ArchLinux packages manager for Porteus

Here is a place for your projects which are not officially supported by the Porteus Team. For example: your own kernel patched with extra features; desktops not included in the standard ISO like Gnome; base modules that are different than the standard ISO, etc...
neko
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1678
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

ArchLinux packages manager for Porteus

Post#571 by neko » 06 Nov 2020, 11:37

@raja

Please check as followed.

Code: Select all

% su
# ls
APorteus-ENLIGHT-v20.11.02-i486.iso
# md5sum APorteus-ENLIGHT-v20.11.02-i486.iso
1b476b821becf90be91df345a13acee6  APorteus-ENLIGHT-v20.11.02-i486.iso
# mloop APorteus-ENLIGHT-v20.11.02-i486.iso
# ls -l /mnt/loop/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz;file /mnt/loop/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4535392 11月  2 21:49 /mnt/loop/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz
/mnt/loop/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz: Linux kernel x86 boot executable bzImage, version 5.9.3-porteus (root@porteus) #1 SMP Mon Nov 2 19:34:41 UTC 2020, RO-rootFS, swap_dev 0x4, Normal VGA
#
Thanks.

--------------------------
@Kulle

You need to operate the NeworkManager icon to connect to wifi.
To display the icon on the panel, do as follows.

[How to display Networkmanager ICON]
left click on desk top
---> main menu
select--->settings
select--->modules
select--->Utilities
select--->Systray
Load
Close

right click at control panel right edge
--->panel menue
select--->Contents
select--->Systray
Add
Close


Thanks.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5896
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

ArchLinux packages manager for Porteus

Post#572 by francois » 06 Nov 2020, 15:51

@neko:
Is there an aporteus with xfce desktop?

Will spm-20.02.10-noarch-1.xzm work for both porteus version 4 and 5?

Sorry for my naive questions.
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

neko
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1678
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

ArchLinux packages manager for Porteus

Post#573 by neko » 07 Nov 2020, 03:31

@francois

[APorteus XFCE]
1. English version
APorteus-XFCE-v20.11.02-x86_64.iso (589 M)
http://www.mediafire.com/file/8rgic92kn ... x86_64.iso
md5sum: 84537a5452b257e436e118ee5420fb03 APorteus-XFCE-v20.11.02-x86_64.iso

Kernel version: 64Bit 5.9.6 without AUFS patch.

2. For French
you can genarate the ISO by using "ISO Builder" APorteus-v20.11.02-x86_64.iso.
ArchLinux packages manager for Porteus (Post by neko #36689)


[Simple Package Manager (SPM)]
I'm no longer sure if SPM can be used with Porteus.
I think some features are limited.

How to extract the latest SPM from ISO.

Code: Select all

% su
# ls
APorteus-XFCE-v20.11.02-x86_64.iso
# mloop APorteus-XFCE-v20.11.02-x86_64.iso
# dXZM /mnt/loop/porteus/base/002-z.xorg.xzm
# uloop
# sep2pkg 002-z.xorg
# mkXZM pkgs.002-z.xorg/spm-20.08.31-noarch-1
# rm -fr pkgs.002-z.xorg
# ls
APorteus-XFCE-v20.11.02-x86_64.iso spm-20.08.31-noarch-1.xzm

Thanks.

raja
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 242
Joined: 02 May 2017, 09:51
Distribution: v3.2.2-32 and v5.0-rc1-zstd-64
Location: Chennai,India

ArchLinux packages manager for Porteus

Post#574 by raja » 07 Nov 2020, 06:50

neko,I found downloaded 32 bit ISO, corrupted at my end. Made a fresh download. Booted to desktop, but virtual PC and Pulse Audio modules showed errors during boot, Pl check the pulse audio as no audio is available.

Dock remains static. In 64 bit version, I didnot face any errors and dock too was floating. Cheers.
Linux Kernel-4.4.243-32 bit; Linux kernel-5.9.1-64 bit.

Kulle
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 250
Joined: 28 Jan 2017, 10:39
Distribution: v4.0 64bit Xfce
Location: Berlin

ArchLinux packages manager for Porteus

Post#575 by Kulle » 09 Nov 2020, 15:02

neko wrote: ↑ #571
[How to display Networkmanager ICON]
left click on desk top
---> main menu
select--->settings
...
Ok, thanks neko
And now:
WiFi has been detected and the wireless network connection is active after entering the password.
But then:
When using the browser: Error message "couldn't connect to server"
Apparently this bug occurs with all Porteus versions based on arch.
What can that be??
Does anyone have an idea?

neko
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1678
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

ArchLinux packages manager for Porteus

Post#576 by neko » 12 Nov 2020, 08:01

Image
Enlightenment 0.24.2 desktop



==== Language: English ====
APorteus-ENLIGHT-v20.11.11-i486.iso (571 M)
http://www.mediafire.com/file/keg7g06xx ... 1-i486.iso
md5sum: 95dfa90c857bcb36abfb39a93d6b1c4c APorteus-ENLIGHT-v20.11.11-i486.iso


==== Language: German, English ====
APorteus-ENLIGHT_de-v20.11.11-x86_64.iso (639 M)
http://www.mediafire.com/file/mkyhjlwlv ... x86_64.iso
md5sum: 719502c2822cb7223e7eb2efce4d363d APorteus-ENLIGHT_de-v20.11.11-x86_64.iso


==== Language: Japanese, English ====
APorteus-ENLIGHT_ja-v20.11.11-x86_64.iso (670 M)
http://www.mediafire.com/file/cimagtk7k ... x86_64.iso
md5sum: 650e28b3a8a652448065768b76de50c8 APorteus-ENLIGHT_ja-v20.11.11-x86_64.iso


==== Language: Russian, English ====
APorteus-ENLIGHT_ru-v20.11.11-x86_64.iso (703 M)
http://www.mediafire.com/file/j2pp2t6sx ... x86_64.iso
md5sum: 8993d493eb7e06f077a2840e661a4fe4 APorteus-ENLIGHT_ru-v20.11.11-x86_64.iso


==== Language: Thai, English ====
APorteus-ENLIGHT_th-v20.11.11-x86_64.iso (637 M)
http://www.mediafire.com/file/d0jiyvk7v ... x86_64.iso
md5sum: df4336edba44ef4148fb21b6b9fb4d4e APorteus-ENLIGHT_th-v20.11.11-x86_64.iso


==== Language: Taiwan, English ====
APorteus-ENLIGHT_zh-v20.11.11-x86_64.iso (647 M)
http://www.mediafire.com/file/dp9jc8yuv ... x86_64.iso
md5sum: 43182ada3ea401476325e2c8e5475f13 APorteus-ENLIGHT_zh-v20.11.11-x86_64.iso


Kernel version: 32Bit/64Bit = 5.9.8 without AUFS patch
Packages version: the latest version at the time of creating ISO (2020.11.11).

Web browser:......(64Bit) vivaldi 3.4.2066.99-1, (32Bit) firefox 82.0.3
Office:..............office (abiword, gnumeric)
Game:..............game (chess, sudoku, solitaire, etc.,)
Virtual PC:....(Only for 64Bit) QEMU (64Bit)5.1.0-2 / (32Bit)5.0.0-7.0
Develop:.........(Only for Russian) gcc 10.2.0-3 etc.,
Input method:...(Only for Japanese) fcitx-mozc, (Only for Thai) scim-tables, (Only for Taiwan) scim-tw including NTU_BR_U font


Note 1:
File manager Thunar is included.

Note 2:
The base desktop is OPENBOX and it is accommodated by default.
The applications accommodated by default with this OPENBOX are as follows.
Web browser:......Netsurf
Mailer:...........sylpheed
Messanger:........hexchat
Internet:....transmission-gtk
Sound & Video:....mpv
Graphic:..........gpicview, mtPaint
PDF viewer:....epdfview
Editor:....geany, leafpad
File manager:....pcmanfm, emelfm2
Terminal:....xfce4-terminal
Misc:.....gparted, file-roller, gnome-screenshot, galculator, hardinfo, xfce4-taskmanager

Note 3: "mpv starting with net radio"
The address (http://sky1.torontocast.com:9069/) of Japan's old JPOP is set as an example.
Please change it to your favorite internet radio address by editing /usr/share/applications/netradio.desktop.

Note 4:
[How to display Networkmanager ICON]
left click on desk top
---> main menu
select--->settings
select--->modules
select--->Utilities
select--->Systray
Load
Close

right click at control panel right edge
--->panel menue
select--->Contents
select--->Systray
Add
Close



Thanks.
-------------------------------

@raja
Archlinux packages are updated frequently. Therefore, a problem may occur.
If you wait for a while and get the latest package again, the problem may be solved.
APorteus composed of the latest packages has been uploaded.
Please try it.

APorteus, which consists of the latest 32-bit packages, made sound without the use of older patches.
Removed 004-virtual_PC.xzm from the 32-bit version.

Thanks.


@Kulle
Archlinux packages are updated frequently. Therefore, a problem may occur.
If you wait for a while and get the latest package again, the problem may be solved.
APorteus composed of the latest packages has been uploaded.
Please try it.

In addition, since it consists of OPENBOX and multi-desktop,
please start OPENBOX from the startup menu and still try it.


Thanks.

raja
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 242
Joined: 02 May 2017, 09:51
Distribution: v3.2.2-32 and v5.0-rc1-zstd-64
Location: Chennai,India

ArchLinux packages manager for Porteus

Post#577 by raja » 12 Nov 2020, 09:28

Ok, I shall try.

neko, when you find time, Pl make version-4.4.243-32 bit, kernel. Hope it supports zstd and squshfs-tools too is updated to handle zst.. My 32 bit pc can handle only 4.4 series. I use 4.4.120. Thanks.

Old pc throws lots of acpi errors.
Linux Kernel-4.4.243-32 bit; Linux kernel-5.9.1-64 bit.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5896
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

ArchLinux packages manager for Porteus

Post#578 by francois » 13 Nov 2020, 00:44

@neko:
Thank you very much! :)
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

neko
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1678
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

ArchLinux packages manager for Porteus

Post#579 by neko » 14 Nov 2020, 07:15

@raja
Kernel 4.4.243 doesn't support ZSTD compression.
<*> SquashFS 4.0 - Squashed file system support │ │
│ │ File decompression options (Decompress files directly into the page cache) ---> │ │
│ │ Decompressor parallelisation options (Use percpu multiple decompressors for parallel I/O) --│ │
│ │ [*] Squashfs XATTR support │ │
│ │ [*] Include support for ZLIB compressed file systems │ │
│ │ [*] Include support for LZ4 compressed file systems │ │
│ │ [*] Include support for LZO compressed file systems │ │
│ │ [*] Include support for XZ compressed file systems │ │
│ │ [ ] Use 4K device block size? │ │
Porteus-LXDE-v4.0-k4.4.243-i586.iso (287 M)
http://www.mediafire.com/file/2fu407z6d ... 3-i586.iso
md5sum: fcd979652da34fe71860748cc85ba71b Porteus-LXDE-v4.0-k4.4.243-i586.iso


Thanks.

raja
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 242
Joined: 02 May 2017, 09:51
Distribution: v3.2.2-32 and v5.0-rc1-zstd-64
Location: Chennai,India

ArchLinux packages manager for Porteus

Post#580 by raja » 18 Nov 2020, 08:18

Thanks neko for k-4.4.243. Shuts down LXDE with no comments in the screen.Quiet really.

Problem with Linux kernels is they make USB disks with FAT32 read only every time if errors are noticed. Real headache. Has to boot into Windows to remove write protect.
Linux Kernel-4.4.243-32 bit; Linux kernel-5.9.1-64 bit.

raja
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 242
Joined: 02 May 2017, 09:51
Distribution: v3.2.2-32 and v5.0-rc1-zstd-64
Location: Chennai,India

ArchLinux packages manager for Porteus

Post#581 by raja » 22 Nov 2020, 17:38

neko, I could unpack initrd.zstd , but could not repack by replacing xz by zstd -9 using command given by brokenman. Are you using makeinit script from arch?

Code: Select all

find | cpio -H newc -o | xz --check=crc32 --x86 --lzma2 > /home/guest/Downloads/initrd.zstd
Please post the command.Thanks
Linux Kernel-4.4.243-32 bit; Linux kernel-5.9.1-64 bit.

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 916
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

ArchLinux packages manager for Porteus

Post#582 by beny » 22 Nov 2020, 19:57

if i remenber well initrd from arch isn't compress with zstd only the arch packages they are the tar.zst: gzip -dc < /root/Pictures/initramfs-linux-zen-fallback.img | cpio -i
205580 blocks and:
bash-5.0# zstd
Incorrect parameters
Usage :
zstd [args] [FILE(s)] [-o file]

FILE : a filename
with no FILE, or when FILE is - , read standard input
Arguments :
-# : # compression level (1-19, default: 3)
-d : decompression
-D DICT: use DICT as Dictionary for compression or decompression
-o file: result stored into `file` (only 1 output file)
-f : overwrite output without prompting, also (de)compress links
--rm : remove source file(s) after successful de/compression
-k : preserve source file(s) (default)
-h/-H : display help/long help and exit
bash-5.0#
btw. can work....

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 916
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

ArchLinux packages manager for Porteus

Post#583 by beny » 23 Nov 2020, 22:46

hi raja the script work,but we have to know if the initrd work:i have unpacked an Aporteus one and with the zstd compression is 1.9 istead 2.0
i have used an old one script to unpack it, xz -d < initrd.xz | cpio -i and yours to repack it.

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 916
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

ArchLinux packages manager for Porteus

Post#584 by beny » 23 Nov 2020, 23:14

and the initrd.zstd work i have booted the system:
guest@porteus
-------------
OS: Arch Linux x86_64
Kernel: 5.6.0-rc2-porteus
Uptime: up 2 minutes
Packages: 0
Shell: bash 5.0.16
Resolution: 1920x1080
DE: XFCE
WM: Xfwm4
WM Theme: Default
Theme: Adwaita [GTK2], Raleigh [GTK3]
Icons: NuoveXT2 [GTK2/3]
Terminal: Xfce4-terminal
CPU: AMD FX-6300 (6) @ 2.6GHz
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GT 740
Memory: 1521MB / 7952MB

neko
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1678
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

ArchLinux packages manager for Porteus

Post#585 by neko » 24 Nov 2020, 03:26

@raja
Please refer to the article.
How to properly uninstall packages from uncompressed .xzm modules (Post by neko #79615)

And download "atool-20.11.10.xzm".
You can use following comands.
dINIT:..........disassemble xz compressed initrd.xz
dINIT.zstd:..disassemble zstd compressed initrd.zstd
mkINIT:........make xz compressed initrd.xz
mkINIT.zstd:.....make zstd compressed initrd.zstd

Thanks.

Post Reply