Page 7 of 8

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC1

Posted: 04 Jul 2013, 08:09
by Saman
fanthom wrote:
p.s. on the packed iso provided on main thread please remove firefox as we can download it on modules section there.
default ISO is for demonstration purposes only so shipping it without a browser would be not very smart. users familiarized with porteus supposed to use the wizard to get the stuff they want and not default ISO.
same applies to Kiosk ISO (demonstration only) and kiosk wizard (real power is here).

Ahau probably resolved LXDE bugs already as he released updated lxde module:
viewtopic.php?f=53&t=2268
It is a matter of concept, If I were you I would have dropped firefox from those isos :roll:
meanwhile, that patch was not useful for the lxde

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC1

Posted: 04 Jul 2013, 10:06
by Hamza
@Rava
The downloads is showing only last stable versions available of Porteus. The branch 2.1 is still considered as unstable it's being released as "stable".

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC1

Posted: 04 Jul 2013, 13:52
by Rava
@Saman

did you try https://build.porteus.org/
or
32-bit editions: http://dl.porteus.org/i486/testing/Porteus-v2.1-rc1/
64-bit editions: http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/testing/Porteus-v2.1-rc1/


Like I wrote, I tried it with http://www.porteus.org/downloads.html

Now I try https://build.porteus.org/ , but me thinks that this will give me the 2.0, yes?

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC1

Posted: 04 Jul 2013, 14:43
by Hamza
Because web wizard will be publicly released with 2.1, all modules/data from it are 2.1-based. Logic.

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC1

Posted: 04 Jul 2013, 14:49
by Rava
Hamza wrote:Because web wizard will be publicly released with 2.1, all modules/data from it are 2.1-based. Logic.
Logic, if you know that it's like that, if you did not know it: less logic. xD

Anyhow, I got me my ISO and try will it out soon. :)

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC1

Posted: 04 Jul 2013, 16:11
by brokenman
meanwhile, that patch was not useful for the lxde
Saman this was not a patch but a completely new lxde module. Please replace it with the old one. Can you confirm that you still get the errors after doing this and you are certain you are in a clean environment?

If you still have the errors please run the porteus-system-info from the menu or from console: xpsinfo and upload the log somewhere so we can take a look. Thanks for testing.

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC1

Posted: 04 Jul 2013, 22:55
by francois
I do not know if this has been reported yet. The top bar of windows on the xfce edition 32 bit is lacking. You could see thru it. In addition all the functionalities of that bar are not there.

T anks.

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC1

Posted: 05 Jul 2013, 00:37
by brokenman
Thanks Francois. I also noticed this in vbox and i believe Ahau did too and this was already reported. From memory it was a theme issue. Should be OK for rc2.

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC1

Posted: 05 Jul 2013, 02:33
by Rava
When I try to download the created ISO via https://build.porteus.org/ , I get this error when using wget:

Code: Select all

ERROR: cannot verify build.porteus.org's certificate, issued by ‘/C=US/ST=Arizona/L=Scottsdale/O=GoDaddy.com, Inc./OU=http://certificates.godaddy.com/repository/CN=Go Daddy Secure Certification Authority/serialNumber=07969287’:
  Self-signed certificate encountered.
To connect to build.porteus.org insecurely, use `--no-check-certificate'.
"Self-signed certificate"??

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC1

Posted: 05 Jul 2013, 02:45
by brokenman
Please use:

Code: Select all

wget --no-check-certificate https://whatever

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC1

Posted: 05 Jul 2013, 05:03
by Rava
brokenman wrote:Please use:

Code: Select all

wget --no-check-certificate https://whatever
I used this, but still, should that error occur at all?

____________________________________

I tried building the following iso via https://build.porteus.org/

Code: Select all

64 bit, GUI, XFCe, Europe/Berlin, German keybrd, Sound 70%

Advanced: ZRAM 10%

FFx, AbiWord, Skype, development
Nvidia Legacy 304.x
Printing and scanning support

332 MB, md5sum a4a786fcdc1f4d6bfadf2db46d071e8
But still, the resulting link/file is called [...]Porteus-v2.1-xfce-i486.iso
Shouldn't it be called Porteus-v2.1-xfce-x86-64.iso instead?

Now, is it a i486 and not 64 bit?
Or a wrong-named x86-64 ?

(While building the 64 bit RazorQT image, the resulting file was called Porteus-RazorQT-v2.1-rc1-x86_64.iso ...)

/update
I checked inside the iso, and porteus.cfg says
"MENU TITLE Porteus-2.1 32bit" O___o

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC1

Posted: 05 Jul 2013, 09:49
by Hamza
Bug unconfirmed. Just checked few seconds ago and this works well. There is no restriction on XFCE, there was one for razorqt only and it was totally removed.

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC1

Posted: 05 Jul 2013, 20:44
by Rava
I re-did the same iso and again the same result:

https://build.porteus.org/dl/dbe3ca4b73 ... e-i486.iso
md5sum: a4a786fcdc1f4d6bfadf2db46d071e8c

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC1

Posted: 05 Jul 2013, 20:54
by Hamza
Thanks for providing the download link. According to my logs, you have chosen 32bit and not 64bit.

I have built an ISO using the same configuration than you and here is the link I'm getting:

https://build.porteus.org/dl/fef39370de ... x86_64.iso

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC1

Posted: 05 Jul 2013, 21:34
by Ahau
@Saman, the lack of mp3 support should be fixed in my RC1.5 module (as brokenman said, it's a replacement and not a patch, so the older module should be removed entirely -- my apologies for not being very clear on that). Also, what kind of crazy notifications are you getting from the volume + and - keys? I did add support for them (it was lacking previously) but it should open up a simple progress bar showing the current volume level. If possible, please try to get a screenshot of the error or let me know what the text was.

@francois, I had noticed that error in xfce as well inside virtualbox but didn't know that it would hit so many folks running it on real devices. I did fix it for RC2, it was a very strange bug (some kind of incompatibility with only a certain version of xorg-server and xfwm4, only affecting themes that use pixmaps that are only one pixel wide!).