Why Double-click has been replaced by one-click ?

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
Post Reply
lukaluki
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 84
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 01:01
Location: asdfw

Why Double-click has been replaced by one-click ?

Post#1 by lukaluki » 12 Mar 2018, 20:14

It allready made me some kind of confused that porteus uses one-click for opening files, which is strange behavior for me. On Porteus 3 I always had to open "mouse" config and changed click action to double-click.
I cant find any mouse option in Porteus 4 though, how to change it ?

cheers

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1434
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 4.0-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

Why Double-click has been replaced by one-click ?

Post#2 by ncmprhnsbl » 12 Mar 2018, 20:53

which desktop?
this setting is usually in the filemanager preferences.
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

lukaluki
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 84
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 01:01
Location: asdfw

Why Double-click has been replaced by one-click ?

Post#3 by lukaluki » 12 Mar 2018, 23:18

Kde

jssouza
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 608
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 14:17
Distribution: Porteus x86 arm
Location: Liechtenstein

Why Double-click has been replaced by one-click ?

Post#4 by jssouza » 13 Mar 2018, 07:52

lukaluki, thanks for your feedback. It seems xf86-input-libinput was missing while building KDE5, hence mouse configuration is missing in KDE system settings.
I will rebuild KDE5 with xf86-input-libinput as dependency.

jssouza
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 608
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 14:17
Distribution: Porteus x86 arm
Location: Liechtenstein

Why Double-click has been replaced by one-click ?

Post#5 by jssouza » 22 Mar 2018, 21:49

Done. next Porteus (and KDE) release should have double click for opening files. :good:

User avatar
n0ctilucient
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 336
Joined: 21 Apr 2017, 15:59
Distribution: fullmoonremix
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Why Double-click has been replaced by one-click ?

Post#6 by n0ctilucient » 29 Mar 2018, 08:57

jssouza...

Why not get a poll from the community before changing
this because many others who prefer it will be affected.

It's been quite a while since we had development polling.

"Consider" this...

"Community" feedback is more democratic.
Lack of democracy... is why Linux now has systemd.

I personally prefer single click... popularity aside which is inherently always
subjective and debatable (single click was created for a reason... no?).

Double is the default for windoze which explains it's popular use but not it's efficiency or lack thereof.
Last edited by n0ctilucient on 04 Apr 2018, 08:58, edited 10 times in total.
:hmmm: I do NOT have the "right" to tell anyone what they should do...
but I reserve the "right" to tell them what they should "consider".

jssouza
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 608
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 14:17
Distribution: Porteus x86 arm
Location: Liechtenstein

Why Double-click has been replaced by one-click ?

Post#7 by jssouza » 29 Mar 2018, 09:51

Done. Poll: Single Click or Double Click to open items in File Manager?

Please note the OP's suggestion here was only for KDE. AFAIK all other DEs use double click for opening.

lukaluki
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 84
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 01:01
Location: asdfw

Why Double-click has been replaced by one-click ?

Post#8 by lukaluki » 29 Mar 2018, 11:03

Thanks for looking into that. I think double click is the way to go as it is common behavior and nearly all people are used to it.

lukaluki
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 84
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 01:01
Location: asdfw

Why Double-click has been replaced by one-click ?

Post#9 by lukaluki » 30 Mar 2018, 12:24

jssouza wrote:
13 Mar 2018, 07:52
lukaluki, thanks for your feedback. It seems xf86-input-libinput was missing while building KDE5, hence mouse configuration is missing in KDE system settings.
I will rebuild KDE5 with xf86-input-libinput as dependency.
Can you please provide me with the libinput or a temp fix for the rc4 ?

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3929
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Why Double-click has been replaced by one-click ?

Post#10 by Ed_P » 30 Mar 2018, 13:14

lukaluki wrote:
30 Mar 2018, 12:24
Can you please provide me with the libinput or a temp fix for the rc4 ?
This work for you?

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: 
root@porteus:/home/guest# usm -s libinput

libinput-1.8.3-x86_64-2_slonly.txz was found in slackonly [not installed]
xf86-input-libinput-0.25.0-x86_64-6_slonly.txz was found in slackonly [not installed]
libinput-1.8.3-x86_64-1ponce.txz was found in ponce [not installed]
libinput-1.5.4-x86_64-1alien.txz was found in alien [not installed]
Packages found:   4 

Use:   usm -i <package>  for more info
Use:   usm -g <package>  to download

root@porteus:/home/guest# 
Ed

lukaluki
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 84
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 01:01
Location: asdfw

Why Double-click has been replaced by one-click ?

Post#11 by lukaluki » 30 Mar 2018, 14:04

libinput-1.8.3-x86_64-2_slonly.txz allready installed
xf86-input-libinput-0.25.0-x86_64-6_slonly.txz not installed

so I guess its the input.libinput which is missing ? I downloaded and activated the xzm, but no mouse option available.
Sorry if I sound like a noob on that :/

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3929
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Why Double-click has been replaced by one-click ?

Post#12 by Ed_P » 30 Mar 2018, 15:29

Does rebooting with the mod help?
Ed

jssouza
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 608
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 14:17
Distribution: Porteus x86 arm
Location: Liechtenstein

Why Double-click has been replaced by one-click ?

Post#13 by jssouza » 30 Mar 2018, 16:43

xf86-input-libinput is part of slackware current. It can be got as

Code: Select all

getpkg xf86-input-libinput
But unfortunately, just adding this library only would not get back the mouse settings. KDE would have to be rebuilt with this library installed.

This has been fixed in KDE for rc5. I think once the holidays are over you could expect a release of rc5 soon.

lukaluki
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 84
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 01:01
Location: asdfw

Why Double-click has been replaced by one-click ?

Post#14 by lukaluki » 30 Mar 2018, 21:11

Ed_P wrote:
30 Mar 2018, 15:29
Does rebooting with the mod help?
mouse is stuck when trying to reboot with that.
jssouza wrote:
30 Mar 2018, 16:43
xf86-input-libinput is part of slackware current. It can be got as

Code: Select all

getpkg xf86-input-libinput
But unfortunately, just adding this library only would not get back the mouse settings. KDE would have to be rebuilt with this library installed.

This has been fixed in KDE for rc5. I think once the holidays are over you could expect a release of rc5 soon.
I guess I have to wait for rc5 than. Hopefully the vpn issue will also be adressed :/

Post Reply