (qterminal or uxterm) is opened - not seen in my build. Is the XDG_RUNTIME_DIR set?
The draco pkg info is missing in /var/lib/pkgtools/packages. Did you build draco using a SlackBuild script?

fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1448
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Draco 0.9.0 x86_64 (desktop environment)

Post#3 by fulalas » 07 Jun 2019, 05:48

It was just an experimental build, no pretension to make something rock solid. But, hey, qtfm and obconf-qt are there! You didn't check well :)

I'll remove the useless packages. Thanks!

jssouza
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1016
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 14:17
Distribution: Porteus x86 arm
Location: Liechtenstein

Draco 0.9.0 x86_64 (desktop environment)

Post#4 by jssouza » 07 Jun 2019, 06:00

fulalas wrote:
07 Jun 2019, 05:48
But, hey, qtfm and obconf-qt are there! You didn't check well

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ ls /mnt/live/memory/images/003-draco-0.9.0.xzm/var/lib/pkgtools/packages/
gnome-keyring-3.28.2-x86_64-1
gpicview-0.2.5-x86_64-1ponce
gtk+3-3.24.8-x86_64-1
leafpad-0.8.18.1-x86_64-2ponce
libxkbcommon-0.8.4-x86_64-1jss
lxtask-0.1.8-x86_64-1ponce
network-manager-applet-1.8.22-x86_64-1
qt5-5.12.3-x86_64-1jss
qt5-qtscript-5.12.3-x86_64-1jss
qt5-qtsvg-5.12.3-x86_64-1jss
qt5-qtx11extras-5.12.3-x86_64-1jss
slim-1.3.6-x86_64-2jay

fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1448
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Draco 0.9.0 x86_64 (desktop environment)

Post#5 by fulalas » 07 Jun 2019, 06:10

Updated. Now icons are shown.

jssouza, I didn't install all the packages, but simply copied some of them :)

jssouza
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1016
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 14:17
Distribution: Porteus x86 arm
Location: Liechtenstein

Draco 0.9.0 x86_64 (desktop environment)

Post#6 by jssouza » 07 Jun 2019, 06:43

Looks much better now with the icons :good:

There's a SlackBuild already in the project's github page - https://github.com/rodlie/draco/tree/ma ... /slackware. There are some cmake flags in it. Would make sense to adapt that and add our own optimization flags. Would also result in an installable pkg.

QtFm could be added to System menu. Also an application launcher shortcut on the panel.

Settings->Theme Settings does not work. Would be interesting to see in code what it calls internally.

Overall impression is early days but very usable.

fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1448
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Draco 0.9.0 x86_64 (desktop environment)

Post#7 by fulalas » 07 Jun 2019, 06:59

Cool. I noticed that they're using just -O2 and -fPIC. My full cmake command line usually goes like this:

Code: Select all

cmake -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=release -DCMAKE_CXX_FLAGS:STRING="-O2 -m64 -pipe -fPIC" -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/usr -DCMAKE_INSTALL_LIBDIR=lib64 ..

jssouza wrote:
07 Jun 2019, 06:43
Settings->Theme Settings does not work. Would be interesting to see in code what it calls internally.
It calls qt5ct which doesn't exist. :unknown:

fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1448
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Draco 0.9.0 x86_64 (desktop environment)

Post#8 by fulalas » 07 Jun 2019, 07:07

Memory usage is a bit high for my taste:

Image

jssouza
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1016
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 14:17
Distribution: Porteus x86 arm
Location: Liechtenstein

Draco 0.9.0 x86_64 (desktop environment)

Post#9 by jssouza » 07 Jun 2019, 07:40

fulalas wrote:
07 Jun 2019, 06:59
Cool. I noticed that they're using just -O2 and -fPIC. My full cmake command line usually goes like this:

Code: Select all

cmake -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=release -DCMAKE_CXX_FLAGS:STRING="-O2 -m64 -pipe -fPIC" -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/usr -DCMAKE_INSTALL_LIBDIR=lib64 ..

Remember long back you had told me about a -DNDEBUG :)
fulalas wrote:
07 Jun 2019, 06:59
jssouza wrote: ↑
Fri Jun 07, 2019 8:43 am
Settings->Theme Settings does not work. Would be interesting to see in code what it calls internally.

It calls qt5ct which doesn't exist. :unknown:
Ok, that's https://sourceforge.net/projects/qt5ct/. Installed that and it works now. So the DE is theme-able :good:
fulalas wrote:
07 Jun 2019, 07:07
Memory usage is a bit high for my taste:
Yeah, noticed that too...

ottone
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 13 Jun 2019, 06:44
Distribution: slackex

Draco 0.9.0 x86_64 (desktop environment)

Post#10 by ottone » 13 Jun 2019, 06:49

There is a livecd on :Bravo: the homepage of draco . It's based on alienbob's liveslak, pass root=root live=live . It can be used with persistence , base is slackware64-current.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5077
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Draco 0.9.0 x86_64 (desktop environment)

Post#11 by Ed_P » 13 Jun 2019, 23:08

Got a link to it ottone?
Ed

ottone
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 13 Jun 2019, 06:44
Distribution: slackex

Draco 0.9.0 x86_64 (desktop environment)

Post#12 by ottone » 14 Jun 2019, 06:01

https://www.dracolinux.org There is a symbolic picture of a cd , click it and you will be taken to Sourceforge to download. Relatively small ( 700mb) but has LibreOffice
and firefox . The desktop is only to play with, nothing really stable . But you have a slack64-current base . Compared with the draco.xzm+porteus , Porteus runs more
stable.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2252
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 4.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Draco 0.9.0 x86_64 (desktop environment)

Post#13 by Rava » 15 Jun 2019, 12:18

jssouza wrote:
07 Jun 2019, 07:40
fulalas wrote:
07 Jun 2019, 07:07
Memory usage is a bit high for my taste:
Yeah, noticed that too...
Then I will wait till it matures a bit more. Maybe / hopefully this gets better.
Cheers!
Yours Rava

neko
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1531
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

Draco 0.9.0 x86_64 (desktop environment)

Post#14 by neko » 16 Jun 2019, 14:34

APorteus DRACO Trial Version

APorteus-DRACO-v19.06.16-x86_64.iso (436 M)
http://www.mediafire.com/file/zdc1zav65 ... x86_64.iso
md5sum: 8baf487807710cb9a59ca1b0febc7571 APorteus-DRACO-v19.06.16-x86_64.iso

draco-0.9.0-x86_64-1: Extract package from http://www.mediafire.com/file/21p0e6j0z ... -0.9.0.xzm
Other packages are obtained from ArchLinux. (Configured in the framework of APorteus)

Code: Select all

% ls -R draco-0.9.0-x86_64-1
draco-0.9.0-x86_64-1:
etc  usr  var

draco-0.9.0-x86_64-1/etc:
dbus-1

draco-0.9.0-x86_64-1/etc/dbus-1:
system.d

draco-0.9.0-x86_64-1/etc/dbus-1/system.d:
org.dracolinux.Powerd.conf

draco-0.9.0-x86_64-1/usr:
bin  lib  libexec  share

draco-0.9.0-x86_64-1/usr/bin:
draco-settings  draco-settings-x11  start-draco

draco-0.9.0-x86_64-1/usr/lib:
libDraco.so  libDraco.so.0  libDraco.so.0.9.0

draco-0.9.0-x86_64-1/usr/libexec:
org.dracolinux.Desktop  org.dracolinux.Power  org.dracolinux.Powerd  org.dracolinux.Storage  org.dracolinux.XDG

draco-0.9.0-x86_64-1/usr/share:
applications  dbus-1  xsessions

draco-0.9.0-x86_64-1/usr/share/applications:
draco-settings-x11.desktop  draco-settings.desktop

draco-0.9.0-x86_64-1/usr/share/dbus-1:
system-services

draco-0.9.0-x86_64-1/usr/share/dbus-1/system-services:
org.dracolinux.Powerd.service

draco-0.9.0-x86_64-1/usr/share/xsessions:
draco.desktop

draco-0.9.0-x86_64-1/var:
log

draco-0.9.0-x86_64-1/var/log:
packages

draco-0.9.0-x86_64-1/var/log/packages:
draco-0.9.0-x86_64-1
%



Thanks.

Post Reply