Page 1 of 1

help creating openbox module

Posted: 16 Oct 2014, 23:09
by freestyler
Hey, I'm wondering if someone can help me...
I had the same problem when I built lxqt earlier this year. I've made an openbox module but cant get it load on boot. when it loads into x it says it can't find a font in a terminal window and freezes. If I run it from text mode I get the error that it can load the display. I had a play around with the init scripts but think I'm missing something.
Any idea's?

cheers :)

Re: help creating openbox module

Posted: 17 Oct 2014, 02:05
by ncmprhnsbl
hi freestyler,
i've also had a go at making an openbox module, in my case using brokenmans xfce github repo https://github.com/brokenman/xfce as a (sort of) basis..(mixed with previous instruction from Ahau)
in fact i took the liberty of creating my own github repo https://github.com/ncmprhnsbl/openbox feel free to clone..or fork
regarding the font issue, i think this is resolved by rebuilding some caches? using script p_cache before starting X for the first time,
check out xfce/DOC/instructions ... find p_cache in /TREE/usr/bin/ (note my openbox instructions are a little different and somewhat incomplete)

Re: help creating openbox module

Posted: 17 Oct 2014, 02:16
by brokenman
Yeah, use the p_cache script which was included in the github for exactly this reason. The X font index is updated like so from text mode:

Code: Select all

/usr/bin/fc-cache -f

Re: help creating openbox module

Posted: 18 Oct 2014, 23:57
by phhpro
...

Re: help creating openbox module

Posted: 28 Oct 2014, 06:48
by ncmprhnsbl
slightly offtopic but about p_cache
have a situation where it doesnt work:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/# /usr/bin/p_cache
updating system cache...
No schema files found: doing nothing.
all cache files have been merged into 009-caches.xzm, which has been placed in /tmp folder

if i try X at this point, it fails with the terminal font error, but if i do:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/# fc-cache -f
it works.. i guess i'm missing something..that supplies schemas

heres the package list (fluxbox)

Code: Select all

compton-git-09-14-86_64-ncm.tgz
conky-1.9.0-x86_64-1_SBo.tgz
dmenu-xft-4.5-x86_64-2sl.txz
feh-2.6.3-x86_64-1tjb.xzm
fluxbox-1.3.5-x86_64-1.txz
giblib-1.2.4-x86_64-1tjb.xzm
gnsu-0.0.1-noarch-1gv.txz
humanity-lxde-icon-theme-0.0.2-noarch-1ftm.xzm
imlib2-1.4.5-x86_64-2sl.txz
libconfig-1.4.9-x86_64-1sl.xzm
libid3tag-0.15.1b-x86_64-4.xzm
libtool-2.4.2-x86_64-2.txz
lua-5.1.5-x86_64-3sl.xzm
lxappearance-0.5.5-x86_64-1dj.txz
lxdm-0.5.0-x86_64-1jay.txz
lxterminal-0.1.11-x86_64-1gv.txz
moc-2.5.0_beta1-x86_64-1.txz
mpg123-1.16.0-x86_64-1jay.txz
murrine-0.98.1.1-x86_64-1jay.tgz
pcre-8.12-x86_64-1.xzm
scrot-0.8-x86_64-2tjb.txz
sudo-1.8.6p8-x86_64-1.txz
tolua++-1.0.93-x86_64-1sl.xzm
v4l-utils-0.9.5-x86_64-1gv.txz
volumeicon-0.4.6-x86_64-1jay.tgz
xwininfo-1.1.2-x86_64-1.xzm

Re: help creating openbox module

Posted: 29 Oct 2014, 00:22
by brokenman
Hmmm. The p_cache file should not even be there. I think I left it in the github files for testing during building. Have a read of the script and you will see that fc-cache is actually run in this script. The schemas complaint is no doubt due to a missing gsettings-desktop-schemas package.

Re: help creating openbox module

Posted: 29 Oct 2014, 02:28
by ncmprhnsbl
brokenman wrote:Hmmm. The p_cache file should not even be there.
only because i put it there :)
brokenman wrote: Have a read of the script and you will see that fc-cache is actually run in this script.
have done and was puzzled why it didn't work..
note that a 009-caches.xzm is made and looks like it has
the correct files, but doesnt work.. ie X terminal font error
i'll try adding gsettings-d-s and see what happens...