Linux Kernel compilation "new" guide

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
Post Reply
kalo86
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 135
Joined: 28 Mar 2011, 18:04
Location: Italy

Linux Kernel compilation "new" guide

Post#1 by kalo86 » 08 Nov 2018, 17:50

Hello dear Porteus Users,

I am back to the Forum asking for a question: is there a new (updated) guide to follow in order to compile the Linux Kernel in Porteus?
I have a script that automatize all the commands, but something has changed in these last years and I missed a lot of updated in the kernel tree..... :x
I would like to see the commands for these points:

1. Understand what happened with the firmware tree;
2. Apply the required AUFS4 patch to the kernel source code --> I tried the latest one but at the reboot (with the new kernel module and vmlinuz image, there is a issue with aufs)
3. make firmare_install --> firmware installation will fail, of course
4. Ramdisk --> Do I need to update the image like old times?

I hope to get assistance, thank you in advance!

kalo86

neko
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1235
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

Linux Kernel compilation "new" guide

Post#2 by neko » 10 Nov 2018, 10:42

@kalo86
"I have a script that automatize all the commands"

I uploaded a "kernel build" tool that may be same as yours.
Please refer to the thread Porteus Kernel Builder

The current version of the tool is "mkKernel-18.11.05-noarch-1.xzm".
It is constructed with shell scripts.
It might give your question's answer.

Thanks.

kalo86
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 135
Joined: 28 Mar 2011, 18:04
Location: Italy

Linux Kernel compilation "new" guide

Post#3 by kalo86 » 10 Nov 2018, 12:55

Hi neko!
Thank you for the answer.
I managed to compile, install and create new modules properly of the Linux Kernel 4.19.1 but..... There is a bug on the touchpanel. This was the issue. I hope that the new revision will solve this problem. I will try your script, thank you agin!

kalo

Post Reply