Page 7 of 9

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Posted: 09 Jan 2014, 14:30
by fanthom
@neko
checked few distros and this symlink does not exist anywhere. if really required by GE then must be shipped with this module.

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Posted: 09 Jan 2014, 15:05
by bdheeman
Don't know, whether the following dangling symlinks have any effect on porteus scripts and, or applications, but they are invalid even in edition 2.1 as well.

Code: Select all

[guest@porteus:~]$ ls -l /mnt/live/porteus/
total 0
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 28 Jan  9 16:37 modules -> /mnt/isoloop/porteus/modules
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 29 Jan  9 16:37 optional -> /mnt/isoloop/porteus/optional
See/Check:

Code: Select all

[guest@porteus:~]$ cd /mnt/live/porteus/modules 
bash: cd: /mnt/live/porteus/modules: No such file or directory
[guest@porteus:~]$ cd /mnt/live/porteus/optional 
bash: cd: /mnt/live/porteus/optional: No such file or directory
Here is the fix:

Code: Select all

sudo ln -fs ../mnt/isoloop/porteus/modules /mnt/live/porteus/modules
sudo ln -fs ../mnt/isoloop/porteus/optional /mnt/live/porteus/optional

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Posted: 09 Jan 2014, 17:26
by fanthom
@bdheeman
fixed in linuxrc - thanks.

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Posted: 09 Jan 2014, 19:25
by Slaxmax
I've set the kde power manager to hibernate or other function on power button press.
But, pressing the button always results in shutdown.
Maybe KDE bug.

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Posted: 10 Jan 2014, 05:30
by neko
@fanthom

1. Google Earth(GE) problem
google-earth-stable_current_i386.deb/google-earth-stable_current_amd64.deb is gotten from
http://www.google.com/earth/download/ge/agree.html.
Then, it is converted to Porteus module
google-earth-7.1.2.2041-i386-1.xzm/google-earth-7.1.2.2041-x86_64-1.xzm.
Finally it is installed in system (activated).
When it is executed, it print out the message and exits.
#======= error message ======#
/opt/google/earth/free/googleearth: line 43: ./googleearth-bin: No such file or directory
#======================#

2. aboid this problem
(1) 32bit
# cd /lib
# ln -sf ld-2.17.so ld-lsb.so.3
(2) 64bit
# cd /lib64
# ln -sf ld-2.17.so ld-lsb-x86-64.so.3

3. other distros
If search with above error message,
you can get other distros reactions.

Especially, this site
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions ... 175463081/

"05-27-2013, 01:42 PM
Richard Cranium"

This answer is simple and useful.

4. how to fix
"must be shipped with this module"
I think so, too.
I inserted the symbol linked entity into my
google-earth-7.1.2.2041-i386-1.xzm/google-earth-7.1.2.2041-x86_64-1.xzm.

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Posted: 10 Jan 2014, 15:31
by fanthom
@Slaxmax
disabled power off event in /etc/acpi/acpi_handler.sh for kde4 desktop only as we have power devil which handle buttons.

@neko
added this hack to my database so will be included in GE module in 3.0 repo.
thanks for sharing

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Posted: 11 Jan 2014, 12:25
by dimx
On Porteus 3rc1 LXDE - chromium - converted package chromium-31.0.1650.67-x86_64-1alien.
(Havent tested the original chromium from porteus yet).
Chromium seems to be unable to apply rendering settings to its fonts. This gets solved by creating /root/.config/fontconfig/fonts.conf

Code: Select all

<?xml version='1.0'?>
<!DOCTYPE fontconfig SYSTEM "fonts.dtd">
<fontconfig>
  <match target="font">
    <edit mode="assign" name="rgba">
      <const>rgb</const>
    </edit>
  </match>
  <match target="font">
    <edit mode="assign" name="hinting">
      <bool>true</bool>
    </edit>
  </match>
  <match target="font">
    <edit mode="assign" name="hintstyle">
      <const>hintslight</const>
    </edit>
  </match>
  <match target="font">
    <edit mode="assign" name="antialias">
      <bool>trget="font">
    <edit mode="assign" name="autohint">
      <bool>false</bool>
    </edit>
  </match>

</fontconfig>

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Posted: 11 Jan 2014, 14:03
by fanthom
good news - all mplayer issues are gone (hopefully).

latest mplayer-vaapi does not work well with external ffmpeg-2.1 but there is better solution named: libvdpau-va-gl.
this library allows all systems with OpenGL (pretty much everything) or VA-API (Intel) acceleration to use VDPAU api for video playback.
VDAPU works well with latest mplayer but also flashplayer as described here:
http://www.webupd8.org/2013/09/adobe-fl ... dware.html

here is mplayer log from i3 system which utilizes VA-API over VDPAU (mind libva info: Trying to open /usr/lib64/dri/i965_drv_video.so):

Code: Select all

mplayer -vo vdpau -vc ffh264vdpau Predators\ -\ Trailer.mp4 
MPlayer SVN-r36573-4.8.2 (C) 2000-2014 MPlayer Team

Playing Predators - Trailer.mp4.
libavformat version 55.19.104 (external)
libavformat file format detected.
[mov,mp4,m4a,3gp,3g2,mj2 @ 0x7f1702951b00]stream 0, timescale not set
[lavf] stream 0: video (h264), -vid 0
[lavf] stream 1: audio (aac), -aid 0, -alang und
[lavf] stream 2: video (mjpeg), -vid 1
VIDEO:  [H264]  1920x816  24bpp  23.976 fps  8790.9 kbps (1073.1 kbyte/s)
Clip info:
 major_brand: isom
 minor_version: 1
 compatible_brands: isom
 creation_time: 2010-06-20 14:06:19
 genre: Trailer
 artist: 20th Fox
 title: Predators - Theatrical Trailer
 date: 2010
Load subtitles in ./
[VS] Software VDPAU backend library initialized
libva info: VA-API version 0.34.0
libva info: va_getDriverName() returns 0
libva info: Trying to open /usr/lib64/dri/i965_drv_video.so
libva info: Found init function __vaDriverInit_0_34
libva info: va_openDriver() returns 0
==========================================================================
Forced video codec: ffh264vdpau
Opening video decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg's libavcodec codec family
libavcodec version 55.39.101 (external)
Selected video codec: [ffh264vdpau] vfm: ffmpeg (FFmpeg H.264 (VDPAU))
==========================================================================
==========================================================================
Opening audio decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg/libavcodec audio decoders
AUDIO: 48000 Hz, 2 ch, floatle, 185.1 kbit/6.02% (ratio: 23136->384000)
Selected audio codec: [ffaac] afm: ffmpeg (FFmpeg AAC (MPEG-2/MPEG-4 Audio))
==========================================================================
AO: [alsa] 48000Hz 2ch floatle (4 bytes per sample)
Starting playback...
Movie-Aspect is 2.35:1 - prescaling to correct movie aspect.
VO: [vdpau] 1920x816 => 1920x816 H.264 VDPAU acceleration 
Movie-Aspect is 2.35:1 - prescaling to correct movie aspect.
VO: [vdpau] 1920x816 => 1920x816 H.264 VDPAU acceleration 
hopefully will have all these goodies in rc2 of porteus-3.0 - testing in progress :)

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Posted: 11 Jan 2014, 16:41
by dimx
@fanthom
this would indeed enable hw acceleration on lots of intel integrated gpus.
This will not work on AMD/Ati, when using proprietary drivers, since they dont include hw decoding AFAIK. Open-source gallium drivers (mesa) already include VDPAU interface, so they dont need the vdpau-va-gl wrapper, and most of them have hw decoding. On my friend's radeon hd 6670 gallium driver flash video acceleration (the rendering part) was accelerated out the box. I could not manage to enable the decoding part yet, but I was getting cpu usage at 10% while playing 720p vids from youtube (15% on 1080p). Still much better than software-only though.
I guess you have already checked
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=166593

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Posted: 11 Jan 2014, 23:23
by wread
@fanthom
About my video crashes:
The same USB in another machine does not experiment video crashes. Therefore, this is not a bug. My machine seems to be now outdated....

However I did some research, substituting base modules from 3.0-rc1 with corresponding from 2.1. The issue stops when I fall back to the former 003-kde.xzm module. With the old module, after 10 minutes or so, the screen goes black, and when you move the cursor a "system blocked" window pops, you write your password and the system goes on.

With Porteus 3.0 in the other machine (the one that does not crash) when you move the mouse you see a flash and the system goes on, without showing the "system blocked" screen.

Maybe you eliminated the "system blocked" window in favor a still faster boot, or maybe it is a "hidden" bug...??

If you took it out (the system blocked window), i would like to restore it; otherwise I will have to stay at 2.1 or throw away this machine...

Regards :(

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Posted: 12 Jan 2014, 19:57
by fanthom
@dimx
yes - i'm aware of this :)
got accelerated flash on youtube on AMD HD 4550 and i3 Ironlake so this solution will be included for sure.

@wread
With Porteus 3.0 in the other machine (the one that does not crash) when you move the mouse you see a flash and the system goes on, without showing the "system blocked" screen.

please enable password locking in kde system settings -> display and monitor -> screen locker and check if that helps.
btw: this feature will be enabled by default in 3.0

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Posted: 12 Jan 2014, 22:09
by tome
lxde
bugs in archive manager eg. can't unpack .iso archives - "Setting attribute time::created not supported"

save session for deleted folders/files eg. 1. delete /home/guest/.mc 2. save session to module 3 reboot 4 .mc still exist

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Posted: 13 Jan 2014, 08:48
by tome
lxde
open current folder as root (pcmanfm) doesn't work if the first password character is space character.

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Posted: 13 Jan 2014, 15:08
by bour59
Hello !
1st contact with V3 Razor
boot in text mode thru lilo

Code: Select all

Loading Razor . . . . .
Bios data ckeck successfull
Undefined video mode number :  303
this message does not appear with porteus 2.1, neither slackware 140 nor slackware 141
vesa mode problem ?

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Posted: 13 Jan 2014, 15:36
by fanthom
@tome
save session for deleted folders/files eg. 1. delete /home/guest/.mc 2. save session to module 3 reboot 4 .mc still exist
aufs whiteout files are not respected in upper branches (activated modules) so the only solution to this bug is to use 'changes=EXIT:' or 'changes-ro' cheatcodes.

@bour59
did you add 'vga=' cheatcode to lilo.conf? if yes then please remove it and check if booting is ok.
i have removed VESA framebuffer in favor of simple framebuffer as latter one seems to deal better with EFI and such.