No audio in Porteus v5.0

Here you can post about your various experiences with PC hardware. You can also post about hardware that is not compatible with the linux kernel or not recommended for use with Porteus.
Post Reply
CaptainKirk
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 05 Aug 2022, 03:53
Distribution: Porteus

No audio in Porteus v5.0

Post#1 by CaptainKirk » 29 Aug 2022, 15:23

Hello, community.

I'm working on a project on my college, where we have several HP t5550 thin clients (https://www.parkytowers.me.uk/thin/hp/t5570/index.shtml) with a 64bit VIA processor, 1GB of RAM, and 512MB flash drive. We have previously used them with Porteus 4. Now that Porteus 5 is out, we tried to do the same with the x86-64 version. Due to the limited resources of our thin clients, we only tried XFCE, LXQT, LXDE, and Openbox as desktops. All of them installed successfully. However, when we tried to play a wav file or any other audio file, we are unable to get any sound. With Porteus 4 we were able to play audio files. It seems that either Porteus 5 is not detecting the hardware adequately or the corresponding driver is not included.

The output we get from the machine running Porteus 5 (and below, what we got from Porteus 4).

Code: Select all

aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 1: VT82xx [HDA VIA VT82xx], device 0: VT1708S Analog [VT1708S Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
  

Code: Select all

lsmod | grep snd
snd_hda_codec_via      20480  1
snd_hda_codec_generic    53248  1 snd_hda_codec_via
ledtrig_audio          12288  1 snd_hda_codec_generic
snd_hda_intel          32768  0
snd_intel_dspcfg       20480  1 snd_hda_intel
snd_hda_codec          81920  3 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec_via
snd_hda_core           45056  4 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_codec_via
led_class              12288  2 snd_hda_codec_generic,input_leds
snd_hwdep              12288  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                69632  3 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_core
snd_timer              24576  1 snd_pcm

Code: Select all

cat /proc/asound/cards
 0 [Generic        ]: HDA-Intel - HD-Audio Generic
                      HD-Audio Generic at 0xfbfec000 irq 34
 1 [VT82xx         ]: HDA-Intel - HDA VIA VT82xx
                      HDA VIA VT82xx at 0xfbfe4000 irq 35

Code: Select all

cat /proc/asound/devices
  2: [ 0]   : control
  3: [ 1- 0]: digital audio playback
  4: [ 1- 0]: digital audio capture
  5: [ 1- 0]: hardware dependent
  6: [ 1]   : control
 33:        : timer

Code: Select all

cat /proc/asound/pcm
01-00: VT1708S Analog : VT1708S Analog : playback 1 : capture 1
The output we get from the machine running Porteus 4.

Code: Select all

aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 1: VT82xx [HDA VIA VT82xx], device 0: VT1708S Analog [VT1708S Analog]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

Code: Select all

lsmod | grep snd
snd_hda_codec_via      20480  1
snd_hda_codec_generic    53248  1 snd_hda_codec_via
snd_hda_intel          28672  6
snd_hda_codec          81920  3 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_via
snd_hda_core           45056  4 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_via
snd_hwdep              12288  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                65536  4 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_core
snd_timer              24576  2 snd_pcm

Code: Select all

cat /proc/asound/cards
 1 [VT82xx         ]: HDA-Intel - HDA VIA VT82xx
                      HDA VIA VT82xx at 0xfbfe4000 irq 31

Code: Select all

cat /proc/asound/devices
  2: [ 1]   : control
  3: [ 1- 0]: digital audio playback
  4: [ 1- 0]: digital audio capture
  5: [ 1- 0]: hardware dependent
 33:        : timer
 

Code: Select all

cat /proc/asound/pcm
01-00: VT1708S Analog : VT1708S Analog : playback 1 : capture 1
Greetings from Mexico

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 3584
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: v5.0-64bit
Location: australia
Contact:

No audio in Porteus v5.0

Post#2 by ncmprhnsbl » 30 Aug 2022, 03:16

what does menu>multimedia>'PulseAudio Volume Control' show in it's 'Output Devices' tab?
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1943
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

No audio in Porteus v5.0

Post#3 by donald » 30 Aug 2022, 04:56

Hi Captain

same for me - pulseaudio always used the wrong "card"
HDMI in my case but I wanted analog.

In some cases all one has to do is to click the volume icon > audio mixer >
configuration tab > and select a different profile.

Unfortunatly that did not work for me so i had to find out...

Testing for the correct card
aplay -l gives the info {card / device] needed to test which one would work.
aplay -D plughw:0,0 /home/guest/Music/some_song.wav -- sound plays, correct card.

so I added
load-module module-alsa-sink device=hw:0,0
at the bottom of /etc/pulse/default.pa
You will most likely have different values [card/device numbers]

In audio mixer set the profile OFF

restart pulseaudio with pulseaudio -k
...bingo working now.

CaptainKirk
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 05 Aug 2022, 03:53
Distribution: Porteus

No audio in Porteus v5.0

Post#4 by CaptainKirk » 30 Aug 2022, 21:52

ncmprhnsbl wrote:
30 Aug 2022, 03:16
what does menu>multimedia>'PulseAudio Volume Control' show in it's 'Output Devices' tab?
Hi ncmprhnsbl.

In the Port section, the only option that apears is Line Out.
And below the volume bar, is a bar that is gray colored.

CaptainKirk
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 05 Aug 2022, 03:53
Distribution: Porteus

No audio in Porteus v5.0

Post#5 by CaptainKirk » 30 Aug 2022, 22:35

donald wrote:
30 Aug 2022, 04:56
Hi Captain

same for me - pulseaudio always used the wrong "card"
HDMI in my case but I wanted analog.

In some cases all one has to do is to click the volume icon > audio mixer >
configuration tab > and select a different profile.

Unfortunatly that did not work for me so i had to find out...

Testing for the correct card
aplay -l gives the info {card / device] needed to test which one would work.
aplay -D plughw:0,0 /home/guest/Music/some_song.wav -- sound plays, correct card.

so I added
load-module module-alsa-sink device=hw:0,0
at the bottom of /etc/pulse/default.pa
You will most likely have different values [card/device numbers]

In audio mixer set the profile OFF

restart pulseaudio with pulseaudio -k
...bingo working now.
Hello, donald.

I tried the two solutions you gave me with the values that aplay showed me (card=1 and device=0); but they didn't work.

This command: aplay -D plughw:1,0 /home/guest/Music/some_song.wav; says that the device is busy.
And this command: pulseaudio -k; sometimes worked and sometimes shows me an error.

nanZor
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 331
Joined: 09 Apr 2019, 03:27
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 x86-64 LXDE
Location: Los Angeles

No audio in Porteus v5.0

Post#6 by nanZor » 20 Sep 2022, 03:18

If time is of the essence for this project, and you still can't get audio right, you may want to invest in an inexpensive USB <> Audio dongle instead of fighting something stubborn.

Sabrent, Ugreen and other little usb<>audio dongles come to mind.

It's a slacker solution, but serves me well to keep one on hand, since I have *never* had one not be recognized and work.
That's a UNIX book - cool. -Garth

Post Reply