Porteus-v1.1rc2-x86_64 ready for testing

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
Kriss
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 133
Joined: 06 Jul 2011, 07:07
Location: Russia

Re: Porteus-v1.1rc2-x86_64 ready for testing

Post#11 by Kriss » 25 Nov 2011, 05:16

Some minor problems:
rpm2txz doesn't work in rc2 and works in rc1
lzm2xzm - unsquashfs3 not found

Starting system message bus: /usr/bin/dbus-uuidgen --ensure ; /usr/bin/dbus-daemon --system
/etc/rc.d/rc.messagebus: line 18: 2425 Bus error /sbin/ldconfig
...
/etc/rc.d/rc.local: line 10: /usr/bin/syslog: No such file or directory

/sbin/installpkg: line 314: 7772 Bus error /sbin/ldconfig
Suggestions/corrections/additions are always welcome.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5319
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.1rc2-x86_64 ready for testing

Post#12 by fanthom » 25 Nov 2011, 09:09

@Kriss
rpm2txz doesn't work in rc2 and works in rc1
tested on http://rpm.pbone.net/index.php3/stat/4/ ... 6.rpm.html
and works ok for me.
lzm2xzm - unsquashfs3 not found
64bit edition does not support 32bit lzm conversion (i see no point for that). i have added a warning to lzm2xzm script - thanks.
Starting system message bus: /usr/bin/dbus-uuidgen --ensure ; /usr/bin/dbus-daemon --system
/etc/rc.d/rc.messagebus: line 18: 2425 Bus error /sbin/ldconfig
something is really messed up with your modules.
/etc/rc.d/rc.local: line 10: /usr/bin/syslog: No such file or directory
again - must be your installation fault as rc.local comes always empty in Porteus

my advice: try always fresh + base modules only.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Kriss
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 133
Joined: 06 Jul 2011, 07:07
Location: Russia

Re: Porteus-v1.1rc2-x86_64 ready for testing

Post#13 by Kriss » 25 Nov 2011, 11:57

Sorry. It's indeed problem with my changes.
Suggestions/corrections/additions are always welcome.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6104
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.1rc2-x86_64 ready for testing

Post#14 by brokenman » 25 Nov 2011, 12:42

32bit will lose support for squashfs3 in next version so lzm2xzm can be dropped then. Perhaps leave it for version2 as a few other scripts will need to be cleaned a little (activate scripts).
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Kriss
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 133
Joined: 06 Jul 2011, 07:07
Location: Russia

Re: Porteus-v1.1rc2-x86_64 ready for testing

Post#15 by Kriss » 29 Nov 2011, 15:49

I don't see power profiles on clean system. Even ones I've created. And can't assign them to events On AC/On battery.
Suggestions/corrections/additions are always welcome.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1907
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus-v1.1rc2-x86_64 ready for testing

Post#16 by Hamza » 29 Nov 2011, 16:25

Tonio wrote:First of all, thank you for an rc2 edition of both versions. Testing 64 bit version, I startup in text mode and login as root and type startx get nice KDE. Fireup firefox and there is no connection :( I check network with

Code: Select all

# ifconfig -a
and there is no ip address. I remedy the situation with dhcpcd, is this a desired change not to pick up IP address at boot?

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# ifconfig -a
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr d0:27:88:01:37:9c  
          inet6 addr: fe80::d227:88ff:fe01:379c/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:357 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:24 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:31210 (30.4 KiB)  TX bytes:3526 (3.4 KiB)
          Interrupt:41 

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:184 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:184 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
          RX bytes:13940 (13.6 KiB)  TX bytes:13940 (13.6 KiB)

root@porteus:~# dhclient eth0
bash: dhclient: command not found
root@porteus:~# dhcpcd eth0
dhcpcd[2724]: version 5.2.12 starting
dhcpcd[2724]: eth0: broadcasting for a lease
dhcpcd[2724]: eth0: offered 10.155.132.215 from 10.155.132.10
dhcpcd[2724]: eth0: acknowledged 10.155.132.215 from 10.155.132.10
dhcpcd[2724]: eth0: checking for 10.155.132.215
dhcpcd[2724]: eth0: leased 10.155.132.215 for 691200 seconds
dhcpcd[2724]: forked to background, child pid 2748
root@porteus:~# uname -r
3.1.1-porteus
root@porteus:~# cat /etc/porteus-version 
Porteus-v1.1
root@porteus:~# 
Running with copy2ram and so far no issues other than this issue. Will let you know on other machines. Thanks!

Sorry for late answer,
You have an IP Address, but this one has been converted to ipv6 format.
The IP Address format you know is the ipv4. Some providers around the world are updating their routers and their customer's box to switch the local network to full ipv6 compatibility. That is what you have the ipv6 format instead ipv4 format. You will understand, please have a look on your ifconfig's output. You will see a line with inet6. The inet6 is the name of the line which give you the local ip address to ipv6 format. Most of Linux Distributions are ready to works with full ipv6 today. On Internet if you find out some servers compatible with ipv6, you should see the line with their ipv6 address.

Here is your ipv6 address from your ifconfig's output : fe80::d227:88ff:fe01:379c/64
If you want more explanations..The /64 is for type of ip address which it is for local network interface.
The /64 can changes if you uses a sub network.

If you have a network (old) with still ipv4 only activated. You should see the inet instead of inet6.
I have migrated my local network to full ipv6 and this doesn't change anythings to the speed/reliability of my local network.
The thing to know with the ipv6 is, now we have more ip address (ipv6 format) available than when we used ipv4.

To understand how this type of ip address, you have to know your mac address.
The IPv6 address is generated with your mac address. If you uses the pns-tool and give the same mac address to two computers, they should have the same ip addresses but this problem has been solved by most of routers of the current market by giving the ip_address+1 like the old routers with the ipv4.
If you have 192.168.1.41 on one computer, the next ip address given to the second computer should be 192.168.1.42.

To prove that you ip address is generated by using your mac address.
Your MAC Address : d0:27:88:01:37:9c
Your IPv6 Address : fe80::d227:88ff:fe01:379c/64

You should see something common on these two type address.
Your MAC Address : d0:27:88:01:37:9c
Your IPv6 Address : fe80::d227:88ff:fe01:379c/64
I hope this help you!
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2489
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc1 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Re: Porteus-v1.1rc2-x86_64 ready for testing

Post#17 by Rava » 07 Dec 2011, 20:43

Hi folks,
I was out a bit with testing Porteus due to lack of time. :unknown:

Anyhow... My System: Porteus-v1.1rc2-x86_64 with the KDE modules removed, since I want a non KDE and LXDE (or even more preferred: a XFCe only system)

It seems that "nVidia-legacy-96.43.20-porteus-v1.1-rc2-x86_64-1beny.xzm" is not really 64 bit, but only 32 bit...
I activated it running Porteus 1.1 x86_64

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/mnt# nvidia-xconfig
-bash: /usr/bin/nvidia-xconfig: No such file or directory
root@porteus:/mnt# file /usr/bin/nvidia-xconfig
/usr/bin/nvidia-xconfig: ELF 32-bit LSB executable, Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked (uses shared libs), stripped
(The other nVidia module by beny works okay, though.)
__________________________________________________________

And LXDE has some issues as well...
Image
The icon to the file manager seems broken, and so are all icons for the file manager itself.
Could it be that these icons are stored in the KDE module?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5319
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.1rc2-x86_64 ready for testing

Post#18 by fanthom » 07 Dec 2011, 21:06

It seems that "nVidia-legacy-96.43.20-porteus-v1.1-rc2-x86_64-1beny.xzm" is not really 64 bit, but only 32 bit...
i have mixed up modules during upload - fixed now so please download again.
And LXDE has some issues as well...
leafpad is not added to the taskbar by default. i would suggest you running "Always Fresh" and empty /rootcopy dir.
All should be fine then.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Falcony
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 237
Joined: 01 Jan 2011, 12:44
Location: Russia

Re: Porteus-v1.1rc2-x86_64 ready for testing

Post#19 by Falcony » 09 Dec 2011, 05:57

Hi, fantom, brockenman!

Is it possible to add xzm and lzm files integration to Midnight Commander?

For 64-bit and 32-bit 1.1 v?

For mc it have to be like ordinary arhive - like zip, tar.pkg, deb etc.

Thuis is small thing but convinient. In FIDOSlax I included update for configuration files but better in my understanding to make in in Porteus beforhand as default settings:

here is solution:

/etc/mc

filehighlight.ini
...
[archive]
extensions=gz;bz2;tar;tgz;rpm;Z;rar;zip;arj;cab;lzh;lha;zoo;arc;ark;xz;tbz;tbz2;xzm;lzm;
...
mc.ext

# lzma
regex/\.lzma$
Open=lzma -dc %f | %var{PAGER:more}
View=%view{ascii} lzma -dc %f 2>/dev/null



# lzm
regex/\.(lzm|lZM)$
Open=rm -rf /tmp/%p; mkdir -p /tmp/%p ; xzm2dir %f /tmp/%p ; echo "File %p exctracted to /tmp/%p directory"
View=%view{ascii} unsquashfs -l %f 2>/dev/null


# xzm
regex/\.(xzm|XZM)$
Open=rm -rf /tmp/%p; mkdir -p /tmp/%p ; xzm2dir %f /tmp/%p ; echo "File %p exctracted to /tmp/%p directory"
View=%view{ascii} unsquashfs -l %f 2>/dev/null

#xz
regex/\.xz
Open=xz -dc %f | %var{PAGER:more}
View=%view{ascii} xz -dc %f 2>/dev/null

### Default ###
After pressing F3 it shows list of directories and files

If you press Enter it exctract xzm and lzm to /tmp automatically

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6104
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.1rc2-x86_64 ready for testing

Post#20 by brokenman » 09 Dec 2011, 12:41

I cab add this to next release however support for lzm may be dropped.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5319
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.1rc2-x86_64 ready for testing

Post#21 by fanthom » 10 Dec 2011, 03:04

agree with brokenman: no go for lzm.

@Falcony
what about this code:

Code: Select all

# xzm
regex/\.xzm$               (capital XZM wont be accepted by linuxrc anyway)
Open=mloop %p; %cd /mnt/loop 
View=%view{ascii} unsquashfs -l %f 2>/dev/null
works much faster than unsquashing and is not filling up /tmp folder (i'm worrying about pressing enter on big modules by accident).

disadventages:
- modules are mounted as read only so no direct modifications possible
- working dir is changed to /mnt/loop (this could be changed)
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1907
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus-v1.1rc2-x86_64 ready for testing

Post#22 by Hamza » 10 Dec 2011, 12:27

i'm worrying about pressing enter on big modules by accident
Add a warning if the size is bigger than 50 or 100 Mb ?
Hmm... size=$(stat -c%s "$file") :roll:
NjVFQzY2Rg==

Kriss
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 133
Joined: 06 Jul 2011, 07:07
Location: Russia

Re: Porteus-v1.1rc2-x86_64 ready for testing

Post#23 by Kriss » 12 Dec 2011, 02:58

I noticed that USB flash with Porteus 1.1rc2 x86_64 mounts to /mnt/live/mnt/sd* instead of /mnt/sd*
I'm still not sure if it's normal or not, but just so you know...
Also I can't unmount it (with copy2ram cheatcode)...
Last edited by Kriss on 13 Dec 2011, 03:25, edited 1 time in total.
Suggestions/corrections/additions are always welcome.

Falcony
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 237
Joined: 01 Jan 2011, 12:44
Location: Russia

Re: Porteus-v1.1rc2-x86_64 ready for testing

Post#24 by Falcony » 12 Dec 2011, 07:32

what about this code:
# xzm
regex/\.xzm$ (capital XZM wont be accepted by linuxrc anyway)
Open=mloop %p; %cd /mnt/loop
View=%view{ascii} unsquashfs -l %f 2>/dev/null
That better. I liked
For lzm also add, please.

Regarding disadvantages - this not big,
readonly is native begavour for Midnight Commander like deb, txz packages, etc
It is also possible to add third action "Edit" by pressing F4 key - extract it to /tmp
But may be it is overkill...

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6104
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.1rc2-x86_64 ready for testing

Post#25 by brokenman » 12 Dec 2011, 15:06

Done for 32bit Falcony.

I stand firm on dropping support for lzm though. I can create a module for supporting squashfs3 that users can download if they want support for old formats.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Post Reply